Peppermint OS

Support => New Users => Topic started by: lliam53 on May 21, 2020, 07:27:16 am

Title: Cryptkeeper?
Post by: lliam53 on May 21, 2020, 07:27:16 am
Wanting to look after my file access, I found an official tutorial for using Cryptkeeper. Entering [as directed in the tutorial] in the terminal   'sudo apt-get install cryptkeeper'  got me [after password and a run thru pack lists, dependancy & state info...]  E: unable to locate package cryptkeeper. Having been pressed apone to first use the search option [so 'cryptkeeper'] in this forum I got no single post on what to do when this happens. Gave the software manager a go and... no match for cryptkeeper.
It looks like I am into downloading TARs and such? Or am I missing something [again?]    lliam
Title: Re: Cryptkeeper?
Post by: Slim.Fatz on May 21, 2020, 07:38:33 am
Hi lliam53,

Check this item (https://askubuntu.com/questions/1047704/cryptkeeper-removed-from-ubuntu-18-04). It is not very secure so you might consider using something else for file encryption (at least if it needs to be very secure).

Regards,


-- Slim
Title: Re: Cryptkeeper?
Post by: lliam53 on May 21, 2020, 08:44:04 am
Thanks, I need to look at the alternatives carefully. Cryptomator needs a 64 bit architechture for instance. Will get back on this one....
Title: Re: Cryptkeeper?
Post by: spence on May 21, 2020, 12:05:30 pm
Any particular reason you skipped the "Encrypt My Drive" during your installation of PeppermintOS?

 :-\
Title: Re: Cryptkeeper?
Post by: alynur on May 21, 2020, 12:17:43 pm
I use Gnome Encfs manager since my computer is not accessed by a bunch of people. I guess it would depend on how much security you need.
Title: Re: Cryptkeeper?
Post by: lliam53 on May 22, 2020, 04:24:01 am
RE Spence,   on the whole I have no need for an encrypted system. It's just good to have an encryption [ or password protection ] option for certain files/folders. Cryptomator would appear to work accross platform which is interesting as I keep most of my data on network drives accessable from various systems. Anyway have other stuff [cubic yard/metre of sand] to look afer so do not wait up on this one...  lliam
Title: Re: Cryptkeeper?
Post by: spence on May 22, 2020, 03:44:15 pm
Anyway have other stuff [cubic yard/metre of sand] to look after so do not wait up on this one...  lliam

Appreciate being let off the hook, so to speak lliam53! You may rest assured, I don't wait up! For I am more than comfortable in the knowledge that #teampeppermint have a nice capable group of Trusted Users whom I completely trust to handle answering the support queries. All of them are more knowledgeable than I. They allow me to focus on other details moving forward. Believe me when I say, I am thankful for their dedication each and every single day!

 ;)
Title: Re: Cryptkeeper?
Post by: lliam53 on June 06, 2020, 08:05:06 am
Now having more time I looked once more at an alternative, cross platform encryption tool for file on network locations. Unfortunately Cryptomater, which looks good, is only for 64bit machinery so that's out. However Gnupg is both cross platform, good for simple hardware AND it's already installed in my P10 installation. That is that's what my software manager is telling me, but I can not find how to use it. Typing Gnupg in the menu search comes up blank, so if there's anyone out there who knows? P.S I have obviously tried searching this forum, without success. Oh and if I set the software manager to 'show installed applications' the list only covers what I have installed and not any other apps which are apparantly present...
lliam
Title: Re: Cryptkeeper?
Post by: Slim.Fatz on June 06, 2020, 09:15:06 am
Hi lliam53,

I'm not sure which software manager you are using but the standard for package management (synaptic) shows everything that is installed (including gnupg). That is just one of the various reasons that synaptic is for package management the choice among those "in the know."  ;) 


As for using gnupg -- I cannot help you because I have never used it.  :-[

Regards,

-- Slim
Title: Re: Cryptkeeper?
Post by: alynur on June 09, 2020, 10:30:55 am
Hey lliam53, try opening a terminal and typing
Code: [Select]
gnupg and hit enter and see what comes up.
Title: Re: Cryptkeeper?
Post by: lliam53 on June 11, 2020, 08:04:12 am
Well here's the situation so far: Entering gnupg gave me 'gnupg' not found  try gnubg [which is backgammon game] so I left that alone. I have tried a number of password/crypto alternatives all of which are no problem in windows but which are unusable [for me] in P10 [32 bit] as they consitently turn up with very complicated requests for [amongst others] 'keyrings' and other terms I do not recall, amid all manner of boxes requiring terms I have no understanding of. Now I am in possesion of an installation file for the app 'AESCrypt' which promises to be 'easy' in use. I shall keep you posted...   
Well did not get much further.. after the [easy]  installation, and the program becoming available via menu, I get: 'Invalid arguments, a single filename is required' on running, so where to from here? Does anyone out there have any experience with AESCrypt?    lliam
Title: Re: Cryptkeeper?
Post by: murraymint on June 11, 2020, 10:46:13 am
Quote
To encrypt a file, you simply right-click or left-click on the file (depending on your desktop) you wish to encrypt, and open the file with AES Crypt.

