Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Messages - piper

Pages: [1] 2
1
Networking / Re: Mobile Phone as modem
« on: October 28, 2015, 09:48:14 pm »
The good news is that network manager / mobile broadband works fine with Ubuntu 15 as well as older versions like Peppermint 5/4?
Every distro (admittedly only 3 or so) I've tried that uses Trusty Tahr fails.
Leaves me stranded for some time until the next Peppermint, Otherwise I'd have to reinstall my progs to an Ubuntu 15 variant.
There was a Network Manager update in the last system update but still no go.
 

2
Networking / Re: Mobile Phone as modem
« on: October 06, 2015, 02:12:02 am »
I am a beginner with modules but the outputs from  PM6,PM5
sudo modprobe --show-modversions /lib/modules/3.16.0-50-generic/kernel/drivers/usb/class/cdc-acm.ko
sudo modprobe --show-modversions /lib/modules/3.8.0-35-generic/kernel/drivers/usb/class/cdc-acm.ko
 are very different.
Is it possible to build a module for PM6 using the older source from PM5 era?
I also might try another trusty tahr distro, but I tend to think I'll get the same result as PM6

3
Networking / Re: Mobile Phone as modem
« on: September 26, 2015, 10:10:56 pm »
There isn't any ipv6 tab in the mobile broadband settings. I followed through with the other instruction and found that the wifi didn't have 1pv6=ignore.
I have been able to do a network connection with wvdial and now I also have used pppconfig and pon/poff successfully.
It is the networkmanager/modemmanager pair that I cant get to work.
The   /etc/networkmanager/system-connections/2-Degrees MMS file that has been made doesn't have the correct serial speed in the way that wvdialcongfig  found it correctly. Changing this did not help.
There is no mention of ipv6 being a problem in syslog , I think it was the kernel log, but I may be past that error now.
PM5 and Crunchbang Waldorf (wheezy I think) both probe this usb modem successfully, and the network managers work.
They find the phone as a UTMP modem ad icons change etc when turning on Mobile Broadband

From dmesg,
usb 2-3: GSM modem (1-port) converter now attached to ttyUSB0
cdc_acm: probe of 2-3:1.1 failed with error -16

needs to be
option 2-3:1.0: GSM modem (1-port) converter detected
usb 2-3: GSM modem (1-port) converter now attached to ttyUSB0
Edit
and then
 usbcore: registered new interface driver option
 option: v0.7.2:USB Driver for GSM modems


4
Networking / Re: Mobile Phone as modem
« on: September 24, 2015, 10:37:53 pm »
I found how to increase the logging for network manager, and there appears to be a problem around ipv6.

This is a copy from a bug report I found elsewhere

quote
Please re-emerge net-dialup/ppp with the ipv6 USE flag enabled.

Networkmanager-0.9.6 added ipv6cp support. If ppp has ipv6 support and your provider is ipv4-only, ipv6cp will simply time out, and networkmanager will carry on. But if ppp does not have ipv6 support built in, pppd will exit with an error, which might be the reason why networkmanager fails to establish a connection for you.
unquote

I'm not sure what I can try in relation to the PM6 packaging. Maybe recompile some packages manually?

5
Networking / Re: Mobile Phone as modem
« on: September 11, 2015, 03:58:26 pm »
It is an Alcatel One touch 900, when connecting the usb cable, you just select com port instead of mass storage.
I did get the pppd working in a terminal by using sudo wvdial
In a separate terminal I could then ping the dns address's and retreived mail with pop.
The normal network interface seems to be necessary, but it doesn't respond when enabling either of the two mobile selection possibilities
For example no tick for the mobile broadband selection
The normal network interface seems to set up the modem as /dev/ttyACM0 then when I use wvdial I think the kern.log then uses it
as ttyUSB0
I also cant find any logging to do with the normal network enabling method.
I'm also wondering about mms versus internet options. I'm not sure what wvdial uses, but the username/password (in /etc/wvdial.conf) co-responds with the mms setting in the phone so I'm guessing it is using mms.
Edit: Ok still learning, there is mention of mms just being the billing method, so that setting shouldn't be stopping the connection.
sudo wvdial
works ok and independently of network manager though earlier I stated they were linked.
nm connect up uuid xxxxx
wasn't doing anything either, probably the equivalent of the nm gui approach
nm connect
was showing the connection type as gsm, but in the phone,  gsm is blank and gprs settings are used.
With nm there doesn't seem to be any modem strings for initialsing.
For the time being, I will use wvdial and not enter mobile settings in network manager at all.

