Author Topic: Sometimes Pepeprmint 10 does not detect 2nd monitor (HDMI)  (Read 412 times)

Offline sdgengineer

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 79
  • Karma: 5
  • Forum User
    • View Profile
    • Scott Gardner PE
  • Peppermint version(s): 1, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 9, 10
Sometimes Pepeprmint 10 does not detect 2nd monitor (HDMI)
« on: April 18, 2020, 08:24:07 am »
Hello

I have been using Peppermint 10 on this computer for about 6 months.  Sometimes on boot up it does not detect my second monitor:   Here is the result of running inxi -Fxz

System:    Host: scott-Pprmnt10 Kernel: 5.3.0-45-generic x86_64 bits: 64 gcc: 7.5.0
           Desktop: N/A Distro: Peppermint Ten
Machine:   Device: desktop System: Gigabyte product: H370HD3 serial: N/A
           Mobo: Gigabyte model: H370 HD3-CF v: x.x serial: N/A
           UEFI: American Megatrends v: F4 date: 07/13/2018
CPU:       6 core Intel Core i5-8400 (-MCP-) arch: Skylake rev.10 cache: 9216 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 33599
           clock speeds: max: 4000 MHz 1: 800 MHz 2: 800 MHz 3: 800 MHz 4: 800 MHz
           5: 800 MHz 6: 800 MHz
Graphics:  Card: NVIDIA GP108 [GeForce GT 1030] bus-ID: 01:00.0
           Display Server: x11 (X.Org 1.20.5 )
           drivers: nvidia (unloaded: modesetting,fbdev,vesa,nouveau)
           Resolution: 1920x1080@60.00hz, 1920x1080@60.00hz
           OpenGL: renderer: GeForce GT 1030/PCIe/SSE2
           version: 4.6.0 NVIDIA 440.82 Direct Render: Yes
Audio:     Card-1 Intel Cannon Lake PCH cAVS driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1f.3
           Card-2 NVIDIA GP108 High Def. Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 01:00.1
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k5.3.0-45-generic
Network:   Card: Intel Ethernet Connection (7) I219-V
           driver: e1000e v: 3.2.6-k bus-ID: 00:1f.6
           IF: eno1 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 1287.8GB (3.9% used)
           ID-1: /dev/nvme0n1 model: Samsung_SSD_970_EVO_500GB size: 500.1GB
           ID-2: /dev/sda model: Samsung_SSD_860 size: 500.1GB
           ID-3: /dev/sdb model: SPCC_Solid_State size: 256.1GB
           ID-4: USB /dev/sdc model: Cruzer_Dial size: 31.5GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 458G used: 47G (11%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/nvme0n1p1
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 29.0C mobo: N/A gpu: 0.0:45C
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 261 Uptime: 32 min Memory: 2052.4/15946.6MB
           Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 7.5.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.4.201) inxi: 2.3.56

I normally run the Nvidia metapackage from nvidia 440 open source for my display driver.

The problem is intermitent.  Sometimes it will go several days without reoccuring.  Since I must switch between WIn 10, and peppermint 10 and peppermint 9 I reboot this computer often. I would like to be able to fix it without rebooting.  Once it is in the correct mode it seems to work fine.  When it defaults to the single screen mode and I run ARAndR it only shows the single screen and the display defaults to 1024 x 768.  This problem never happens when I boot on Win 10.  This leads me to believe it is a software vice hardware problem. 

Any ideas?  would I be better off using the X.Org X server Noveau display driver?  I am very comfortable using teh terminal, if that helps.

Thanks for any advice
« Last Edit: April 18, 2020, 08:43:21 am by sdgengineer »
No Job is impossible for the  person who doesn't have to do it!

Offline cavy

  • Trusted User
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 477
  • Karma: 97
  • Caveman
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint Ten
Re: Sometimes Pepeprmint 10 does not detect 2nd monitor (HDMI)
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2020, 12:44:14 pm »
Hi sdgengineer,

Lets start with the basics. It's gonna be a process of elimination. Then some one with more experience of dual monitor set up will be better placed to help you.   ;)

Have you checked your HDMI cables for damage, plugged in properly, i.e had a tug and not fully seated in the port.?

Have any of your HDMI cables been previously used with an older machine, this can impair quality.