https://www.aescrypt.com/linux_aes_crypt.html


Title: Re: Cryptkeeper?
Post by: lliam53 on June 13, 2020, 05:59:56 am
I have managed to get AES so far that it will create an .aes file from mine, accepting my given password. Do not even think that I am then able to open that file again! Both creation and opening follow the same path: right click 'open with other program' [no 'encrypt' menu item] with create one is asked twice for the password and the .aes file appears. Opening the same so 'open with other program', the box appears with password request, once filled in that dissapears and.... nothing happens. I have contacted the AES team and someone is working on this. I have a sneaking suspicion that it has something to do with my 'No such file or directory' problem [see my post] I wait....     lliam
Title: Re: Cryptkeeper?
Post by: murraymint on June 13, 2020, 10:40:33 am
What do you mean nothing happens? The file stays encrypted?
Title: Re: Cryptkeeper?
Post by: Slim.Fatz on June 14, 2020, 05:06:04 am
Hi lliam53,

Did you read the article given to you (https://www.aescrypt.com/linux_aes_crypt.html) by murraymint? It is worth reading all of it. Note also that when extracting the encrypted file, the original file will be created with its original name and file extension, so to really test whether it is working you should first encrypt your original file (let's call it original-file.txt) to get the encrypted file original-file.aes -- now go back and give your original file (original-file.txt) a new name (e.g. orig.txt) and then attempt to extract the file original-file.aes to see if original-file.txt then appears and has the same contents as orig.txt.  ;)

Let us know if you are still having problems.

BTW, if you are still interested in try to get gnupg running (since it installed already on your computer) then read my next message (https://forum.peppermintos.com/index.php/topic,9779.msg98574.html#msg98574) in this thread (I split it off from this message because this one is primarily about aescrypt).

Regards,

-- Slim
Title: Re: Cryptkeeper?
Post by: Slim.Fatz on June 14, 2020, 05:21:12 am
[...] Gnupg is both cross platform, good for simple hardware AND it's already installed in my P10 installation. That is that's what my software manager is telling me, but I can not find how to use it. Typing Gnupg in the menu search comes up blank, so if there's anyone out there who knows? P.S I have obviously tried searching this forum, without success. Oh and if I set the software manager to 'show installed applications' the list only covers what I have installed and not any other apps which are apparantly present...
lliam


If you still wish to try out gnupg (its public name is actually GnuPG) then read this article first (https://www.redhat.com/sysadmin/getting-started-gpg), followed by this article (https://www.redhat.com/sysadmin/digital-signatures-gnupg).  ;) Although gnupg is installed on your computer, there is not a program named gnupg for you to start (this information is in the article that you should read first). On my installation the executable file is named gpg  :o (in the article the author is using a linux distro that uses other names). But please read all of the first article if you still wish to test using GnuPG for file encryption.

