Peppermint OS Community Forum

Support => Networking => Topic started by: MNFrozenfish on January 10, 2019, 10:06:31 am

Title: RDP from Win 10 toP9 (Solved for my needs)
Post by: MNFrozenfish on January 10, 2019, 10:06:31 am
I am trying to RDP from Windows 10 to a P9 box and only getting a black screen. I have xrdp installed on the P9 machine and am wanting to use the stock Remote desktop connection app on the Windows machine. What am I missing? Or is there an easier way? Teamviewer is my first choice for personal use, but don't have that option since this machine is also accessed by coworkers. When I open the connection I get the xrdp splash and am using the Xorg session choice. Other session options are; X11rdp, Xvnc, console, vnc-any, sesman-any, and neutrinordp-any.   :-\
Am I missing configs on the P9 machine?
Thanks
Title: Re: RDP from Win 10 toP9
Post by: PCNetSpec on January 10, 2019, 12:42:09 pm
if you've already installed xrdp, it needs to be told which session and DE to start...

Try running
Code: [Select]
sudo sed -i.bak '/fi/a #xrdp multiple users configuration \n lxsession -s Peppermint -e LXDE \n' /etc/xrdp/startwm.sh
on the Peppermint box.
(may require a reboot .. dunno, I've never used it)

Now see if you can log in via RDP ?
Title: Re: RDP from Win 10 toP9
Post by: MNFrozenfish on January 10, 2019, 12:59:42 pm
No luck, still blank screen.
Ctrl+Alt+T opens terminal on P9 machine in remote window but the desktop does not display. Command to load/show desktop?
I was able to run sudo apt-get update with no errors.
Title: Re: RDP from Win 10 toP9
Post by: PCNetSpec on January 10, 2019, 01:09:06 pm
Okay lets undo that change, run:
Code: [Select]
sudo xed /etc/xrdp/startwm.sh
and make it read
Code: [Select]
#!/bin/sh

if [ -r /etc/default/locale ]; then
  . /etc/default/locale
  export LANG LANGUAGE
fi

. /etc/X11/Xsession
SAVE the file and exit the text editor.

Back in the terminal run
Code: [Select]
xed ~/.xsession
and when a BLANK file opens, make it read
Code: [Select]
lxsession -s Peppermint -e LXDE
SAVE the file, and exit the text editor.

Now restart xrdp
Code: [Select]
sudo service xrdp restart
now try logging on from Windows
Title: Re: RDP from Win 10 toP9
Post by: MNFrozenfish on January 10, 2019, 01:21:04 pm
That file contains:
Spoiler (click here to view / hide)
#!/bin/sh
# xrdp X session start script (c) 2015, 2017 mirabilos
# published under The MirOS Licence

if test -r /etc/profile; then
#xrdp multiple users configuration
 lxsession -s Peppermint -e LXDE

#xrdp multiple users configuration
#xrdp multiple users configuration
 lxsession -s Peppermint -e LXDE

 lxsession -s Peppermint -e LXDE

   . /etc/profile
#xrdp multiple users configuration
 lxsession -s Peppermint -e LXDE

#xrdp multiple users configuration
#xrdp multiple users configuration
 lxsession -s Peppermint -e LXDE

 lxsession -s Peppermint -e LXDE

fi
#xrdp multiple users configuration
 lxsession -s Peppermint -e LXDE

#xrdp multiple users configuration
#xrdp multiple users configuration
 lxsession -s Peppermint -e LXDE

