Peppermint OS

Support => Installation => Topic started by: RTCarman on November 17, 2019, 06:10:56 am

Title: Can't choose partition for installation
Post by: RTCarman on November 17, 2019, 06:10:56 am
Hi -
  I have an HP h9-1215t with 2 TB drive, 32GB RAM, NVidia Ti-1050 video card. I recently added a Soundblaster Zx card to replace the onboard sound. My system currently has Windows 10 home and Peppermint 8.0 (P08). Dual-booting works fine, but my Peppermint 8 can't find or use my sound card. I tried running Peppermint 10 (P10) without installing and it finds my SoundBlaster Zx card and gives me sound. So, I want to add Peppermint 10 on a new partition and also keep my Windows and Peppermint 8.
   The P08 drive partition was 340 GB. I split it using GParted into two 170 GB partitions. I labeled the partitions as P08 and P10.  The P10 partition is ext4. When I run the installation of Peppermint 10, I do not get the option of installing to the new partition. If I chose to do something else, the drive diagram only shows one partition for Peppermint 8, it doesn't show a P08 and P10.
    How do I get Peppermint 10 to install on the P10 partition? I have a LOT of data on my HDD and do not want to lose it. I have backed up most of it, but still...
    Thanks for any help beforehand.
Have a nice day. - Rich
 
Title: Re: Can't choose partition for installation
Post by: alynur on November 17, 2019, 11:51:40 am
Hi RTCarman, is your harddrive file system MBR or GPT? I'm guessing it's GPT. How much of the P 8 partition is used? My idea would be to end up with three ext4 partitions. two of about 30gb and the last with the rest. I would want to end up with P 8 on one partition of 30gb, P10 on another 30gb partition and the remaining partition as a DATA partition. With a DATA partition, you can symlink your home folders of as many linux distros you have installed on your harddrive and your home folders, or files, would be the same on all. It might take a little bit of work to get there, but it's doable. Food for thought, and any help you need getting there, we're here. There are many guys here that have such a setup with multiple partitions with different distros, creating the DATA partition is key. Good luck.  :)
edited: forgot to ask, did you do your partitioning while booted into a live session?
Title: Re: Can't choose partition for installation
Post by: PCNetSpec on November 17, 2019, 12:58:20 pm
From within PM8 (or from a PM10 LiveUSB), can you post the output from:
Code: [Select]
sudo fdisk -land
Code: [Select]
sudo blkid
Title: Re: Can't choose partition for installation
Post by: RTCarman on November 18, 2019, 01:05:44 pm
Wow - you guys give me a lot to think about.
Yes - my system is GPT.
I've given Windows about 1.5 TB of the drive (MANY photos and videos).
I've already used about 48 GB on the P08 partition.
The P10 partition is 170 GB, ext4 and unused.
Here is my report from Windows 10 Disk Management...
(sorry... can't figure out how to put my screenshot in here...)
I'll go to Peppermint 8 and try from there.
Title: Re: Can't choose partition for installation
Post by: RTCarman on November 18, 2019, 01:20:13 pm
Ok - I'm in Peppermint 8 - here is the results of "fdisk -l"
Code: [Select]
rtcarman@rtcarman-h9-1215t ~ $ sudo fdisk -l
[sudo] password for rtcarman:
Sorry, try again.
[sudo] password for rtcarman:
Disk /dev/sda: 1.8 TiB, 2000398934016 bytes, 3907029168 sectors
Units: sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 4096 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 4096 bytes / 4096 bytes
Disklabel type: gpt
Disk identifier: 28D4D603-3F65-406A-9100-F2E7564FECE6

Device          Start        End    Sectors   Size Type
/dev/sda1        2048     206847     204800   100M EFI System
/dev/sda2      206848     468991     262144   128M Microsoft reserved
/dev/sda3      468992 3185878198 3185409207   1.5T Microsoft basic data
/dev/sda4  3185879040 3186941951    1062912   519M Windows recovery environment
/dev/sda5  3186944000 3518975249  332031250 158.3G Linux filesystem
/dev/sda6  3850926080 3871809535   20883456    10G Linux swap
/dev/sda7  3872731136 3907028991   34297856  16.4G Microsoft basic data
/dev/sda8  3518976000 3850926079  331950080 158.3G Linux filesystem

Partition table entries are not in disk order.