6
Networking / Mobile Phone as modem
« on: September 10, 2015, 10:15:48 pm »
Trying to get connectivity with my Alcatel 3G capable phone with GPRS settings from my Satellite X205 and PM6.
Everything seems to be found OK but there is no connection getting made, and the kern.log shows nothing when trying to connect.
kern.log shows the device details:
 Sep 11 15:16:50 X205 kernel: [  558.648170] usb 2-6: new high-speed USB device number 3 using ehci-pci
Sep 11 15:16:50 X205 kernel: [  558.781506] usb 2-6: New USB device found, idVendor=0e8d, idProduct=0003
Sep 11 15:16:50 X205 kernel: [  558.781518] usb 2-6: New USB device strings: Mfr=3, Product=4, SerialNumber=0
Sep 11 15:16:50 X205 kernel: [  558.781526] usb 2-6: Product: Alcatel
Sep 11 15:16:50 X205 kernel: [  558.781532] usb 2-6: Manufacturer: Alcatel  Inc
Sep 11 15:16:50 X205 kernel: [  558.799489] cdc_acm 2-6:1.1: ttyACM0: USB ACM device
Sep 11 15:16:50 X205 kernel: [  558.799705] usbcore: registered new interface driver cdc_acm
Sep 11 15:16:50 X205 kernel: [  558.799707] cdc_acm: USB Abstract Control Model driver for USB modems and ISDN adapters
Sep 11 15:16:50 X205 kernel: [  558.806626] usbcore: registered new interface driver usbserial
Sep 11 15:16:50 X205 kernel: [  558.806646] usbcore: registered new interface driver usbserial_generic
Sep 11 15:16:50 X205 kernel: [  558.806666] usbserial: USB Serial support registered for generic
Sep 11 15:16:50 X205 kernel: [  558.813119] usbcore: registered new interface driver option
Sep 11 15:16:50 X205 kernel: [  558.813143] usbserial: USB Serial support registered for GSM modem (1-port)

Disabling and re-enabling network only outputs

Sep 11 15:19:13 X205 kernel: [  702.585416] r8169 0000:0d:00.0 eth0: link down
Sep 11 15:19:13 X205 kernel: [  702.585445] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): eth0: link is not ready

even though I have configured the internal network to ignore ipv6 and to not connect automatically.

Any clues on how to troubleshoot would be appreciated.

I did an online configuration with my provider to enable the data with MMS, but I'm pretty sure it was already enabled for the packaged opera browser etc anyway.   

7
Hardware / Re: SSD error
« on: August 30, 2015, 09:03:15 pm »
I checked the ADATA SSD  and it does have TRIM supported.  Your script could be worth implementing for my periodic manual trimming also, in case their is useful  information. One thing that springs to mind, is it might indicate that the trim was performed earlier than needed.
CF cards dont have TRIM support, though the manufactorers usually advertise some form of wear levelling.
I use another OS (RISC OS) that doesn't support TRIM  and only has PATA so I've taken notice. I think to use these (quite expensive) cards, I would strip the
casing off to let air circulate. I've seen CF cards get hot to touch when used in a camera.

Later Edit:
I have found the cause of the SSD corruption, by having it happen again.
When the laptop runs down on its battery, it just shuts down no matter what.
I have now changed the settings in the power management preferrences to shutdown when battery is critically low.
Cheers

8
Hardware / Re: SSD error
« on: August 28, 2015, 11:32:35 pm »
Thanks for the link, the blurb I used suggested there was little to do, but things like noatime and swappiness weren't done to mention a few biggies.
I have removed the cron job for trim altogether and will only perform it manually now. I can do without the guessing of whats happening at boot time.
I've also removed the btrfs-tools, what is with the upstream people, people defaulting to having btrfs? Sounds like it is unsuitable for SSD and even less likely to be used if people migrate to SSD's.
Time will tell if I get a re-occurrence of errors.
I have a second ADATA 32GB and I'll look into a sync command for a periodic backup. I'll leave a more than 1GB of unused space next time. I guess I can resize the one I'm using to be larger also.

9
Hardware / SSD error
« on: August 28, 2015, 09:15:53 pm »
My Satellite X205 has a 32GB ADATA SSD dedicated to PM6
It failed to boot past 'searching for btrfs' today, and after finding another thread with some help, I booted without 'splash quiet'  and found the complaint was about a fault in the / .
I pressed f as suggested and supposedly the repair was done and it rebooted successfully.
I think I had a few boot failures when using a Supertalent SSD on a previous install of PM5 on this machine, but successive boots sometimes worked.
The newer PM6 SSD setup requires less to do I think, from memory just setting the cron job for trim job was all that was suggested to do.
I need this machine to be reliable in portable locations, and would like to know any SSD setup or tests I can do.
Deleting quiet splash from grub would be helpful to speed recovery, but really I'm not used to HD errors, and it looks like a dodgy game to play.
Thanks for any suggestions.


10
Hardware / Re: NB550D Toshiba HD6250M
« on: August 11, 2015, 03:21:03 pm »
What does vdpauinfo show? You will probably have to install it first.
On a slower computer mpv is much quicker and lighter on cpu than vlc.
In PM5 my ~/.mpv /config file I have
hwdec=vdpau
hwdec-codecs=h264,vc1,mpeg1video,mpeg2video
I dont think the latter was needed though.
I realise that the hwaccel should and can work in the browser for live media, but it is probably something to try second to just playing a HD movie file.