 lxsession -s Peppermint -e LXDE


if test -r /etc/default/locale; then
   . /etc/default/locale
   test -z "${LANG+x}" || export LANG
   test -z "${LANGUAGE+x}" || export LANGUAGE
   test -z "${LC_ADDRESS+x}" || export LC_ADDRESS
   test -z "${LC_ALL+x}" || export LC_ALL
   test -z "${LC_COLLATE+x}" || export LC_COLLATE
   test -z "${LC_CTYPE+x}" || export LC_CTYPE
   test -z "${LC_IDENTIFICATION+x}" || export LC_IDENTIFICATION
   test -z "${LC_MEASUREMENT+x}" || export LC_MEASUREMENT
   test -z "${LC_MESSAGES+x}" || export LC_MESSAGES
   test -z "${LC_MONETARY+x}" || export LC_MONETARY
   test -z "${LC_NAME+x}" || export LC_NAME
   test -z "${LC_NUMERIC+x}" || export LC_NUMERIC
   test -z "${LC_PAPER+x}" || export LC_PAPER
   test -z "${LC_TELEPHONE+x}" || export LC_TELEPHONE
   test -z "${LC_TIME+x}" || export LC_TIME
   test -z "${LOCPATH+x}" || export LOCPATH
fi
#xrdp multiple users configuration
 lxsession -s Peppermint -e LXDE

#xrdp multiple users configuration
#xrdp multiple users configuration
 lxsession -s Peppermint -e LXDE

 lxsession -s Peppermint -e LXDE


if test -r /etc/profile; then
#xrdp multiple users configuration
 lxsession -s Peppermint -e LXDE

#xrdp multiple users configuration
#xrdp multiple users configuration
 lxsession -s Peppermint -e LXDE

 lxsession -s Peppermint -e LXDE

   . /etc/profile
#xrdp multiple users configuration
 lxsession -s Peppermint -e LXDE

#xrdp multiple users configuration
#xrdp multiple users configuration
 lxsession -s Peppermint -e LXDE

 lxsession -s Peppermint -e LXDE

fi
#xrdp multiple users configuration
 lxsession -s Peppermint -e LXDE

#xrdp multiple users configuration
#xrdp multiple users configuration
 lxsession -s Peppermint -e LXDE

 lxsession -s Peppermint -e LXDE


test -x /etc/X11/Xsession && exec /etc/X11/Xsession
exec /bin/sh /etc/X11/Xsession
[close]
Should I be replacing all the text with the first step?
Title: Re: RDP from Win 10 toP9
Post by: PCNetSpec on January 10, 2019, 01:27:03 pm
replace it with JUST what I said.
Title: Re: RDP from Win 10 toP9
Post by: MNFrozenfish on January 10, 2019, 01:31:44 pm
Same thing.  :(
Title: Re: RDP from Win 10 toP9
Post by: PCNetSpec on January 10, 2019, 02:42:33 pm
Maye it has something to do with the red text at step 2 here
http://c-nergy.be/blog/?p=10355

is the user account you're using to login already logged on locally ?
Title: Re: RDP from Win 10 toP9
Post by: MNFrozenfish on January 10, 2019, 03:03:25 pm
Yes, I can create another user and try logging in with those creds.
Will update when I get time to test.
Title: Re: RDP from Win 10 toP9
Post by: MNFrozenfish on January 10, 2019, 03:11:51 pm
Nope, still a black screen. terminal window opens as user logged in via xrdp but no desktop.
Title: Re: RDP from Win 10 toP9
Post by: PCNetSpec on January 10, 2019, 03:27:28 pm
If you can open a terminal, what happens if you run
Code: [Select]
/usr/bin/lxsession -s Peppermint -e LXDE
in that terminal ?
Title: Re: RDP from Win 10 toP9
Post by: MNFrozenfish on January 10, 2019, 03:41:23 pm
todd@P9-Latitude-E6540 ~ $ /usr/bin/lxsession -s Peppermint -e LXDE
** Message: 14:37:00.512: main.vala:102: Session is Peppermint
** Message: 14:37:00.512: main.vala:103: DE is LXDE
** Message: 14:37:00.532: main.vala:134: log directory: /home/todd/.cache/lxsession/Peppermint
** Message: 14:37:00.532: main.vala:135: log path: /home/todd/.cache/lxsession/Peppermint/run.log
 
