Peppermint OS Community Forum

Support => Software & Applications => Topic started by: alynur on September 29, 2017, 12:00:11 pm

Title: How do I edit grub menu?(SOLVED)
Post by: alynur on September 29, 2017, 12:00:11 pm
Hello Peppermint people. This is the first time I've had this problem. I prefer Peppermint 8 at the top of my boot menu so I don't have to select it. I have three distros on my hard drive. The last time I ran into this problem I just ran a sudo update-grub while in peppermint 8 and that took care of it. I just recently replaced Linux Mint with Lubuntu and now Lubuntu is the primary no matter how many times I run sudo update-grub from within P8. i installed Grub Customizer but it shows Peppermint ( already on the top of the list. All three distros show "default=0". Any ideas on how to get P8 on top? I'm not very comfortable messing with grub issues, I have a tendency of screwing things up. Thanks guys.  :)
Title: Re: How do I edit grub menu?
Post by: rjm65 on September 29, 2017, 12:08:47 pm
I have used grub customizer in the past and if P8 is showing on the top of it and you save it in grub customizer and install it to the mbr it has always worked for me...  Then again I am putting windows on the top on certain machines... Did you save and install to mbr in grub customizer?
Title: Re: How do I edit grub menu?
Post by: PCNetSpec on September 29, 2017, 12:25:58 pm
I'm guessing you used grub-customiser in Peppermint, where you should have used it in Lubuntu.
Title: Re: How do I edit grub menu?
Post by: alynur on September 29, 2017, 12:46:45 pm
I'm guessing you used grub-customiser in Peppermint, where you should have used it in Lubuntu.

That is exactly what I was doing. I read the article a little deeper and this was mentioned and so I followed it. All is well now. Thanks guys, you guys are just too fast!  ;D
Title: Re: How do I edit grub menu?(SOLVED)
Post by: PCNetSpec on September 29, 2017, 01:48:14 pm
PCNetSpec makes a mental note to be slower in responding to alynur in future >:D
Title: Re: How do I edit grub menu?(SOLVED)
Post by: alynur on September 29, 2017, 05:31:12 pm
 ??? NOooo