Choose style:

Author Topic: Sizing Problem with Opera Beta Browser [SOLVED]  (Read 3614 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline perknh

  • Trusted User
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3437
  • Karma: 269
  • Soy un huevo que adora Peppermint.
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 9 (64-bit)
Sizing Problem with Opera Beta Browser [SOLVED]
« on: April 08, 2017, 08:12:03 am »
Good morning, Peppermint.

I've recently installed Opera Beta browser.  When I go to run Opera Beta, it does not fit properly on my screen.  It's boots up too small when I click on its icon in my panel, and it then becomes too large when I click onto its expansion box in its top right corner.  It's either too small or too big, but never the correct size for my screen.

I've gone into Peppermint's File System and tried manipulating my system's Window size by using my screen's resolution.  But I've had no luck in the process.  I've also changed the Target Environment to LXDE instead of Unity, but, so far, I've had no luck getting Opera Beta browser to fit properly on my laptop's screen.

I think my primary problem is now with the numbers.  I don't think working with my computer's resolution is helping me much.  I don't know what numbers I should be using for my computer's window's size. 

Would anyone have any suggestions of how to get Opera Beta browser to fit properly to my screen?

Thank you,

perknh

Code: [Select]
[Desktop Entry]
Version=1.0
Name=Opera beta
GenericName=Web browser
Comment=Fast and secure web browser
TryExec=opera-beta
Exec=opera-beta --window-size=1600,900 %U
Terminal=false
Icon=opera-beta
Type=Application
Categories=Network;WebBrowser;
MimeType=text/html;text/xml;application/xhtml_xml;x-scheme-handler/http;x-scheme-handler/https;x-scheme-handler/ftp;application/x-opera-download;
Actions=NewWindow;NewPrivateWindow;

Name[en_US]=Opera beta

[Desktop Action NewWindow]
Name=New Window
Exec=opera-beta --new-window
TargetEnvironment=Xfce

[Desktop Action NewPrivateWindow]
Name=New Private Window
Exec=opera-beta --private
TargetEnvironment=LXDE
« Last Edit: April 10, 2017, 08:16:31 am by perknh »
We're all Peppermint users and that's what matters  ;). -- AndyInMokum

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 22389
  • Karma: 2500
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R and 9
Re: Sizing Problem with Opera Beta Browser
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2017, 10:59:26 am »
Does starting opera from the command line with:-
Code: [Select]
opera-beta --window-size=1600,900
(or any other --window-size)
then again with:
Code: [Select]
opera-beta
result in different sized windows ?

I just want to know if the "--window-size" option actually does anything ?
« Last Edit: April 08, 2017, 11:01:29 am by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline perknh

  • Trusted User
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3437
  • Karma: 269
  • Soy un huevo que adora Peppermint.
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 9 (64-bit)
Re: Sizing Problem with Opera Beta Browser
« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2017, 03:01:40 pm »
Does starting opera from the command line with:-
Code: [Select]
opera-beta --window-size=1600,900
(or any other --window-size)
then again with:
Code: [Select]
opera-beta
result in different sized windows ?

I just want to know if the "--window-size" option actually does anything ?

Bull's-eye!  NO command says "No" to PCNetSpec.  That command opened it up and sized it perfectly, PCNetSpec --on first shot!!! ;)
We're all Peppermint users and that's what matters  ;). -- AndyInMokum

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 22389
  • Karma: 2500
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R and 9
Re: Sizing Problem with Opera Beta Browser
« Reply #3 on: April 08, 2017, 04:09:20 pm »
But it's not working from the menu item ?

What's the output from:
Code: [Select]
ls /usr/share/applications | grep -i opera
and
Code: [Select]
ls ~/.local/share/applications | grep -i opera
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline perknh

  • Trusted User
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3437
  • Karma: 269
  • Soy un huevo que adora Peppermint.
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 9 (64-bit)
Re: Sizing Problem with Opera Beta Browser
« Reply #4 on: April 08, 2017, 04:18:57 pm »
Now, I'm getting this message:

Code: [Select]
                           Profile error occurred

Your preferences files cannot be read.

    Some features may be unavailable and changes to settings won't be saved.

Quote
But it's not working from the menu item ? --PCNetSpec

That's right.