Disk /dev/sdb: 14.3 GiB, 15376000000 bytes, 30031250 sectors
Units: sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disklabel type: dos
Disk identifier: 0x76a0918b

Device     Boot Start      End  Sectors  Size Id Type
/dev/sdb1  *     2048 30029823 30027776 14.3G  c W95 FAT32 (LBA)
======================================================
and here is the result of "blkid"
rtcarman@rtcarman-h9-1215t ~ $ sudo blkid
/dev/sda1: LABEL="SYSTEM" UUID="8CAD-A5FD" TYPE="vfat" PARTLABEL="EFI system partition" PARTUUID="2d1ceaae-b781-4902-a933-3077520193a4"
/dev/sda3: LABEL="OS" UUID="4642158C421581BB" TYPE="ntfs" PARTLABEL="Basic data partition" PARTUUID="143e16ed-47ab-4db9-8afb-f708492b54e1"
/dev/sda4: UUID="BAD0E7D5D0E79643" TYPE="ntfs" PARTUUID="41ea5ab7-1280-4185-83ce-72002ffaeb5f"
/dev/sda5: UUID="963a3167-09bc-4ed7-8414-0d1197997c48" TYPE="ext4" PARTLABEL="Pep08" PARTUUID="797ffc5b-82c8-40f1-90da-6ea15438bf76"
/dev/sda6: UUID="aa543be5-3557-4ad1-afa1-fb6a534a303c" TYPE="swap" PARTUUID="3af600be-4410-4d6a-91d4-0350e2fe5833"
/dev/sda7: LABEL="HP_RECOVERY" UUID="BAD8EA7FD8EA38F1" TYPE="ntfs" PARTLABEL="Basic data partition" PARTUUID="870650e4-f4e8-4451-a1ba-aebf00209f8b"
/dev/sda8: LABEL="P10" UUID="bf88e8bc-21d8-4e36-af09-4ed7d1799dea" TYPE="ext4" PARTLABEL="Pep10" PARTUUID="d35922f7-9570-4875-8e57-96502ac2c6bc"
/dev/sdb1: LABEL="1A1FLASH" UUID="361D-0AC3" TYPE="vfat" PARTUUID="76a0918b-01"
/dev/sda2: PARTLABEL="Microsoft reserved partition" PARTUUID="8c9f91b2-3fc5-434f-b878-ea2c85f7b030"
================================================
I hope that helps.
Thank-you.
Title: Re: Can't choose partition for installation
Post by: RTCarman on November 18, 2019, 01:23:51 pm
So, I want to install Peppermint 10 on...
/dev/sda8  3518976000 3850926079  331950080 158.3G Linux filesystem

I will try running the install again and see what I get.
Sorry to be a pain guys. Thanks for your patience.
- Rich ;D
Title: Re: Can't choose partition for installation
Post by: zebedeeboss on November 18, 2019, 01:32:54 pm
Hi

You need to encapsulate the terminal output with the Insert, Code # function.  For extra long outputs, please use the Spoiler, Sp function.  If you’re a Chromium Browser and/or a Google Chrome user, please don't combine these functions.  For some reason, they don’t work well together with these browsers.  The formatting gets all goofed up.  Only use one or the other  ;).  These forum functions preserve the original format of the output.  This makes it easier for future visitors to relate to their own issues.  These functions are found in the forum editor, above the,  :-[ Embarrassed and  the :'( Cry emoticon respectively.  Use the Preview button to check how it'll look after you post it to forum.  I hope this helps  ;).

I've done this for you this time.  Many thanks  :)

Regards Zeb...