Regards,

-- Slim
Title: Re: Cryptkeeper?
Post by: lliam53 on June 23, 2020, 05:12:58 am
Encryption, a minefield?
Well here goes, after taking note of all the replys [thank you all for taking the time] on this and studying the various articles and options I have come to the following conclusion. There might be a plethera of encryption possibles out there but what I am looking for [ease of use and a minimum of terminal coding] is hard to find. There are 'systems', such as AES which do the job on single files but not over network drives, or the gnpug which is probably super safe but requires a terminal use I find just to demanding and certainly not what I need for my simple needs. I have an application which password protects a 'vault' one creates, defined size and domicile be it flash or network drive, with it I can open the vault using my given password work on the [various different] files present, save them and then close the vault. Looking for something like that which is cross platform started all this... Well the only option which seems to be available which lives up to my hopes is Veracrypt [which will also work on a 32bit machine] All works well until I get to Linux very safe but infuriating permissions system. No matter what I do, so filling in all requested passwords and names [even creating a public share on my network drive which is a bit counter the whole idea really] I ALWAYS get 'Permission denied' when I try and use the 'crypt' [or vault] created. On presenting VeraCrypt with my problem I was answered with an explanation [Linux permissions....] and a solution: which means I need to mount the remote [network] folder [containing the VeraCrypt] as a local folder on my linux machine. Sounds easy [like mapping a windows drive] but it's not. This requires, hard to comprehend, terminal coding which invariably turns up such comments as drive or file does not exist [no matter how well I make sure not to fall into the case sensitive trap] or other ERRORS. There is a GUI method for this starting at 'PLACES' in the menu... I can not find 'places' in my menu, so does this exist in Peppermint? If so where is the tutorial, with 'what to do with the error messages', which deals with mounting a remote [network] drive locally..
lliam
Title: Re: Cryptkeeper?
Post by: alynur on June 24, 2020, 11:29:18 pm
Hi lliam53, could you copy the instructions you are having trouble with here so we can try to help you understand them?
Title: Re: Cryptkeeper?
Post by: lliam53 on June 25, 2020, 02:02:56 am
Alynur, this [below] is the VeraCrypt response with link to the answers: I can not underline my wishes more than to say that I do not expect terminal coding to work for me, as I have said no matter what I fill in for user names and or passwords and no matter how I define the location of the local or remote folders I created it does not work, but you are welcome to try and redefine or explain how this all works. I would appreciate an explanation for how I get the GUI answer to work, as that probably does not need me to provide all manner of input which is fraught with pitfalls. In the meantime I have installed Smb4K which looks a promising aid [as I can not find 'Places' in my menu] I just need to find out what a 'UNC address' is, and where I can find this for a given drive/folder/location....  If I ever get an answer to manage this I shall post it as a tutorial or whatever, as there would not appear to be a straightforward method for mapping a network drive, like windows has, available for Peppermint.

The network drive in question, to which I do have access from Peppermint is NFTS, if that helps....
 
Concerning the permission denied issue, this is something related more
to how Linux sharing work than to VeraCrypt specifics. I have answered
in the past similar issues and I gave solution that worked for some
users. You can check the following link to see if it helps:
https://github.com/veracrypt/VeraCrypt/issues/23

LLiam
Title: Re: Cryptkeeper?
Post by: murraymint on June 25, 2020, 07:03:05 am
https://techterms.com/definition/unc

The network drive is on a Windows Samba server? What's the local IP of that machine?
Title: Re: Cryptkeeper?
Post by: alynur on June 26, 2020, 09:46:04 am
So basicly your problem is mounting your vault in Peppermint correct? So when you go to file manager and open your server, you can see your vault but VeraCryp isn't recognizing it as a valid vault? While in your server and clicking in your vault, look at the address bar at the top and on the right click on the Toggle Location Entry. That will give you the unc address of the vault. Copy that and enter it into your VerCrypt application vault mounter. Did that make sense?
Title: Re: Cryptkeeper?
Post by: alynur on June 26, 2020, 10:07:45 am
Here is ia screenshot of my shared Public folder unc address mounted in networks.

(https://i.imgur.com/NY8aJ12.png)
Title: Re: Cryptkeeper?
Post by: lliam53 on June 27, 2020, 05:43:44 am
The problem in using Vera Crypt via the file manager is that the network drive does not accept the [form of, Linux] permission routine [name & passwords] Vera Crypt presents [it recognises the vault ok] and simply denies connection. As the Vera Crypt explanation sent to me discribes this can be overcome by mounting the remote/network location via another route [including permissions, so name and password] and then have Vera Crypt approach that local mount to open the vault. Read on...

Well it's looking as though I have been successful in my local mount of the remote drive/location/crypt using the package Smb4k [which means I am using Samba, for what it's worth?]. It took some time to define the correct UNC adress, which is do-able in Smb4k as it tells you what is wrong as apposed to a terminal error [file does not exist or 'permission denied'] one can keep at it until the correct addressing is found [looking in the File Manager for starters]. As it is possible to go thru the process step by step so knowing where the 'glitches' 'fit'. Once the network 'vault' [location] was mounted locally [so using Smb4k and the network 'inlog' reuirements such as name and password or 'anonymous'] VeraCrypt was able to mount the [created via another system] crypt as a 'volume' and make use of it. After the installation and mount my [32 bit] machine became extremely slow and appeared to be 'occupied' with who knows what. After shutdown and restart all was back to normal so AOK. Unfortunately Smb4k appeared to have 'forgotten' the local mount after shutdown requiring me to run thru the mount again after restarting. Obviously I will have to study Smb4k more closely to find the right settings [there are sooo many...] so that if possible on start up mounts are restored. As yet I have been unable to get Smb4k to remount the network location automatically on restart but one can save the location details as a bookmark in Smb4k so remounting is readily achieved. I now have a 'vault' on one of my network drives which is [password] accessable from at least two platforms [not simultaniously, which is to be expected], now to go for an android connection.. Once I have more to tell I shall create a tutorial or a 'guide to how I did it'.

LLiam, getting there slowly, with help...