Choose style:

Author Topic: monitor resolution  (Read 199 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline MarkJimenez

  • Newly Subscribed
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 10
monitor resolution
« on: March 20, 2020, 01:31:48 am »
I have just installed version 10 on an ASUS notebook from the early 2000's. Whist installing and testing via live OS there was a very high resolution screen used. After installing there is only a low resolution screen available with no options for changing the resolution. Same hardware! ?

Offline Slim.Fatz

  • Global Moderator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1992
  • Karma: 524
  • Where's the mouse?
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 7, 8.5 & 10 - 64bit
Re: monitor resolution
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2020, 04:18:35 am »
Hi MarkJimenez,

Open the peppermint-settings-panel (found in the menu). Then in the window that opens, click on the button on the left side named Hardware. Then in the upper-right corner a button named Display appears. Click on it and see if you are able to set your display resolution as you would like it to be.

Regards,

-- Slim

P.S.
If this resolves your issue, please go back to your first message and add (SOLVED) to the end of the Subject: line.  ;)
"Life first -- Peppermint a close 2nd!" -- Zeb

Tread lightly: Fluxbox, JWM, i3, Openbox, awesome

Offline MarkJimenez

  • Newly Subscribed
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 10
Re: monitor resolution
« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2020, 06:41:08 am »
Not solved.  There is no hardware in settings, but when I did find hardware it took me to the monitor panel, where I had already tried to change settings. Unfortunately, there are no choices, so the only available resolution is the present low and unsatisfactory one. As per my original query, the monitor is capable of higher resolution, but it is presently not being offered as an alternative by the OS. Thanks anyway.

Offline MarkJimenez

  • Newly Subscribed
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 10
Re: monitor resolution
« Reply #3 on: March 20, 2020, 07:28:04 am »
The plot thickens. I plugged in a second screen via VGA and rebooted. Lo and behold, the resolution on both screens instantly became high!!!!! When checked in the settings there was an option for various resolution suddenly available. Unfortunately when the second screen was uplugged and the system rebooted, the problem
 returned?????????

Offline Howling Wolf

  • Newly Subscribed
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: 5
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 10
Re: monitor resolution
« Reply #4 on: March 20, 2020, 09:50:33 am »
Hi,
one of my computers is also an older Asus - K50LJ With new new kernels I had poor resolution and no Wifi at all. The only solution was to check earlier kernel versions. For me 4.18.0-21 generic x86_64 solved the problem so I had to stick to it. Hope it will help you also.

Offline Slim.Fatz

  • Global Moderator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1992
  • Karma: 524
  • Where's the mouse?
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 7, 8.5 & 10 - 64bit
Re: monitor resolution
« Reply #5 on: March 20, 2020, 11:20:41 am »
Hi MarkJimenez,

Open a terminal and enter:

Code: [Select]
peppermint-settings-panel
on the left edge is a list of items. From top to bottom: User, Tweaks, Hardware, Network and System. Click on Hardware. Or is that option not present? If, it is present and you click on it, but the next step (clicking on Display) gives you no options to change resolution, then try clicking on ARAndR (rather than Display). In the window that opens click on Outputs and then on the active output that is listed go to Resolution and see if alternate resolution values are offered.

If Hardware is not offered in the peppermint-settings-panel, open a terminal and enter directly:

Code: [Select]
arandr
and continue as above.

Regards,

-- Slim
"Life first -- Peppermint a close 2nd!" -- Zeb

Tread lightly: Fluxbox, JWM, i3, Openbox, awesome

Offline alynur

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1149
  • Karma: 83
  • Habitual Forum Browser
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P 9R (64bit), P 10
Re: monitor resolution
« Reply #6 on: March 20, 2020, 02:19:30 pm »
Hi Markjimenez, welcome to Peppermint. Have you completed all the updates and upgrades after installation? Could you give us your terminal output of
Code: [Select]
inxi -Fz
?
What was I thinking?

