Peppermint OS

Support => Advanced Topics => Topic started by: zebedeeboss on June 02, 2017, 02:01:34 pm

Title: Metacity [Solved]
Post by: zebedeeboss on June 02, 2017, 02:01:34 pm
Hi
I followed
Code: [Select]
If you want to test metacity, run:
nohup metacity --replace
(nohup so you can close the terminal without killing metacity and loosing window decorations)
If you want to switch back
xfwm4 --replace
and if you want to make metacity the default, go to
menu > Preferences > Default Applications for LXSession > Core applications (tab)
and change
Window Manager: xfwm4
to
Window Manager: metacity
then log off/on.

and ended up at a command prompt the next time I rebooted

Regards Zeb...
(written from Elementary)
Title: Re: Metacity
Post by: PCNetSpec on June 02, 2017, 02:09:56 pm
Okay go in either in text mode or vi a liveUSB and edit (in your home folder on the system, not the one in the live session)

~/.config/lxsession/Peppermint/desktop.conf

find the line (usually the second line) that starts:-

windows_manager/command=

and make sure it reads:-

windows_manager/command=xfwm4

Save the file, and reboot.
Title: Re: Metacity
Post by: zebedeeboss on June 02, 2017, 02:19:11 pm
BOOM!!!   solved - Thank You

Regards Zeb...

Note to self - stop fekkin about - if you wanna play re-install peppermint elsewhere and do it to that one  :P

Additional note - I edited the file from within Elementary as root (it maybe sheer luck it worked or it might be a valid way to do it)
Title: Re: Metacity [Solved]
Post by: PCNetSpec on June 02, 2017, 02:27:52 pm
I can only assume you misspelled it Zeb .. particularly if you know it worked from the commandline :-\
Title: Re: Metacity [Solved]
Post by: zebedeeboss on June 02, 2017, 02:30:21 pm
it definately worked from the command line as transparancy stopped working

now I know how to fix it I may try it again - or just run it every time I logon  lol

Thanks Again...
Title: Re: Metacity [Solved]
Post by: PCNetSpec on June 02, 2017, 02:49:05 pm
No worries mate :)
Title: Re: Metacity [Solved]
Post by: PCNetSpec on June 02, 2017, 02:52:19 pm
Maybe try making it read
Code: [Select]
windows_manager/command=metacity --replacewhich also works for me.