How are you connecting the two monitor to your desktop.

My search of your Graphic card: https://www.geforce.com/hardware/desktop-gpus/geforce-gt-1030/product-images indicates a low profile card with one HDMI and one DVI port, only.

Your mobo being 8th gen, would need the graphic card to be at least GDDR5 spec.

Please format your inxi printout for legibility, right-click on your inxi text, then click on the Preformated text symbol, which is above the G symbol in the toolbar. It then formats it to how it looks in your terminal.

regards cavy   :D
“We know what we are, but not what we may be.”

Various machines to sample the delights of Linux

Offline sdgengineer

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 79
  • Karma: 5
  • Forum User
    • View Profile
    • Scott Gardner PE
  • Peppermint version(s): 1, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 9, 10
Re: Sometimes Pepeprmint 10 does not detect 2nd monitor (HDMI)
« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2020, 10:27:21 pm »
Thanks

I verified the cables were connected tightly.  They were bought less than 2 years ago.  One of my monitors is connected by the DVI connector.  The one that occaisonally doesn't display is an HDMI connector.  Both are identical ACER 20" monitors.

Reformatted output below. 

Code: [Select]
System:    Host: scott-Pprmnt10 Kernel: 5.3.0-45-generic x86_64 bits: 64 gcc: 7.5.0
           Desktop: N/A Distro: Peppermint Ten
Machine:   Device: desktop System: Gigabyte product: H370HD3 serial: N/A
           Mobo: Gigabyte model: H370 HD3-CF v: x.x serial: N/A
           UEFI: American Megatrends v: F4 date: 07/13/2018
CPU:       6 core Intel Core i5-8400 (-MCP-) arch: Skylake rev.10 cache: 9216 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 33599
           clock speeds: max: 4000 MHz 1: 800 MHz 2: 800 MHz 3: 800 MHz 4: 800 MHz
           5: 800 MHz 6: 800 MHz
Graphics:  Card: NVIDIA GP108 [GeForce GT 1030] bus-ID: 01:00.0
           Display Server: x11 (X.Org 1.20.5 )
           drivers: nvidia (unloaded: modesetting,fbdev,vesa,nouveau)
           Resolution: 1920x1080@60.00hz, 1920x1080@60.00hz
           OpenGL: renderer: GeForce GT 1030/PCIe/SSE2
           version: 4.6.0 NVIDIA 440.82 Direct Render: Yes
Audio:     Card-1 Intel Cannon Lake PCH cAVS driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1f.3
           Card-2 NVIDIA GP108 High Def. Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 01:00.1
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k5.3.0-45-generic
Network:   Card: Intel Ethernet Connection (7) I219-V
           driver: e1000e v: 3.2.6-k bus-ID: 00:1f.6
           IF: eno1 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 1287.8GB (3.9% used)
           ID-1: /dev/nvme0n1 model: Samsung_SSD_970_EVO_500GB size: 500.1GB
           ID-2: /dev/sda model: Samsung_SSD_860 size: 500.1GB
           ID-3: /dev/sdb model: SPCC_Solid_State size: 256.1GB
           ID-4: USB /dev/sdc model: Cruzer_Dial size: 31.5GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 458G used: 47G (11%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/nvme0n1p1
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 29.0C mobo: N/A gpu: 0.0:45C
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 261 Uptime: 32 min Memory: 2052.4/15946.6MB
           Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 7.5.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.4.201) inxi: 2.3.56
« Last Edit: April 20, 2020, 02:39:29 pm by spence »
No Job is impossible for the  person who doesn't have to do it!

Offline sdgengineer

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 79
  • Karma: 5
  • Forum User
    • View Profile
    • Scott Gardner PE
  • Peppermint version(s): 1, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 9, 10
Re: Sometimes Pepeprmint 10 does not detect 2nd monitor (HDMI)
« Reply #3 on: May 18, 2020, 07:47:19 pm »
This is a very intermittent problem.  WHen it defaults to one monitor It cannot "Find" the other monitor and defaults to a low res mode, 1024 x 768.  It will not happen for several days, and then will happen rebooting may or may not fix it.  If I shut it down and restart it, that usually fixes it..
No Job is impossible for the  person who doesn't have to do it!