Offline MarkJimenez

  • Newly Subscribed
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 10
Re: monitor resolution
« Reply #7 on: March 20, 2020, 08:04:53 pm »
inxi-Fz returns no command found
inxi returns as follows
CPU Single core Intel Celeron (-UP-)  :  Speed 2800MHz (max)  :  Kernel 5.3.0-42 generic i686  : Up 11min  :  Mem 228.0/1050.0MB  :  HDD 40.0GB (16.6% used)  :  Procs -143  :  Client  -Shell  :  Inxi-2.3.56

Thanks for all the help

Offline clatterfordslim

  • Trusted User
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 525
  • Karma: 93
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10, Nine Respin 2
Re: monitor resolution
« Reply #8 on: March 21, 2020, 05:38:11 am »
When people have problems on very old hardware, it makes me wonder if Mark should of made a Peppermint 10 version with just the 415 kernel selection as well as the 5.0 kernel. There is a way around it, but involves installing Peppermint 9 then upgrading to 10 and then upgrading to 10 re-spin. I have done this myself and it works flawlessly.
Spoiler (click here to view / hide)
Code: [Select]
System:    Host: Pepten Kernel: 4.15.0-92-generic x86_64 bits: 64 gcc: 7.5.0
           Desktop: N/A Distro: Peppermint Ten
Machine:   Device: desktop Mobo: ASRock model: B450M Pro4 serial: N/A
           UEFI [Legacy]: American Megatrends v: P1.10 date: 06/19/2018
CPU:       6 core AMD Ryzen 5 2600 Six-Core (-MT-MCP-)
           arch: Zen rev.2 cache: 3072 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 svm) bmips: 40717
           clock speeds: max: 3400 MHz 1: 1376 MHz 2: 1448 MHz 3: 1375 MHz
           4: 1462 MHz 5: 1375 MHz 6: 1375 MHz 7: 1691 MHz 8: 1675 MHz 9: 1701 MHz
           10: 1682 MHz 11: 1799 MHz 12: 1560 MHz
Graphics:  Card: NVIDIA Device 2184 bus-ID: 23:00.0
           Display Server: x11 (X.Org 1.19.6 ) driver: nvidia
           Resolution: 1920x1080@60.00hz
           OpenGL: renderer: GeForce GTX 1660/PCIe/SSE2
           version: 4.6.0 NVIDIA 435.21 Direct Render: Yes
Audio:     Card-1 Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 17h (Models 00h-0fh) HD Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 25:00.3
           Card-2 NVIDIA Device 1aeb driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 23:00.1
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.15.0-92-generic
Network:   Card: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCIE Gigabit Ethernet Controller
           driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: f000 bus-ID: 1f:00.0
           IF: enp31s0 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 3500.7GB (1.1% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: CT1000MX500SSD1 size: 1000.2GB
           ID-2: /dev/sdb model: WDC_WDS500G2B0A size: 500.1GB
           ID-3: /dev/sdc model: SanDisk_SSD_PLUS size: 1000.2GB
           ID-4: /dev/sdd model: SanDisk_SSD_PLUS size: 1000.2GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 916G used: 12G (2%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sdc1
           ID-2: /home size: 916G used: 25G (3%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sdd1
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 28.5C mobo: N/A gpu: 0.0:24C
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Repos:     Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list
           deb http://gb.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ bionic main restricted
           deb http://gb.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ bionic-updates main restricted
           deb http://gb.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ bionic universe
           deb http://gb.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ bionic-updates universe
           deb http://gb.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ bionic multiverse
           deb http://gb.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ bionic-updates multiverse
           deb http://gb.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ bionic-backports main restricted universe multiverse
           deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu bionic-security main restricted
           deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu bionic-security universe
           deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu bionic-security multiverse
           deb http://gb.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ bionic-proposed universe multiverse restricted main
           Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/audio-recorder-ubuntu-ppa-bionic.list
           deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/audio-recorder/ppa/ubuntu bionic main
           Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/gottcode-ubuntu-gcppa-bionic.list
           deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/gottcode/gcppa/ubuntu bionic main
           Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/osmoma-ubuntu-audio-recorder-bionic.list
           deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/osmoma/audio-recorder/ubuntu bionic main
           Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/peppermint.list
           deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/peppermintos/p10-release/ubuntu bionic main
           deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/peppermintos/p10-respin/ubuntu bionic main
Info:      Processes: 266 Uptime: 20 min Memory: 901.4/16034.7MB
           Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 7.5.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.4.201) inxi: 2.3.56
[close]

Upgrading to p10 from p9 https://forum.peppermintos.com/index.php/topic,8442.0.html
Upgrading from p10 to p10 Re-Spin https://forum.peppermintos.com/index.php/topic,9208.msg93196/topicseen.html#msg93196

Yes it takes about an hour to do, but it can be done.  :D
Not only is Peppermint an addictive OS to use.
But so is this Forum :)

Offline Slim.Fatz

  • Global Moderator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1992
  • Karma: 524
  • Where's the mouse?
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 7, 8.5 & 10 - 64bit
Re: monitor resolution
« Reply #9 on: March 21, 2020, 08:02:03 am »
inxi-Fz returns no command found
Hi MarkJimenez,

