Peppermint OS Community Forum

Support => Installation => Topic started by: Dermek on September 27, 2015, 12:04:40 pm

Title: Problem with based distros in ubuntu and arch
Post by: Dermek on September 27, 2015, 12:04:40 pm
Hello friends first of all apologize for my terrible translation as my mother tongue is Spanish
My problem is this in almost all distros like Ubuntu , Xubuntu , etc. Manjaro I happens thanks for your time
(http://s30.postimg.org/qi5o7p70x/Screenshot_2015_09_27_10_57_41.png)
(https://i.imgur.com/PrBOKBy.jpg)
Title: Re: Problem with based distros in ubuntu and arch
Post by: VinDSL on September 27, 2015, 01:08:18 pm
Do you mean the disconnect or the wallpaper ?
Title: Re: Problem with based distros in ubuntu and arch
Post by: scifidude79 on September 27, 2015, 03:22:46 pm
Probably the wallpaper, because that's not how it's supposed to look.  It's an odd issue for sure.   :-\
Title: Re: Problem with based distros in ubuntu and arch
Post by: perknh on September 27, 2015, 04:03:33 pm
Do think that Dermek's computer could be having a resolution problem?  Could his issue be fixed that way?  This is something I've never needed to do, I might add.

@Demek

Hi/Hola Demek,

I have an idea, Demek.  (Tengo una idea.) Go to your Wallpapers and change the Wallpaper setting to Zoomed, and then try every Wallpaper setting until you see if this can fix this problem.  (Vaya a tu fodo de los escritorios, y cambiar la configuracion a "Zoomed", entonces probar todas las configuraciones hasta tú puedes ver si este puede reparar este problema.)

I don't know if this will fix this problem, but it's worth a try!  (No se si esta solucion va a reparar tu problema, pero vale la pena.  Este es tan fácil para probar.)

And, sorry for my Spanish.  I almost never write it.  (Lo siento para mi español!  Casi nunca escribirlo.)

perknh
Title: Re: Problem with based distros in ubuntu and arch
Post by: VinDSL on September 27, 2015, 04:16:00 pm
I work with a guy that (for instance) will save a 350x200 graphic that he likes (usually a sports team) and he'll use it for his wall.

Looks similar to that pic...
Title: Re: Problem with based distros in ubuntu and arch
Post by: perknh on September 27, 2015, 04:53:21 pm
LXDE and Xfce are both wonderful DEs.  Believe it or not, Xfce is about 20 years old, and it's still terrific.
Title: Re: Problem with based distros in ubuntu and arch
Post by: Dermek on September 27, 2015, 05:25:57 pm
Not solved :( All wallpapers downloaded ,system and have the same problem
Title: Re: Problem with based distros in ubuntu and arch
Post by: Dermek on September 27, 2015, 05:28:17 pm
(http://s12.postimg.org/yskva35vx/Screenshot_2015_09_27_16_26_59.png) the problem persist
Title: Re: Problem with based distros in ubuntu and arch
Post by: perknh on September 27, 2015, 05:32:07 pm
Sorry to hear that, Dermek.  Let's wait and see if somebody else has another idea.

--perknh
Title: Re: Problem with based distros in ubuntu and arch
Post by: PCNetSpec on September 27, 2015, 06:45:32 pm
what's the output from:
Code: [Select]
inxi -F

[EDIT]

NOTE:-


The original image linked to here:
http://s30.postimg.org/qi5o7p70x/Screenshot_2015_09_27_10_57_41.png
and wasn't displaying in the forum for me .. but if I went to that link it did display.

That confused me for a while until I tried to download the image .. it downloaded as a jpeg .. so it  had the wrong extension  :-\

I've fixed it by downloading the image, changing the extension to .jpg then uploading it to imgur, then re-linking it in the first post

you're not downloading your wallpapers and saving them with the wrong extension are you ?
Title: Re: Problem with based distros in ubuntu and arch
Post by: scifidude79 on September 27, 2015, 07:03:41 pm
I think downloading it to the wrong extension would make it not work at all.  That's always been the case for me.  Besides, the one in the first post is the default Xubuntu wallpaper, not a downloaded one.

