Choose style:

Author Topic: Requesting an Ethernet network address forever  (Read 2835 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline carmen

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint Four
Requesting an Ethernet network address forever
« on: August 08, 2014, 04:01:20 pm »
For various reasons (moving, etc.) I hadn't opened/updated my netbook for a long time. But when I got my internet installed I used it to test and see if it was working (it was), and then I did a Skype call later that week, and it gave me trouble and I messed with the settings until it worked (sorry I can't be more specific here, I didn't think I'd need to remember once it started working...), and then the next time I tried to use the internet it wouldn't work no matter what I did with the settings. It's really frustrating because it worked those other times... why isn't it working now?

I tried to find a solution on the internet, but I am a newbie and maybe I don't know how to phrase my search... So now I am asking here. I'll try to include what's needed the first time but let me know if I leave something out.

The internet, router, and cable are all okay, the desktop computer uses them fine.

Here's what I got for inxi -F

Spoiler (click here to view / hide)
System: Host: carmen Kernel: 3.8.0-35generic i686 (32 bit) Desktop:N/A Distro: Peppermint Four

Machine:  Mobo: Acer model: JE02_PT_E version: V3.15 (DDR3) Bios: Acer version: V3.15 (DDR3) date: 02/15/2011

CPU:  Single core Intel Atom CPU N455 (-HT-) cache:512 KB flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 ssse3)

Clock Speeds: 1: 1000.00 MHz 2: 1000.00 MHz

Graphics: Card: Intel Atom Processor D4xx/D5xx/N4xx/N5xx Integrated Graphics Controller
                  X.Org: 1.13.3 drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev, vesa) Resolution: 1024x600@60.0hz
                  GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel IGD x86/MMX.SSE2 GLX Version: 1.4 Mesa 9.1.7

Audio: Card: Intel NM10/ICH7 Family High Definition Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel
             Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture ver: k3.8.0-35-generic

Network:  Card-1: Atheros AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express) driver: ath9k
                  IF: wlan0 state: down mac: ec:55:f9:6f:89:7a
                  Card-2: Qualcomm Atheros AR8152 v1.1 Fast Ethernet driver atl1c
                  IF: eth0 state: up speed:10 Mbps duplex: half mac: 1c:75:08:ee:b8:66

Drives:     HDD Total Size: 250.1GB (6.9% used) 1: id: /dev/sda model: ST9250315AS size: 250.1GB

Partition: ID: / size 228G used: 17G (8%) fs: ext4 ID: /boot size 228M used: 120M (56%) fs: ext2
                 ID: swap-1 size: 1.07GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap

RAID: No RAID devices detected - /proc/mdstat and md_mod kernel raid module present

Sensors: System Temperatures: cpu: 49.0C mobo: N/A
                 Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info: Processes: 142 Uptime: 2:32 Memory: 136.7/992.1MB Client: Shell inxi: 1.8.4
[close]

Here's what I got for lspci -vvnn

Spoiler (click here to view / hide)
01:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Qualcomm Atheros AR8152 v1.1 Fast Ethernet [1969:2060] (rev c1)
               Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device [1025:0349]
               Control: I/O+ Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop - ParErr- Stepping- SERR FastB2b- DisINTx-
               Status: Cap+ 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B- ParErr- DEVSEL=fast >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR- INTx-
               Latency: 0, Cache Line Size: 64 bytes
               Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 45
               Region 0: Memory at 57000000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=256K]
               Region 2: I/O ports at 5000 [size=128]
               Capabilities: <access denied>
               Kernel driver in use: atl1c
[close]

Here's what I got for ifconfig

Spoiler (click here to view / hide)
eth0    Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 1c:75:08:ee:b8:66
            inet6 addr: fe80: :1e75:8ff:feee:b866/64 Scope:Link
            UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
            RX packets:24 errors:291 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:118
            TX packets:58 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:1
            collisions:2 txqueuelen:1000
            RX bytes:6863 (6.8 KB) TX bytes:10680 (10.6 KB)

lo         Link encap:Local Loopback
            inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
            inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
            UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:65536 Metric:1
            RX packets:1298 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
            TX packets:1298 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
            collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
            RX bytes:121040 (121.0 KB) TX bytes:121040 (121.0 KB)

wlan0  Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr ec:55:f9:6f:89:7a
             UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
             RX packets:34007 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
             TX packets:25498 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
            collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
             RX bytes:38851308 (38.8 MB) TX bytes:3682763 (3.6 KB)
[close]

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26103
  • Karma: 2843
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Requesting an Ethernet network address forever
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2014, 04:05:54 pm »
can you post the output from:
Code: [Select]
sudo lshw -C network
and
Code: [Select]
sudo iwlist scanning
and
Code: [Select]
iwconfig
and
Code: [Select]
rfkill list

is this a new router ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline AndyInMokum

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4808
  • Karma: 1013
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 8 Respin-2 (64-bit)
Re: Requesting an Ethernet network address forever
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2014, 04:16:56 pm »
Could it be because you are running Peppermint OS Four?  You say you haven't updated for a long time so maybe you are unaware that Pepper OS Four is no longer supported.  It no longer receives updates.  Peppermint Five was released 23 June 2014.  Maybe a fresh Peppermint Five installation would do the trick.  Good luck  ;)!
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.

Offline Slim.Fatz

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1803
  • Karma: 472
  • Where's the mouse?
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 7, 8.5 & 10 - 64bit
Re: Requesting an Ethernet network address forever
« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2014, 04:20:36 pm »
I kind of doubt that, AndyInMokum. I still have Peppermint four on one machine (although it will soon be gone) and see nothing like carmen is reporting.

However, I see and agree with your point: carmen should update (new install) Peppermint 5 !!!  ;)

Regards,
-- Slim
« Last Edit: August 08, 2014, 04:22:31 pm by Slim.Fatz »
"Life first -- Peppermint a close 2nd!" -- Zeb

Tread lightly: Fluxbox, JWM, i3, Openbox, awesome

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26103
  • Karma: 2843
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Requesting an Ethernet network address forever
« Reply #4 on: August 08, 2014, 04:21:40 pm »
Nice spot Andy :)

I'd still expect wireless to connect, but Peppermint 4 is dead so Peppermint 5 should probably be the OP's next move.

[EDIT]

@ Slim.Fatz

I agree wireless should still work in Peppermint 4 .. but if we're going to need to install anything, it's going to be REALLY difficult in Peppermint 4 .. so I'd still advise a move to Peppermint 5 (which will probably fix the issue anyway).
« Last Edit: August 08, 2014, 04:23:52 pm by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline carmen

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint Four
Re: Requesting an Ethernet network address forever
« Reply #5 on: August 11, 2014, 03:01:34 pm »
Okay, I will go up to Peppermint 5 and see what happens.  I'll let you know how that goes. Thanks!