EDIT - I copied and pasted too much - this post is obviously not closed. Apologies.
Title: Re: Can't choose partition for installation
Post by: RTCarman on November 18, 2019, 02:32:47 pm
Zeb - First, my apology for my ignorance. I have no idea what this means... "You need to encapsulate the terminal output with the Insert, Code # function.  For extra long outputs, please use the Spoiler, Sp function.  ".  FYI, I use Mozilla.
Also, this issue is not resolved and I was going to post some screen shots of the issue, but I anticipate that you would not be happy with that.
Is there a YouTube video for n00bs on how to use your forum?  I have never had any computer training or Linux training and only use the computer a few times during the week. In the swimming pool of computer knowledge, I am wading at the low end of the pool.  I am learning as I go and just trying to slash a path through the jungle of Linux.
Thank you. Have a nice day.
Title: Re: Can't choose partition for installation
Post by: zebedeeboss on November 18, 2019, 02:47:56 pm
Hi

No apology needed.  We all started out new at one time or another.

if you look along the row of icons you should see the # icon

This is the icon for  [code ] [ / code]   I have deliverately put spaces there else it will do its thing.    So when you copy and paste stuff from a terminal.  Copy    hit the little # icon and then place the cursor in the middle and then paste.

So instead of

random text here
line after line
after line

you get

Code: [Select]
random text here
line after line
after line

Does that explain it a little better ?

EDIT: I will produce a video on it tomorrow and will try and show what each part of that post I made meant :)

Title: Re: Can't choose partition for installation
Post by: zebedeeboss on November 18, 2019, 02:54:04 pm
Plus screen shots are fine as long as you upload the images to a hosting service and then provide the links.

You cannot post screenshots direct to the forums.

There should be a video how to for that here  :)

https://forum.peppermintos.com/index.php/topic,7892.0.html (https://forum.peppermintos.com/index.php/topic,7892.0.html)

Regards Zeb...

Title: Re: Can't choose partition for installation
Post by: RTCarman on November 18, 2019, 05:25:13 pm
Zeb -
   Thanks for your time.
   Ok - I understand both. Good explanation and good video from emegra. Kudos to you both.
- Rich
Title: Re: Can't choose partition for installation
Post by: alynur on November 18, 2019, 05:44:55 pm
Here are photos of my hard drives, sda has my DATA partition while sdb has the various operating systems. All the operating systems are symlinked to the same DATA partition.

(https://i.postimg.cc/j5md3VsV/sdb-gparted.png) (https://postimages.org/)


(https://i.postimg.cc/q7m7nhSv/sda-gparted.png) (https://postimages.org/)

In your instance, if you were planning on creating a DATA partition, I would grow your p8 partition to 60gb, create a 10gb partition and leave the remainder as an ext4 partition. Once that was all done, I would boot up P 8 and create a DATA partition with symlinks of the last, largest partition which includes moving all your home folders and files to. Then I would shrink the P 8 partition and grow the smallest partition both to 35gb. and that would be that. Then you could install P 10 to the second 35gb partition and again create and symlink the DATA partition. Sound confusing? It is a little, but it's really easy.
Title: Re: Can't choose partition for installation
Post by: zebedeeboss on November 19, 2019, 12:45:15 am
As promised, here is the short tutorial video

https://forum.peppermintos.com/index.php?topic=9040.new#new

Regards Zeb...
Title: Re: Can't choose partition for installation
Post by: RTCarman on November 19, 2019, 03:26:59 am
Well, I thank you all for your input. This has been a real learning experience.
I obviously have to learn a lot more about the Peppermint Linux file system. I thought all the data for each distro is saved right on the partition for that distro. That's why I make my partitions so big. I'm into photography and videography - and so I make my partitions big enough to hold all that stuff. So, I am not sure why DATA drives and SWAP drives are needed. Also, it would be good if the P10 installation partition manager showed as much info as GParted.
Anyway, the snag I run into now is that I get the message

"No Root File System is defined. Please correct this from the Partitioning Menu."

My system boots up and gives me a choice of Peppermint or Windows. Therefore I must have a Root File System, right?