Quote
What's the output from:

Code: [Select]
ls /usr/share/applications | grep -i opera

and

Code: [Select]
ls ~/.local/share/applications | grep -i opera

Code: [Select]
perknh@peppermint ~ $ ls /usr/share/applications | grep -i opera
Opera beta.desktop
perknh@peppermint ~ $ ls ~/.local/share/applications | grep -i opera
perknh@peppermint ~ $
We're all Peppermint users and that's what matters  ;). -- AndyInMokum

Online VinDSL

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4279
  • Karma: 795
  • Peppermint Mod
    • View Profile
Re: Sizing Problem with Opera Beta Browser
« Reply #5 on: April 08, 2017, 04:48:30 pm »
Oh, cool !  Show n' tell ...   ;D

Code: [Select]
╭─vindsl@Boogaloo-5 ~  
╰─➤  ls /usr/share/applications | grep -i opera         
opera-developer.desktop

╭─vindsl@Boogaloo-5 ~ 
╰─➤  ls /usr/share/applications | grep -i opera-developer
opera-developer.desktop

╭─vindsl@Boogaloo-5 ~ 
╰─➤  ls ~/.config | grep -i opera                           
opera-developer

╭─vindsl@Boogaloo-5 ~ 
╰─➤  ls ~/.config | grep -i opera-developer                 
opera-developer

╭─vindsl@Boogaloo-5 ~ 
╰─➤  ls ~/.config/opera-developer | grep -i opera 
Opera Add-ons Downloads
opera_autoupdate.log

╭─vindsl@Boogaloo-5 ~ 
╰─➤ 

No 'opera' found in '~/.local/share/applications' on my rig either.

Interesting naming conventions, eh ?
« Last Edit: April 08, 2017, 05:17:39 pm by VinDSL, Reason: Addendum »

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 22389
  • Karma: 2500
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R and 9
Re: Sizing Problem with Opera Beta Browser
« Reply #6 on: April 08, 2017, 06:28:52 pm »
Okay the problem seems to be that if you maximise a Chrome/Chromium window, then close Chrome/Chromium it "remembers" that it wa maximised, and will attempt to start the next session no matter what the command line switches are.

So try this...

First open Opera and resize the window so it's smaller than your desktop size (kinda a window with a gap all the way round it) .. now close Opera with the X button top right.

Now run
Code: [Select]
sudo pluma "/usr/share/applications/Opera beta.desktop"
and change the line:
Code: [Select]
Exec=opera-beta --window-size=1600,900 %U
to
Code: [Select]
Exec=opera-beta --window-position=0,0 --window-size=1595,895 %U
SAVE the file and exit pluma.

Now try opening Opera from the menu.

Remember the trick is that Opera should not be "Maximised" when it's closed  .. it can be un-maximised but resized to the full screen size, but not maximised.

You also probably don't want "--window-size" to be exactly your screen resolution as it may consider that as "maximised" .. so I've dropped the size by 5px above (--window-size=1595,895)
« Last Edit: April 08, 2017, 06:40:54 pm by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline perknh

  • Trusted User
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3437
  • Karma: 269
  • Soy un huevo que adora Peppermint.
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 9 (64-bit)
Re: Sizing Problem with Opera Beta Browser
« Reply #7 on: April 08, 2017, 06:51:01 pm »
Thank you, PCNetSpec.  This is what I have.  Unfortunately, it's still not what we want.

Code: [Select]
[Desktop Entry]
Version=1.0
Name=Opera beta
GenericName=Web browser
Comment=Fast and secure web browser
TryExec=opera-beta
Exec=opera-beta --window-position=0,0 --window-size=1600,900 %U
Terminal=false
Icon=opera-beta
Type=Application
Categories=Network;WebBrowser;
MimeType=text/html;text/xml;application/xhtml_xml;x-scheme-handler/http;x-scheme-handler/https;x-scheme-handler/ftp;application/x-opera-download;
Actions=NewWindow;NewPrivateWindow;

Name[en_US]=Opera beta

[Desktop Action NewWindow]
Name=New Window
Exec=opera-beta --new-window
TargetEnvironment=Xfce

[Desktop Action NewPrivateWindow]
Name=New Private Window
Exec=opera-beta --private
TargetEnvironment=LXDE

http://i.imgur.com/M6b9m3b.png

&

http://i.imgur.com/ClV3kuL.png


We're all Peppermint users and that's what matters  ;). -- AndyInMokum

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 22389
  • Karma: 2500
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R and 9
Re: Sizing Problem with Opera Beta Browser
« Reply #8 on: April 08, 2017, 07:19:58 pm »
Read it again .. I made a 5 pixel alteration.

and the window MUST have been closed previously UNmaximised.

