Peppermint OS Community Forum

Support => New Users => Topic started by: spence on May 21, 2014, 01:40:44 pm

Title: something has changed with Vimeo? [SOLVED]
Post by: spence on May 21, 2014, 01:40:44 pm
I'm having trouble getting sound on vimeo... Using Chromium, the video will play, but no sound comes thru... Using Midori or Seamonkey... the videos return error messages and won't play at all

http://vimeo.com/92058402 (http://vimeo.com/92058402)
Title: Re: something has changed with Vimeo?
Post by: PCNetSpec on May 21, 2014, 02:36:38 pm
Working for me in Firefox.

Did we add the fixed gecko-media-player on your system ?

and have you got pulseaudio installed ?
Title: Re: something has changed with Vimeo?
Post by: spence on May 21, 2014, 02:53:02 pm
no and no...
Title: Re: something has changed with Vimeo?
Post by: PCNetSpec on May 21, 2014, 03:03:49 pm
First thing to try would be to add pulseaudeio:
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get install pulseaudio pulseaudio-utils pavucontrol
and see if that helps ?

{EDIT]

Are you sure we didn't update gecko-mediaplayer ?
http://peppermintos.net/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=6508&hilit=gecko&start=20

what's the output from:
Code: [Select]
dpkg -l | grep gecko-mediaplayer
?
Title: Re: something has changed with Vimeo?
Post by: spence on May 21, 2014, 03:12:06 pm
 whilst pondering what we'd done previously with sound, i decided to  follow the directions in the post "What is it with Shockwave?" as a first step...

http://forum.peppermintos.com/index.php/topic,279.0.html (http://forum.peppermintos.com/index.php/topic,279.0.html) and all is well with Chromium...

Seamonkey gives me an error saying "this plugin is vulnerable and should be updated while Midori still refuses to play..

EDIT ... after pausing the video long enough to post this reply... it no longer plays any sound in Chromium... but does work well in Seamonkey... Midori still nada
Title: Re: something has changed with Vimeo?
Post by: spence on May 21, 2014, 03:21:29 pm
First thing to try would be to add pulseaudeio:
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get install pulseaudio pulseaudio-utils pavucontrol
and see if that helps ?

guess my mind has gone blank about working with geck-mediaplayer previously... would pulse audio be in addition to guayadeque or just anothr layer of sound?



{EDIT]

Are you sure we didn't update gecko-mediaplayer ?
http://peppermintos.net/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=6508&hilit=gecko&start=20

what's the output from:
Code: [Select]
dpkg -l | grep gecko-mediaplayer
?

Code: [Select]
ii  gecko-mediaplayer                     1.0.8-4ubuntu1                           amd64        Multimedia plug-in for Gecko browsers
Title: Re: something has changed with Vimeo?
Post by: PCNetSpec on May 21, 2014, 03:26:09 pm
Well let's undo that
Code: [Select]
rm -v ~/.mozilla/plugins/libflashplayer.so

Now close ALL web browser instances and restart Chromium.  <-- this is important

In chromium, go to
chrome://plugins
and tell us which version of Shockwave Flash is listed as enabled.

Pulseaudio is NOT a media player .. it's a sound server.
Title: Re: something has changed with Vimeo?
Post by: spence on May 21, 2014, 03:38:48 pm
there is no specific listing for shockwave... however there is this:
Code: [Select]
mplayerplug-in is now gecko-mediaplayer 1.0.8 
Gecko Media Player 1.0.8

Video Player Plug-in for QuickTime, RealPlayer and Windows Media Player streams using MPlayer
Title: Re: something has changed with Vimeo?
Post by: PCNetSpec on May 21, 2014, 03:45:12 pm
OK, can you post the output from:
Code: [Select]
dpkg -l | grep flash
and tell me if there is any output from:
Code: [Select]
cat /proc/cpuinfo | grep sse2

[EDIT]

Can you also run:
Code: [Select]
sudo updatedb
then post the output (if any) from:
Code: [Select]
locate libpepflashplayer.so
Title: Re: something has changed with Vimeo?
Post by: spence on May 21, 2014, 03:52:41 pm
reopening this page i get a "Adobe Flash Player is required..." since the video is linked

OK, can you post the output from:
Code: [Select]
dpkg -l | grep flash

no output

and tell me if there is any output from:
Code: [Select]
cat /proc/cpuinfo | grep sse2

Code: [Select]
flags		: fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt pdpe1gb rdtscp lm 3dnowext 3dnow constant_tsc rep_good nopl nonstop_tsc extd_apicid aperfmperf pni monitor cx16 popcnt lahf_lm cmp_legacy svm extapic cr8_legacy abm sse4a misalignsse 3dnowprefetch osvw ibs skinit wdt arat cpb hw_pstate npt lbrv svm_lock nrip_save pausefilter
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt pdpe1gb rdtscp lm 3dnowext 3dnow constant_tsc rep_good nopl nonstop_tsc extd_apicid aperfmperf pni monitor cx16 popcnt lahf_lm cmp_legacy svm extapic cr8_legacy abm sse4a misalignsse 3dnowprefetch osvw ibs skinit wdt arat cpb hw_pstate npt lbrv svm_lock nrip_save pausefilter

no output from locate libpepflashplayer.so
Title: Re: something has changed with Vimeo?
Post by: PCNetSpec on May 21, 2014, 03:58:06 pm
OK, run:
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get install --reinstall flashplugin-installer
then close ALL web browser instances and reopen Chromium.