You did not enter the command correctly. It is best to highlight the command, copy it and paste it into the terminal:

Code: [Select]
inxi -Fz
needs a space before the -Fz;)

Regards,

-- Slim
"Life first -- Peppermint a close 2nd!" -- Zeb

Tread lightly: Fluxbox, JWM, i3, Openbox, awesome

Offline MarkJimenez

  • Newly Subscribed
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 10
Re: monitor resolution
« Reply #10 on: March 21, 2020, 05:52:38 pm »
Viola!
mark@mark-A4L ~ $ inxi -Fz
System:    Host: mark-A4L Kernel: 5.3.0-42-generic i686 bits: 32 Desktop: N/A
           Distro: Peppermint Ten
Machine:   Device: laptop System: ASUSTeK product: A4L v: 1.0 serial: N/A
           Mobo: ASUSTeK model: A4L v: 1.0 serial: N/A
           BIOS: American Megatrends v: 0213 date: 11/30/2004
CPU:       Single core Intel Celeron (-UP-) cache: 256 KB speed: 2800 MHz (max)
Graphics:  Card: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] 661/741/760 PCI/AGP or 662/761Gx PCIE VGA Display Adapter
           Display Server: x11 (X.Org 1.20.5 )
           drivers: fbdev (unloaded: modesetting,vesa)
           Resolution: 1280x768@76.00hz
           OpenGL: renderer: llvmpipe (LLVM 9.0, 128 bits) version: 3.3 Mesa 19.2.8
Audio:     Card Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] SiS7012 AC'97 Sound Controller
           driver: snd_intel8x0
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k5.3.0-42-generic
Network:   Card-1: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] SiS900 PCI Fast Ethernet
           driver: sis900
           IF: enp0s4 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Silicon Integrated Systems SiS162 usb Wireless LAN Adapter
           IF: null-if-id state: N/A mac: N/A
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 40.0GB (16.8% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: HTS424040M9AT00 size: 40.0GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 36G used: 5.4G (16%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/dm-0
           ID-2: swap-1 size: 1.02GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/dm-1
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   None detected - is lm-sensors installed and configured?
Info:      Processes: 149 Uptime: 14 min Memory: 245.7/1051.4MB
           Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.56

Offline MarkJimenez

  • Newly Subscribed
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 10
Re: monitor resolution
« Reply #11 on: March 21, 2020, 07:13:56 pm »
PS You will notice that the resolution is high.This is because I booted with an external monitor via an analogue VGA connection plug in. It stays this way even if I unplug the external monitor. However if I reboot with no external monitor it reverts back to low resolution. Thank you for your meticulous and prescient help and suggestions. Much appreciated.

Offline Slim.Fatz

  • Global Moderator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1992
  • Karma: 524
  • Where's the mouse?
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 7, 8.5 & 10 - 64bit
Re: monitor resolution
« Reply #12 on: March 22, 2020, 03:25:48 am »
Hi MarkJimenez,

As I recall, Silicon Integrated Systems graphics cards are frequently troublesome on Linux. However, for the model card that you have I have found an old solution by our late and dearly missed Team Peppermint Leader PCNetSpec and you should give it a try. Here is the link to the posting. I would advise that you first read all the messages in that discussion before making any changes to your system.  ;)

Regards,

-- Slim
"Life first -- Peppermint a close 2nd!" -- Zeb

Tread lightly: Fluxbox, JWM, i3, Openbox, awesome

Offline Howling Wolf

  • Newly Subscribed
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: 5
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 10
Re: monitor resolution
« Reply #13 on: March 22, 2020, 12:48:17 pm »
Hi MarkJimenez,

You are still on 5.3.0-42-generic. Why don't you try my suggestion? If no solution, you can still dig further...

Offline MarkJimenez

  • Newly Subscribed
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 10
Re: monitor resolution
« Reply #14 on: March 23, 2020, 01:02:50 am »
Hi all,
As a new user, it takes me a while to absorb new info and even longer to gingerly try to apply it. Nonetheless I'm finding it all genuinely interesting and am not ignoring any of it Howling wolf, it has taken me, on and off, years to get to this point, so if I knew how to change the kernel safely, I would do it today. Howbeit, I'm not discounting any of it and I'm fully intending to give it a try, once I have brushed up on the topic to the point of sufficiency. I similarly clicked on the link to upgrading from ver10 to  ver10-spin. I'm still trying to digest what to me is a very long list of commands with which I have no familiarity. No fear, I will perservere and let you know results, once I have them. Belive me, I am not dissatisfied with the results so far and am thoroughly enjoying what is clearly a very colegeate and informed  group.