Thanks again for the help.
Title: Re: Can't choose partition for installation
Post by: RTCarman on November 19, 2019, 03:49:14 am
Okay - I created an Imgur acc. and managed to put up a screenshot of the error msg.
How do I tell where my root file system is?
(https://i.imgur.com/JeseUTO.jpg)
Thanx
Title: Re: Can't choose partition for installation
Post by: PCNetSpec on November 19, 2019, 04:04:30 am
You've set no root (/) mountpoint .. so the OS doesn't know where to install itself.

In your picture .. select /dev/sda8 .. click the "Change" button .. and set:-

Mountpoint: /
Title: Re: Can't choose partition for installation
Post by: zebedeeboss on November 19, 2019, 05:07:00 am
Okay - I created an Imgur acc. and managed to put up a screenshot of the error msg.
How do I tell where my root file system is?
(https://i.imgur.com/JeseUTO.jpg)
Thanx

You also have the device for Boot Loader installation set incorrectly.  It's currently pointing to the USB and needs to point to the HD -  Assuming you have an sda1 which is an efi partition with boot flags set - make that section point to /dev/sda

otherwise point it to /dev/sda8

Regards Zeb...
Title: Re: Can't choose partition for installation
Post by: PCNetSpec on November 19, 2019, 05:36:54 am
Zeb is right (sorry I missed that) .. according to your earlier fdisk output you DO have a /dev/sda1 (EFI System) partition, so (as Zeb suggests) as well as setting the mountpoint for /dev/sda8 (as in my last posting), also set

Device for boot loader installation: /dev/sda
Title: Re: Can't choose partition for installation
Post by: Slim.Fatz on November 19, 2019, 07:43:33 am
Hi RTCarman,

After you get the above issue sorted out and everything is running well, then you can read my tutorial (https://forum.peppermintos.com/index.php/topic,1835.0.html) about why and how to set up and use a separate DATA partition. I (as well as many others) strongly advise you to set up and use a separate DATA partition.  ;)

If you have questions about the tutorial, please ask them in the tutorial thread (not here in this thread).

Regards,

-- Slim
Title: Re: Can't choose partition for installation
Post by: alynur on November 19, 2019, 12:01:05 pm
Well, I thank you all for your input. This has been a real learning experience.
I obviously have to learn a lot more about the Peppermint Linux file system. I thought all the data for each distro is saved right on the partition for that distro. That's why I make my partitions so big. I'm into photography and videography - and so I make my partitions big enough to hold all that stuff. So, I am not sure why DATA drives and SWAP drives are needed. Also, it would be good if the P10 installation partition manager showed as much info as GParted.
Anyway, the snag I run into now is that I get the message

"No Root File System is defined. Please correct this from the Partitioning Menu."

My system boots up and gives me a choice of Peppermint or Windows. Therefore I must have a Root File System, right?

Thanks again for the help.

You are correct that your data, Documents, Downloads, Videos, Music and Pictures get stored in each distro. So something you do in P 8, for instance, will only be visible in P 8. And if something should happen to P 8 that can't be fixed and a reinstall is necessary, you lose everything if it wasn't already backed up. With a DATA partition, you don't have to worry about that. If you have P 8 and P 10, or any other distro's home folders symlinked to a DATA partition, you will have everything available to you whether you made it in P 8 or P 10. So you are isolating your files from the distro which is super advantageous. When I first started with Peppermint, I didn't have a clue as to what I was doing, still don't for that matter, and screwed my system up a few times. Since learning about a DATA partition and also about Timeshift, I don't worry about that anymore. I do keep my files backed up because you never know when a hard drive is going to fail. Hope that helps.
Title: Re: Can't choose partition for installation
Post by: alynur on November 19, 2019, 12:28:25 pm
As promised, here is the short tutorial video

https://forum.peppermintos.com/index.php?topic=9040.new#new

Regards Zeb...