Same from RDP session terminal and local terminal. Neither one returns to a prompt.
Same from both users except log path has different user.
Title: Re: RDP from Win 10 toP9
Post by: MNFrozenfish on January 10, 2019, 03:57:29 pm
xrdp also seems to keep open the RDP session when I disconnect.
Have you, or anyone else had any success with other apps like remmina or?
Title: Re: RDP from Win 10 toP9
Post by: PCNetSpec on January 10, 2019, 05:09:49 pm
It's been forever since I did anything like that .. on the odd occasion I need to connect to sommat remotely (with a desktop) now I just use teamviewer.
Title: Re: RDP from Win 10 toP9
Post by: MNFrozenfish on January 10, 2019, 05:18:21 pm
Me too :D
Could it be a local firewall setting or permission issue? Both users have admin accounts.
Title: Re: RDP from Win 10 toP9
Post by: PCNetSpec on January 10, 2019, 05:22:01 pm
Not sure yet .. I'll have a play tomorrow(ish) and see if I can figure it out.

When I tested it earlier, it connected okay... then immediately crashed out (like what was suggested in the red writing at my earlier link), but I wasn't logged on locally, in fact I'd set up a new account (though I hadn't checked if that account needed to be in any particular groups).
Title: Re: RDP from Win 10 toP9
Post by: freak99 on March 01, 2019, 02:51:18 pm
Anyone figure this out? I'm having the same issue. Trying to rdp from windows 10 into peppermint machine and get a black screen after the initial login prompt.
Title: Re: RDP from Win 10 toP9
Post by: MNFrozenfish on March 18, 2019, 11:41:15 am
I have kinda put this on the back burner and am using Teamviewer for now since I don't need to access the machine often.
Title: Re: RDP from Win 10 toP9
Post by: PCNetSpec on March 18, 2019, 02:31:40 pm
That's pretty much what I do .. though one of these days I want to try AnyDesk (and also NoMachine NX again, haven't tried NX in ages so I really should look again .. it used to be teriffic).

https://anydesk.com/

https://www.nomachine.com/
Title: Re: RDP from Win 10 toP9
Post by: MNFrozenfish on March 19, 2019, 11:48:35 am
That's pretty much what I do .. though one of these days I want to try AnyDesk (and also NoMachine NX again, haven't tried NX in ages so I really should look again .. it used to be teriffic).

https://anydesk.com/

https://www.nomachine.com/

NoMachine works well from my limited testing. Seems like a no frills TeamViewer but it doesn't leave the "Thanks for playing fair" splash on the target machine. I'll play a bit more, but for my needs, I think I have found a winner. I like that it automagically finds machines on your network so you don't have to remember PC names or IP's, they're just there.  ;) :D
I didn't do any testing with anydesk
Title: Re: RDP from Win 10 toP9 (Solved for my needs)
Post by: emegra on March 19, 2019, 12:17:41 pm
I use Anydesk since Teamviewer shut me down for commercial use which I wasn't,

I would wholeheartedly recommend Anydesk maybe not quite as polished as Teamviewer but does what it says on the tin, the big problem is the interface/theming is seriously wonky and  almost unreadable since 18.04



Graeme
Title: Re: RDP from Win 10 toP9
Post by: murraymint on March 19, 2019, 12:31:11 pm

NoMachine works well from my limited testing. Seems like a no frills TeamViewer but it doesn't leave the "Thanks for playing fair" splash on the target machine. I'll play a bit more, but for my needs, I think I have found a winner. I like that it automagically finds machines on your network so you don't have to remember PC names or IP's, they're just there.  ;) :D
I didn't do any testing with anydesk

I use NoMachine all the time and it's pretty good. The only thing that doesn't really work is if you remote into a PC with dual displays from one with only one display, you won't be able to see anything that should be on the second screen.
Title: Re: RDP from Win 10 toP9 (Solved for my needs)
Post by: MNFrozenfish on March 19, 2019, 12:50:32 pm
@murraymint
If you go into the settings when connected to a dual display system and click on the change monitor button, you can select either monitor or all. It kinda smashes things together if you switch to all, but you can see both at the same time and then select the one that you need.
Title: Re: RDP from Win 10 toP9 (Solved for my needs)
Post by: murraymint on March 19, 2019, 01:31:25 pm
Oh, that's interesting, thanks. I'll give it a try  :)