Peppermint OS

General => GNU/Linux Discussion => Topic started by: Johan on May 24, 2020, 06:41:18 am

Title: square brackets
Post by: Johan on May 24, 2020, 06:41:18 am
Hi,

Is there a way to remove the square bracketts on the button labels?
Title: Re: square brackets
Post by: mintspider on May 24, 2020, 07:19:59 am
Unsure where you are seeing these square brackets.
Screenshot?
Title: Re: square brackets
Post by: Johan on May 24, 2020, 07:34:18 am
Unsure where you are seeing these square brackets.
Screenshot?

Screenshot: https://i.ibb.co/9cPtKRj/Screenshot-2020-05-24-16-31-46.png
Title: Re: square brackets
Post by: mintspider on May 24, 2020, 07:38:36 am
Ok, now I know where you are looking.... on the panel.
Yep, I see the same brackets when I am focused on the desktop but not when in an app - a little odd.
Title: Re: square brackets
Post by: Johan on May 24, 2020, 08:34:55 am
Yes they are indeed :-\
Title: Re: square brackets
Post by: spence on May 24, 2020, 08:44:33 am
on my desktop, I only see one bracket amongst the many tabs open... never noticed them before honestly... so I guess they never bothered me?
 
;)


  (https://imgur.com/hlEt3url.png)
 (https://i.imgur.com/hlEt3ur.png)
Title: Re: square brackets
Post by: Johan on May 24, 2020, 10:21:47 am
on my desktop, I only see one bracket amongst the many tabs open... never noticed them before honestly... so I guess they never bothered me?
 
;)


  (https://imgur.com/hlEt3url.png)
 (https://i.imgur.com/hlEt3ur.png)

They appear and disappear. So why do they appear and disappear? While I'm typing this they are gone. But when I do ctrl alt d to go to the desktop, they are there again :-\
Title: Re: square brackets
Post by: rayzer on May 24, 2020, 10:28:43 am
they seem to appear only when the windows been minimized, hadnt taken any notice of that before.
Title: Re: square brackets
Post by: spence on May 24, 2020, 10:39:36 am
They appear and disappear. So why do they appear and disappear? While I'm typing this they are gone. But when I do ctrl alt d to go to the desktop, they are there again :-\

For me, they seem to be indicating the tabs with current activity...

 ;)
Title: Re: square brackets
Post by: Johan on May 24, 2020, 09:52:34 pm
Not that big of a deal. Just want to know why they are there and if there is a possibility to remove them ;)
Title: Re: square brackets
Post by: clatterfordslim on May 25, 2020, 02:16:39 am
Not that big of a deal. Just want to know why they are there and if there is a possibility to remove them ;)

Hi Johan, I always go into window button properties and change it to icons only. You can still see what it is you have open by hovering over the icon and tool tip will tell you what it is? To activate Icons only on your panel, you probably know how to anyway but for those who don't.
There are two ways to get to windows properties, first Right Click Three Little Lines On Panel just off of movie player icon on the right. Might take a while to find?

(https://imgur.com/uK75Hqi.png)

Code: [Select]
Left Click on properties
Should look like this.
(https://imgur.com/CTKB33w.png)

How I have mine setup.
(https://imgur.com/EmktaZ1.png)

Hope this helps to get rid of those brackets. Though I never do with the theme I use and have never seen them before.  ;)

Left click the images above as they seem to not display properly until you do.
Code: [Select]
The other way to get into window properties is left clicking panel highlight panel in the list and choose panel preferences
(https://imgur.com/PjSyylY.png)

Code: [Select]
Click on Items Tab
(https://imgur.com/Zwk6RyA.png)

Items list that's on your panel come up after clicking it,
Code: [Select]
highlight Window Buttons

The fifth icon on the right of the window is edit, so left click it.
(https://imgur.com/vx7Oowe.png)
Title: Re: square brackets
Post by: Johan on May 25, 2020, 03:00:41 am
I knew how to do that, but thanks anyway ;)
Title: Re: square brackets
Post by: straybit on May 31, 2020, 09:32:00 am
I don't know about your machine but on mine, the square brackets indicate windows that have been minimized.  To get rid of the brackets, just restore the window.
hth.
Bruce
Title: Re: square brackets
Post by: VinDSL on May 31, 2020, 01:00:22 pm
The square brackets indicate windows that have been minimized.  To get rid of the brackets, just restore the window.

Brilliant!  Good call...  ;)



Title: Re: square brackets
Post by: Johan on June 02, 2020, 04:17:03 am
I don't know about your machine but on mine, the square brackets indicate windows that have been minimized.  To get rid of the brackets, just restore the window.
hth.
Bruce

Thanks. Knew that too ;) But I don't want them to show at all. Is that possible?
Title: Re: square brackets
Post by: clatterfordslim on June 02, 2020, 06:15:43 am
I don't know about your machine but on mine, the square brackets indicate windows that have been minimized.  To get rid of the brackets, just restore the window.
hth.
Bruce

Thanks. Knew that too ;) But I don't want them to show at all. Is that possible?

I don't think it is possible Johan, I will see if there is a way of changing it in the script to window buttons. Bare with me I'll be back.
Title: Re: square brackets
Post by: clatterfordslim on June 02, 2020, 06:59:34 am
Unfortunately there is nothing that can be done, it seems it is setup to this as default and the only way to not have the brackets at all is either have icons only, or only show minimized windows only, but that still does not get rid of the brackets.  :-\ Puzzled I be.
Title: Re: square brackets
Post by: Johan on June 05, 2020, 12:39:52 pm
It's okay Slim thanks ;)