Author Topic: Bootup issues (I think I deleted or downloaded something to mess it up)  (Read 202 times)

Offline YorkSmith

• Newly Subscribed
  • New To PeppermintOS
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
New linux user. Peppermint 10 is my only experience and I downloaded from USB to a windows HP Lenovo machine that windows had failed on and Peppermint worked like a charm. I am an options trader so I worked on getting my trading platforms onto my new OS and it took a little maneuvering with one of them (TDAmeritrade's Thinkorswim) but I got it on the machine today and it was working well.  I went into my downloads to "clean up" things because I'd downloaded several things (java type applications i think) trying to get thinkorswim to install. On a reboot this afternoon, Peppermint did not boot like it has since my initial install.

Instead of booting and taking me to my Peppermint desktop, it went to a GNU GRUB version 2.02 MENU with three options: Peppermint GNU/Linux; Advanced options for GNU/Linux; and System setup.

"system setup" takes me back to the SMART hard disk error on my HP machine that inspired my migration to LInux in the first place:

"Peppermint GNU/Linux"  will take me to the startup screen and take my admin pw to boot Peppermint but after keying in the pw, I'm taken to what looks like an old msDOS screen or a full screen terminal that has this:

BusyBox v1.27.2 (Ubuntu 1:1.27.2-2ubuntu3.2) built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built_in commends.

(initramfs) _

I can enter 'reboot' here and it will but I'm going in circles...

The "Advanced options for Peppermint GNU/Linux"  takes me to another menu with four options:

Peppermint GNU/Linux, with Linux 5.3.0-53-generic
""""  (recovery mode)
Peppermint GNU/Linux, with Linux 5.0.0-37-generic
"""" (recovery mode)

Those options end up taking me to the same (initramfs) _ message as mentioned above...