Author Topic: Can't install Peppermint 10 on HP Elitebook (SOLVED)  (Read 195 times)

Offline Littlelegs

• Newly Subscribed
  • New To PeppermintOS
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 10
Can't install Peppermint 10 on HP Elitebook (SOLVED)
« on: March 31, 2020, 10:44:56 am »
I have built a USB with peppermint 10 on and can run this on the HP no problem  But when I try and install to the hard disk it does not even get to the screen saying its installing and to wait.  The cursor changes to show its doing something and I can still us the system but never installs to the hard disk. I have tried re-partitioning,  re formatting, letting the install format and not hing happens.  I have seen an error sometimes that says something about an error 10.

Can I send you logs to to see what is happening.  I also see some errors sometime flash up on the screen but they disappear to quickly to see what they are.
I am new to Linux so will need some guidance to locate files.

« Last Edit: April 03, 2020, 06:17:31 pm by Littlelegs »

Offline stevesveryown

• Trusted User
  • Peppermint Fan
    • View Profile
    • stevesveryown
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Can't install Peppermint 10 on HP Elitebook
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2020, 09:14:49 pm »
I have Peppermint installed on an HP Elitebook and it has installed with no problem.  Until one of the more knowledgeable members come around let me ask, How about your hard drive.  What was the last OS installed on it and how did it run?  Any issues with it?  When I first got into Linux, using an Asus eeepc, I had issues installing because it was a bad hard drive.
On the Pepp usb, what program did you use to make it?  Where did you download it from?  In my experience the live version would run well but installation would not always go right because something in the iso I downloaded was messed up.

Online Slim.Fatz

• Global Moderator
  • Veteran
  • Where's the mouse?
    • View Profile