[EDIT]

As for the profile error, it must have become corrupt/unreadable at some point .. what's the output from
Code: [Select]
ls ~/.config
« Last Edit: April 08, 2017, 07:23:22 pm by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline perknh

  • Trusted User
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3437
  • Karma: 269
  • Soy un huevo que adora Peppermint.
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 9 (64-bit)
Re: Sizing Problem with Opera Beta Browser
« Reply #9 on: April 08, 2017, 07:34:09 pm »
PCNetSpec, I closed Opera Beta when I ran your commands.  I hope that was okay.  The results, however, are as before.  There are no changes that I can see.  And, again, thank you.

As for the profile error, it must have become corrupt/unreadable at some point .. what's the output from
Code: [Select]
ls ~/.config

Code: [Select]
perknh@peppermint ~ $ ls ~/.config
autostart   google-chrome           menus                      sakura
chromium    gtk-2.0                 nemo                       transmission
dconf       gtk-3.0                 nitrogen                   Trolltech.conf
enchant     libfm                   opera-beta                 user-dirs.dirs
Encryptr    linuxmint               peppermint-control-center  user-dirs.locale
eog         lxsession               pluma                      vlc
galculator  lxsession-default-apps  pulse                      xfce4
perknh@peppermint ~ $

We're all Peppermint users and that's what matters  ;). -- AndyInMokum

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 22389
  • Karma: 2500
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R and 9
Re: Sizing Problem with Opera Beta Browser
« Reply #10 on: April 08, 2017, 07:42:44 pm »
Okay for the profile error (which by the way I'm pretty sure is unrelated to what we're doing here) try this.

With opera CLOSED, run:
Code: [Select]
sudo chown -R perknh:perknh /home/perknh/.config/opera-beta
then fire up opera
 
did that get rid of the error ?

If not, you're going to have to set opera back to defaults (loosing all customisations and bookmarks/passwords/etc.) .. to do this, with opera CLOSED run:
Code: [Select]
mv -v /home/perknh/.config/opera-beta /home/perknh/.config/opera-beta.broken
now fire up opera.

did that get rid of the error ?
« Last Edit: April 08, 2017, 07:47:55 pm by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline perknh

  • Trusted User
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3437
  • Karma: 269
  • Soy un huevo que adora Peppermint.
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 9 (64-bit)
Re: Sizing Problem with Opera Beta Browser
« Reply #11 on: April 08, 2017, 07:55:55 pm »
No, PCNetSpec, nothing worked.  It didn't even go back to its defaults.  I can manually set it back to its default --where it will say nothing about its window size.  Or I can remove and purge Opera Beta, and then reinstall it again for you.  I don't mind at all.  I know that you and VinDSL like to fix things that are broken, so I'll happily do whatever you ask of me here.
We're all Peppermint users and that's what matters  ;). -- AndyInMokum

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 22389
  • Karma: 2500
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R and 9
Re: Sizing Problem with Opera Beta Browser
« Reply #12 on: April 08, 2017, 08:08:54 pm »
Tell me where you got this opera-beta and I'll have a look at it tomorrow .. because I can't see how renaming its config directory wouldn't have set it back to defaults :-\

I must be missing something that I'm only going to spot if I install it myself.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline perknh

  • Trusted User
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3437
  • Karma: 269
  • Soy un huevo que adora Peppermint.
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 9 (64-bit)
Re: Sizing Problem with Opera Beta Browser
« Reply #13 on: April 08, 2017, 08:25:02 pm »
Tell me where you got this opera-beta and I'll have a look at it tomorrow .. because I can't see how renaming its config directory wouldn't have set it back to defaults :-\

I must be missing something that I'm only going to spot if I install it myself.

We kinna, sorta created/manipulated the instructions ourselves --a long time ago.  I should confess, however, I added the Beta.  I only wanted to spice up the dish a little! ;D

https://forum.peppermintos.com/index.php/topic,4802.msg47943.html#msg47943

Have a good night, PCNetSpec.  And, thank you. ;)

perknh
« Last Edit: April 08, 2017, 08:41:09 pm by perknh »
We're all Peppermint users and that's what matters  ;). -- AndyInMokum

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 22389
  • Karma: 2500
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R and 9
Re: Sizing Problem with Opera Beta Browser
« Reply #14 on: April 09, 2017, 11:45:43 am »
WITH OPERA CLOSED, run:
Code: [Select]
sudo rm -rv ~/.cache/opera-beta
then
Code: [Select]
sudo rm -rv ~/.config/opera-beta
now fire up opera-beta from the command line:
Code: [Select]
opera-beta

Did that set it back to defaults, and get rid of that error message ?
« Last Edit: April 09, 2017, 11:47:17 am by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec