Peppermint OS Community Forum

Support => Software & Applications => Topic started by: sandstormzach on June 24, 2014, 10:41:43 pm

Title: Chromium Menu Button [SOLVED]
Post by: sandstormzach on June 24, 2014, 10:41:43 pm
Just a quick question about the Chromium menu button.

There's a lower case letter "a" on the button. Does anyone know why that is or if there's a way to remove it?
Title: Re: Chromium Menu Button
Post by: VinDSL on June 24, 2014, 10:46:50 pm
The 'a' means it's an 'aura' build...    ;)
Title: Re: Chromium Menu Button
Post by: VinDSL on June 24, 2014, 10:59:07 pm
Does anyone know why that is or if there's a way to remove it?

I think there's a commit to remove it, on the latest release(s).

If you want, you can patch it yourself:  https://codereview.chromium.org/237963002
Title: Re: Chromium Menu Button
Post by: mac on June 24, 2014, 11:28:18 pm
I thought that had been addressed before the ISO release.  You might want to run in your terminal....
Code: [Select]
apt update && apt upgrade
You could also try ...
Code: [Select]
apt update && apt install --reinstall chromium-browser
This is the ISO and not a beta release, isn't it?
Title: Re: Chromium Menu Button
Post by: VinDSL on June 24, 2014, 11:41:43 pm
I thought the same thing, mac, but...

I did a fresh install, a few minutes ago, and it's a dev build...   ;)


(http://vindsl.com/images/2014-06-24-203545_1280x800_scrot.png)
Title: Re: Chromium Menu Button
Post by: mac on June 24, 2014, 11:50:39 pm
That's interesting.  I would have sworn......
Well, we'll ask PCNetSpec......he'll 'splain it for us.
Title: Re: Chromium Menu Button
Post by: sandstormzach on June 24, 2014, 11:53:24 pm
Thanks for the info, guys.

If I try to patch it myself, what exactly do I do? I've never patched chromium (or any other browser) before...
Title: Re: Chromium Menu Button
Post by: VinDSL on June 24, 2014, 11:58:09 pm
Thanks for the info, guys.

If I try to patch it myself, what exactly do I do? I've never patched chromium (or any other browser) before...

You're welcome.

Er...  If you haven't patched files before, it's probably best not to practice on your browser.

Let's wait for PCNetSpec to add his two-cents...   ;)
Title: Re: Chromium Menu Button
Post by: mac on June 25, 2014, 12:05:42 am
Er............Let's wait for PCNetSpec to add his two-cents...   ;)

Sound advice.  Meanwhile, you might want to read THIS (http://forum.peppermintos.com/index.php/topic,500.msg4219.html#msg4219) and THIS (http://forum.peppermintos.com/index.php/topic,494.0.html)
Title: Re: Chromium Menu Button
Post by: PCNetSpec on June 25, 2014, 04:25:57 am
Nothing really to do with any decision by us .. that's the version of Chromium Ubuntu decided to add to their repositories, so unless we added and maintained a version in our Peppermint specific  repo's, that's what you get, courtesy of Ubuntu.

I agree with you .. I can't understand their wanting to push a dev build unless it's because they really want Aura for some reason .. maybe for testing with Mir as Aura takes some of the work off the graphics sub-systems.or maybe just to keep it "in line" with the current Chrome releases.
(whatever happened to Chromium being ahead of Chrome in development)

Personally I have the occasional graphics glitches with version of Chromium/Chrome that use Googles new Aura graphics engine ,, which is why I wrote the "Downgrade" instructions (to install non-Aura versions).

But if I weren't having those problems, I'd stick with the default version of Chromium .. Google *may* attempt to fix the graphics issues in a later version which would then be pulled in automatically ,, downgrading will mean you're ALWAYS on the same version.

As Ice now supports Chrome as well as Chromium .. why not just install Chrome ? .. and if necessary use the non-Aura version from the "Downgrade" instructions mac linked to
(ie. Use the non-Aura version of Chrome, but keep Chromium at it's current version and see what comes along as far as updates are concerned)

Point is, there ARE options here :)

That said .. if this is "just" about getting rid of the "a" (ie. you're having no other graphics problems), I'd just ignore it ;)
Title: Re: Chromium Menu Button
Post by: VinDSL on June 25, 2014, 06:36:24 am
Whatever happened to Chromium being ahead of Chrome in development [...]

It still is:  https://download-chromium.appspot.com/

You just have to work at it, a little...   :D
Title: Re: Chromium Menu Button
Post by: VinDSL on June 25, 2014, 06:57:07 am
Point is, there ARE options here :)

Yes, there are.

I'm at a loss to explain my choices, but...

With Peppermint, which I use on ALL of my portables, I still prefer to run Maxthon (primary) and Chromium.

On the other hand, on my Ubu desktop box, I prefer to run the Chromium trunk build (primary) and Firefox.

I suppose it doesn't matter which browser is included by default.  Users are going to install whatever they wish.

If I had to choose ONE, it would be the Chromium dev build.  I guess the Ubu devs feel the same way.   ;)
Title: Re: Chromium Menu Button
Post by: sandstormzach on June 25, 2014, 12:16:20 pm
Personally I prefer Firefox or Opera to Chrome/Chromium, but since peppermint has quite a bit of cloud integration, Chrome/Chromium (with all its Google apps) is probably the "right" option. I actually have had a few graphical issues with Chromium since I started this thread, so maybe I'll try downgrading it. If I have any issues/questions with that process I'll ask in the downgrade thread.
Title: Re: Chromium Menu Button
Post by: PCNetSpec on June 25, 2014, 01:22:04 pm
OK, good luck :)
(not that you'll need it)