Does the above Vimeo video work now ?
Title: Re: something has changed with Vimeo?
Post by: spence on May 21, 2014, 04:09:16 pm
video and sound  both work in Chromium, video only works in Seamonkey, nothing works in Midori
Title: Re: something has changed with Vimeo?
Post by: PCNetSpec on May 21, 2014, 04:15:30 pm
I take it the volume bars are all light up in the vimeo video bar ?

and gecko-mediaplayer is enabled in Seamonkey ?
Title: Re: something has changed with Vimeo?
Post by: spence on May 21, 2014, 04:23:32 pm
yes all all bars light up in vimeo ... gecko-mediaplay 1.0.8 appears all over the place in helper applications... but not for SWF...
Title: Re: something has changed with Vimeo?
Post by: PCNetSpec on May 21, 2014, 04:39:10 pm
so in Seamonkey if you go to
about:plugins

you don't see these

video/x-flv   Flash Video   flv
video/flv   Flash Video   flv

under the
mplayerplug-in is now gecko-mediaplayer 1.0.8
Title: Re: something has changed with Vimeo?
Post by: spence on May 21, 2014, 04:46:43 pm
yes they appear, but i hadta reboot to make the change work in Seamonkey, video and sound both work in Chromium and Seamonkey... none of this has changed the non-working Midori... which i'm just gonna delete... based on old firefox code methinks...

EDIT Midori is a webkit based browser, not a re-iteration of Firefox as I'd previously stated...
Title: Re: something has changed with Vimeo? [SOLVED]
Post by: PCNetSpec on May 21, 2014, 04:55:43 pm
Okey dokkey .. thanks for marking the topic solved :)

I know sod all about Midori, so probably wouldn't have been much help anyway.
Title: Re: something has changed with Vimeo? [SOLVED]
Post by: spence on May 21, 2014, 05:18:06 pm
installing a newer version and will scan their faqs...
Code: [Select]
http://midori-browser.org/about/
thanks once again for all your patient help...
Title: Re: something has changed with Vimeo? [SOLVED]
Post by: PCNetSpec on May 21, 2014, 05:52:20 pm
spence, you're always welcome .. in fact I was beginning to wonder what had happened to you and your green posts :)
Title: Re: something has changed with Vimeo? [SOLVED]
Post by: spence on May 22, 2014, 03:42:16 pm
i just use green to distinguish between my questions and others responses, plus its easier on my eyes.. As for my absence, I've been on the east coast attending to an injured black hole otherwise known as Momma... no time for internets.

as a followup, I'm not sure why you suggested pulse audio installation first?
Title: Re: something has changed with Vimeo? [SOLVED]
Post by: PCNetSpec on May 22, 2014, 06:15:27 pm
I didn't actually think it would help in this case .. but it's something I suggest as a first step with ANY audio problem .. in fact I think it should be installed by default ;)
Title: Re: something has changed with Vimeo? [SOLVED]
Post by: VinDSL on May 22, 2014, 06:17:59 pm
I think it should be installed by default ;)

Got my vote.  :)
Title: Re: something has changed with Vimeo? [SOLVED]
Post by: spence on May 23, 2014, 01:04:02 pm
i don't play music from my laptop, i gave up on that after the long struggle to find iPod management software... none were to my liking... so i see no reason to install pulse audio on my machine

http://peppermintos.net/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=4467 (http://peppermintos.net/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=4467)
Title: Re: something has changed with Vimeo? [SOLVED]
Post by: PCNetSpec on May 23, 2014, 01:07:25 pm
Pulseaudio is a sound server .. NOT a media player.

I'm willing to bet we've already installed it at some point anyway spence ;)
Title: Re: something has changed with Vimeo? [SOLVED]
Post by: spence on May 23, 2014, 01:23:21 pm
Code: [Select]
spence@pavilionG6 ~ $ locate pulseaudio
/usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/pulseaudio
/usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/pulseaudio/libpulsecommon-3.0.so
/usr/share/alsa/alsa.conf.d/50-pulseaudio.conf
/usr/share/alsa/alsa.conf.d/99-pulseaudio-default.conf.example
/usr/share/app-install/desktop/projectm-pulseaudio:projectM-pulseaudio.desktop
/usr/share/doc/gstreamer0.10-pulseaudio
/usr/share/doc/gstreamer0.10-pulseaudio/AUTHORS
/usr/share/doc/gstreamer0.10-pulseaudio/NEWS.gz
/usr/share/doc/gstreamer0.10-pulseaudio/README.Debian
/usr/share/doc/gstreamer0.10-pulseaudio/README.gz
/usr/share/doc/gstreamer0.10-pulseaudio/changelog.Debian.gz
/usr/share/doc/gstreamer0.10-pulseaudio/copyright
/usr/share/locale-langpack/en_AU/LC_MESSAGES/pulseaudio.mo
/usr/share/locale-langpack/en_CA/LC_MESSAGES/pulseaudio.mo
/usr/share/locale-langpack/en_GB/LC_MESSAGES/pulseaudio.mo
/var/lib/dpkg/info/gstreamer0.10-pulseaudio:amd64.list
/var/lib/dpkg/info/gstreamer0.10-pulseaudio:amd64.md5sums