That should clear up a lot of confusion. I think you should have thrown in an additional bonus of how to display an extra large output that won't fit in spoiler. I can never remember what that website is that's usually referred to here.  :)
Title: Re: Can't choose partition for installation
Post by: zebedeeboss on November 20, 2019, 02:36:43 am
There are a number out there

Pastebin is the one I usually use

https://pastebin.com/ (https://pastebin.com/)

Regards Zeb...
Title: Re: Can't choose partition for installation
Post by: alynur on November 20, 2019, 10:46:44 am
There are a number out there

Pasetbin is the one I usually use

https://pastebin.com/ (https://pastebin.com/)

Regards Zeb...

Thanks Zeb, I think pastebin is the one I see most here.
Title: Re: Can't choose partition for installation
Post by: RTCarman on November 27, 2019, 11:59:09 am
As usual, you people can be counted on for helpful suggestions. Thank you.  I'm going to enter into aself-training program on GParted and Linux HDD systems. The reason I was trying to put P10 on my main computer was for sound. I installed a new sound card (Soundblaster Zx) and couldn't get sound in my Peppermint OS 8 anymore. This machine, however, has all of my Windows 7 and 10 data from the past 7 yrs. Yes, it is backed up... mostly. Still, I'm a little gun-shy when it comes to fooling around with the HDD structure too much. Things are working pretty good with P8 now, except for the sound. I think I'll get a USB DAC that I can just plug in when I run P8.  The soundcard works great in Win 10.
I have installed P10 on two of my other computers without too much trouble... and it is alongside some other distros. I think I'll take one computer and just fool around with GParted and redoing the HDD setup alot. I have to build up some confidence in working with it all.
Thanks for all your time and input. I have learned a lot from all of you. Thanks also for the video links. They helped considerably also. Well, goota go.
Bye for now - Rich
"Be well, be safe, and be happy."
Title: Re: Can't choose partition for installation
Post by: VinDSL on November 27, 2019, 02:22:25 pm
I'm going to enter into aself-training program on GParted and Linux HDD systems. The reason I was trying to put P10 on my main computer was for sound. I installed a new sound card (Soundblaster Zx) and couldn't get sound in my Peppermint OS 8 anymore.

I was on the hunt for a Sound Blaster Audigy Rx, a while back; but, while I was searching for a smoking deal, I discovered that the general consensus is - the Sound Blaster Z runs circles around the Audigy Rx. So, I put the whole idea on the back burner for the meantime. Got too many irons in the fire, to play around with audio right now.

Anyway, if you get your Blaster Z working, let us know what you did.

And, yes, getting comfortable with GParted is well worth the effort. Personally, I spend more time partitioning a drive in advance, the way I want it, than I do installing PM.

Put another way, when I do a fresh install, all of my effort goes into partitioning the drive(s) correctly PRIOR to installing the operationg system(s). Installing PM, itself, is almost an afterthought   ;)
Title: Re: Can't choose partition for installation
Post by: RTCarman on December 27, 2019, 09:01:20 am
Well the saga of the Multiboot system continues...
I managed to get Pep 10 installed and then updated grub.
So I had 3 OS's in the menu - Peppermint, Windows 10, and Peppermint 10.
Things were working fairly good - UNTIL... I changed my video driver from XORG to NVIDIA.
The video got messed up with my dual monitors. Only 1 monitor comes on in default mode 800x600.
When I go to display settings, it doesn't even see my monitors. I'm thinking NVidia removed some critical files.
So, I went back to the XORG video driver.
However, now I have no sound.  It is not muted and the Sound Settings do not show my speakers as an output.
(I should have left well enough alone.)
  There is a choice for my headphones, but it doesn't work. My sound card is an SB Z card.
If I want to get the Pep 10 back to the original settings at installation, what do I have to do?
Do I format that partition, update-grub, and then re-install it?
There doesn't seem to be a "re-install" option anywhere.
BTW, I am installing from a DVD.
Thanks. - Rich  (Sorry to be a pain in the butt!)
Title: Re: Can't choose partition for installation
Post by: alynur on January 14, 2020, 02:23:34 pm
Hi RTCarman, you would complete a fresh install in the same manner you first installed, it's just a redo. Plus now you know why I always recommend using Timeshift to take a snapshot of my system when things are running good. Look into it.