11
Hardware / Re: NB550D Toshiba HD6250M
« on: August 10, 2015, 10:57:47 pm »
From what I've found, the common dual core is needed to decoded full HD (when there is no gpu decoding), My pentium4 could not do Full HD for example.
But with the gpu decoding cpu useage drops to very low figures, and I would have thought even a 1 Ghz dual core would have room to spare.  It leads me to
think that your video player didn't have vdpau enabled. You need a late vlc, or preferably mpv, maybe mplayer.
I gather vlc always does buffering for filters, and is not as direct as the others.
I think all players can have their config altered to tell them to use vdpau, I think there is vdpau libraries that may or may not need to be installed, I dont think
my last desktop install of PM6 with the radeon needed anything doing on the OS side though.
One review of the NB500D claimed the hard drive access was slow, maybe It is a really slow motherboard.
Windows may be more resource hungry than light linux's but it is strange that it can't do the job.
In Linux you can use vdpauinfo to display the codecs in the gpu, (hopefully means they are active too)

12
Hardware / Re: NB550D Toshiba HD6250M
« on: August 10, 2015, 04:24:29 pm »
Have you tried connecting the HDMI during HD playback? It seems odd that they could sell an item that doesn't deliver what it's supposed to.
Maybe people have got used to laptops as being substandard.
The NB500D I'm looking at has 2MB memory fitted which would help a little.

Edit: I've read a few more  reviews, and graphics aside, I think the reflective screen with poor viewing angles could be the one reason I would look for something better.
It is a portable device and likely to be used in a car, and I've kicked myself for buying cellphones that cant be read outdoors in the past. 

13
Hardware / Re: NB550D Toshiba HD6250M
« on: August 09, 2015, 04:09:37 pm »
Thanks for the references, It sounds like they aren't too rare, and could be worth a punt. The 3D gaming isn't so much the issue as the gpu decoding for h264 etc, The difference in cpu useage is quite dramatic, and probably more so on these lower power machines.
I am over the moon with the performance of the standard driver and my desktop machine with a basic Radeon HDMI card, and would tend to go with Radeon in the future.
Admittedly I only have an older/ancient? nvidiaHD/laptop to compare it with, but in PM6 I get window trails when I have a server program running. I haven't investigated further to see if the server is being hungry or if driver settings can be tweaked, but I haven't seen tweaking improve things in the past, I think streams are usually to blame.
Thanks

14
Hardware / NB550D Toshiba HD6250M
« on: August 08, 2015, 07:18:11 pm »
My Desktop machine has a Radeon Cedar card that works with hwaccel (hands off) with the default driver.
I am interested in buying a NB550D Amd fusion with HD6250M radeon but noticed HD6250M is not in the Ubuntu 3D fully supported list.
Googling finds there was some issue with the Bluetooth 3 module once.
On my Satellite X205 /PM4/alsa  I got bluetooth working with extra effort.
On my desktop/PM5 using pulse audio and a usb bluetooth  dongle, the job was no effort, more or less  plug and play.
The downside (possibly) with pulseaudio, Is it's constant polling. When sniffing a USB audio device, There is a lot of activity even when the device is idle.

I think the netbook in question was the first of the AMD Fusion processors and was not sold in the US.

TIA

15
Hardware / Re: Nvidia driver install
« on: July 31, 2015, 04:43:55 pm »
Just to be clear,
I installed the default nvidia proprietary driver using 'Additional Drivers' then rebooted to recovery mode root prompt.
I used the login command to login as my normal user/password (may or may not be necessary, but now works in the expected way)
sudo mount -o remount,rw /dev/sdb1 /
sudo  sh <path to downloaded nvidia installer script>
upon reaching the error  'The distribution-provided pre-install script failed' I selected abort (rather than continue) and it did the opposite thing and built and installed it's module.
Previously I was trying continue and failing, which left me with some doubt to whether I really needed to use the 'Additional Drivers' install first.
However, It is probably better to know the nouveau stuff is properly removed, as that might have left some doubt also.

I have incurred a change of startup behaviour, Before the brief nvidia splash screen, I have 'Scanning for Btrfs file system' showing for quite a while, but I imagine there is booting happening, rather than actual scanning for Btrfs. There is then a brief login screen (login not required) before the driver kicks in.

As scifidude79 stated, either nvidia driver is likely to be fine, I think the issue of having a vlc with the vdpau acceleration would be good to have in the next PM release,
As that is quite a disruptive upgrade. There may be spinoffs by having later media stuff installed, though such as building a later version of mpv.
vlc  integrates well with v4linux/Tvheadend as does Opera 30, but mpv is very quick at playing videos or music at random (right click, select mvp).

Update: Having just installed PM6 afresh (with network updates) I found that the 340.76 is now in the "Additional Drivers' and it has installed painlessly. The full Nvidia settings dont appear until a reboot, but thats fine.

Pages: [1] 2