I'm curious to see the inxi -F results, to see what kind of hardware Dermek is using, particularly the GPU.  Odds are better than average that it's a driver or resolution issue.
Title: Re: Problem with based distros in ubuntu and arch
Post by: Dermek on September 27, 2015, 09:17:45 pm
PCNETSPEC this is result for command

Code: [Select]
System:    Host: Tux Kernel: 3.19.0-15-generic x86_64 (64 bit)
           Desktop: Xfce 4.12.0 Distro: Ubuntu 15.04 vivid
Machine:   System: Hewlett-Packard product: HP Compaq 8000 Elite USDT PC
           Mobo: Hewlett-Packard model: 3648h
           Bios: Hewlett-Packard v: 786G7 v01.02 date: 10/22/2009
CPU:       Dual core Intel Core2 Duo E7500 (-MCP-) cache: 3072 KB
           clock speeds: max: 2933 MHz 1: 2128 MHz 2: 2933 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Intel 4 Series Integrated Graphics Controller
           Display Server: X.Org 1.17.1 drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1366x768@59.8hz
           GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Q45/Q43 GLX Version: 2.1 Mesa 10.5.2
Audio:     Card Intel 82801JD/DO (ICH10 Family) HD Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k3.19.0-15-generic
Network:   Card-1: Intel 82567LM-3 Gigabit Network Connection driver: e1000e
           IF: eth0 state: down mac: 18:a9:05:f5:13:fd
           Card-2: Atheros AR9271 802.11n driver: ath9k_htc
           IF: wlan0 state: N/A mac: N/A
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 250.1GB (2.2% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: Hitachi_HTS72502 size: 250.1GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 37G used: 3.1G (9%) fs: xfs dev: /dev/sda6
           ID-2: /home size: 49G used: 130M (1%) fs: xfs dev: /dev/sda7
           ID-3: /boot size: 1.7G used: 71M (5%) fs: xfs dev: /dev/sda8
           ID-4: swap-1 size: 2.00GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda5
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 40.0C mobo: N/A
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 186 Uptime: 2 min Memory: 672.7/4831.9MB
           Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.2.16
brandom@Tux:~$
Title: Re: Problem with based distros in ubuntu and arch
Post by: AndyInMokum on September 28, 2015, 12:59:31 am
Hi Dermek, how's it going?  Could you please remember to encapsulate terminal outputs with the, # Insert Code function.  It preserves the original format of the output.  This function is found above the,  :-[ Embarrassed emoticon in the forum editor.  I've done this for you this time - many thanks  ;).
Title: Re: Problem with based distros in ubuntu and arch
Post by: PCNetSpec on September 28, 2015, 04:57:52 am
Duplicate thread deleted .. please don't double post about the same issue .. thanks in advance :)

Are you keeping your home folder from another distro ? .. if so, does it happen if you create a new fresh account ?

Why are you running the 3.19 kernel ? .. and which distro/version is this ?

Have you tried disabling compositing ?
Title: Re: Problem with based distros in ubuntu and arch
Post by: Dermek on September 28, 2015, 06:17:44 pm
Code: [Select]
inux Tux 3.19.0-15-generic #15-Ubuntu SMP Thu Apr 16 23:32:37 UTC 2015 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux
Title: Re: Problem with based distros in ubuntu and arch
Post by: sskarma on September 29, 2015, 08:37:33 am
Hola amigo, just saying but have you checked the resolution of the image before setting it as wallpaper? Are you sure you aren't setting a lower resolution image (say 400x400) as wallpaper? because your display (icons and OSD) looks fine to me. Only your wallpapers are broken. Please check the resolution and image size of an image before setting it as wallpaper and make sure if it's okay. Gracias