Choose style:

Author Topic: Cannot adjust Display  (Read 979 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Landau

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: 3
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 9
Cannot adjust Display
« on: November 01, 2018, 10:33:15 am »
Before installing Peppermint 9 on my computer (dual boot with PCLinuxOS), I installed it on my Oracle VirtualBox.
After having done that the right part of the start screen is cut off and trying to correct that I went to
Menu > Settings and when selecting  "Display" nothing happens. What am I doing wrong or what did I forget to do?

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26277
  • Karma: 2855
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Cannot adjust Display
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2018, 06:48:14 am »
What do you mean by "cut off" .. do you mean blank or that it scrolls ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline scifidude79

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4029
  • Karma: 863
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 9
Re: Cannot adjust Display
« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2018, 07:16:18 am »
It sounds like the resolution of the VB is too much for the display. Have you tried installing the Virtual Box Guest Additions?

Offline Landau

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: 3
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 9
Re: Cannot adjust Display
« Reply #3 on: November 02, 2018, 09:17:20 am »
It sounds like the resolution of the VB is too much for the display. Have you tried installing the Virtual Box Guest Additions?

I have Virtual Box Guest Additions installed and played with the display resolution but whatever I try nothing happens.

Offline Landau

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: 3
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 9
Re: Cannot adjust Display
« Reply #4 on: November 02, 2018, 09:20:36 am »
What do you mean by "cut off" .. do you mean blank or that it scrolls ?

The simplest way was to post a picture but that is a quite elaborate way for me because I first have post it on some image hosting site.

Offline Landau

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: 3
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 9
Re: Cannot adjust Display
« Reply #5 on: November 02, 2018, 12:14:23 pm »
What do you mean by "cut off" .. do you mean blank or that it scrolls ?

The simplest way was to post a picture but that is a quite elaborate way for me because I first have post it on some image hosting site.

Alright here is the picture:


Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26277
  • Karma: 2855
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Cannot adjust Display
« Reply #6 on: November 02, 2018, 05:04:30 pm »
Have you added the guest additions ?

First in the peppermint VM install
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get install build-essential dkms
then in the Virtualbox toolbar select:-

Devices > Insert Guest Additions CD Image

Then in the Peppermint VM open the file manager, and in the left-hand pane select "VBox_GAs"

Then in the right-hand pane select "Open Autorun Prompt" .. and click "Run"

Enter your password when prompted

When the terminal says so, press return to close the window

And now reboot the VM
« Last Edit: November 02, 2018, 05:06:04 pm by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline emegra

  • Global Moderator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1916
  • Karma: 415
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 9 64bit
Re: Cannot adjust Display
« Reply #7 on: November 03, 2018, 03:09:49 am »
Hi Landau


Quote
The simplest way was to post a picture but that is a quite elaborate way for me because I first have post it on some image hosting site.

Here's a wee video to demonstrate how to embed images in your posts, I just done it quickly and it's unedited so a bit rough around the edges but hopefully it helps


View My Video


Good luck


Graeme
« Last Edit: November 03, 2018, 04:26:48 am by emegra »
If you can keep your head while all around are losing theirs then you're not quite grasping the situation

Offline Landau

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: 3
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 9
Re: Cannot adjust Display
« Reply #8 on: November 07, 2018, 05:06:52 am »
Thanks Emegra for posting your video, much appreciated.
Everything is clear now how I have to do this..

Offline Landau

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: 3
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 9
Re: Cannot adjust Display
« Reply #9 on: November 07, 2018, 05:17:08 am »
@ PCNetSpec:

I thought I had installed guest editions, but it turned out that it is not. In the past it certainly was, but I think something went wrong after an VBox update.
So I first have to figure out how to get it installed again because I have forgotten that.
Let you know if I have managed to do this.