Choose style:

Author Topic: Auto Bypass Boot Menu (SOLVED)  (Read 312 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline radiobob

  • Newly Subscribed
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 3
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint Ten
Auto Bypass Boot Menu (SOLVED)
« on: February 29, 2020, 02:51:21 pm »
Just reinstalled Peppermint on an old Intel Core 2 PC w/2 GB RAM.  It was working fine, but I just wanted a clean start after some experiments.  It still works fine, except it always has a boot menu and I have to scroll to "first HDD" choice to get things rolling.  I'm not having this issue on two other PCs running Peppermint.  I'm sure there's a simple answer, but despite my searches here and on Google (does anyone use "Bing" as a verb?), I can't find the magic.
« Last Edit: March 04, 2020, 04:32:20 pm by radiobob »

Offline josephd

  • Trusted User
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 448
  • Karma: 151
  • Peppermint OS Website Admin
    • View Profile
    • LinuxBookPro
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Auto Bypass Boot Menu
« Reply #1 on: February 29, 2020, 03:40:02 pm »
I haven't tried, personally I like to be able to access grub because I have multiple distros on my system. This comes in handy if a kernel update goes awry or some other rare boot issue pops up.

Here's a few forums on the matter
https://askubuntu.com/questions/157925/how-do-i-skip-the-grub-menu-on-a-dual-boot-system
https://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?t=225525
Joseph Dickson | www.linuxbookpro.com | www.joseph-dickson.com | https://twitter.com/joe4ska - "I also enjoy Debian Stable, Pop!_OS, and Trisquel."

Online spence

  • Administrator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 2269
  • Karma: 259
  • peppermint user since 2010
    • View Profile
    • My MeWe profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Auto Bypass Boot Menu
« Reply #2 on: February 29, 2020, 03:42:56 pm »
Just reinstalled Peppermint on an old Intel Core 2 PC w/2 GB RAM.  It was working fine, but I just wanted a clean start after some experiments.  It still works fine, except it always has a boot menu and I have to scroll to "first HDD" choice to get things rolling.  I'm not having this issue on two other PCs running Peppermint.  I'm sure there's a simple answer, but despite my searches here and on Google (does anyone use "Bing" as a verb?), I can't find the magic.

Welcome back to the forum @radiobob!

in my experience, bing and google rarely turn up anything useful anymore, which version of peppermintOS have you installed? Give us a bit to scour our forums for similar issues. Meanwhile might you give us the terminal output from inxi -Fz?

 ;)
spence
PeppermintOS 10 Respin currently installed  on:
'16 Antec Aria rebuild
 '18 Asus VivoBook


Do not despair, grasshopper...
    with patience all will be revealed...
       Through pain, enlightenment will come.

Offline radiobob

  • Newly Subscribed
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 3
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint Ten
Re: Auto Bypass Boot Menu
« Reply #3 on: February 29, 2020, 04:11:07 pm »
Thanks for the quick reply!
Distro is Peppermint Ten, downloaded this morning.

inxi -Fz
System:    Host: pepper-RY880AAR-ABA-a6077c Kernel: 5.3.0-40-generic x86_64
           bits: 64
           Desktop: N/A Distro: Peppermint Ten
Machine:   Device: desktop System: HP-Pavilion product: RY880AAR-ABA a6077c serial: N/A
           Mobo: ASUSTek model: LEONITE v: 5.00 serial: N/A
           BIOS: Phoenix v: 5.17 date: 04/20/2007
CPU:       Dual core Intel Core2 4400 (-MCP-) cache: 2048 KB
           clock speeds: max: 2000 MHz 1: 1447 MHz 2: 1448 MHz
Graphics:  Card: NVIDIA G98 [GeForce G 100]
           Display Server: x11 (X.Org 1.20.5 )
           drivers: modesetting (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1360x768@60.02hz
           OpenGL: renderer: NV98 version: 3.3 Mesa 19.2.8
Audio:     Card Intel NM10/ICH7 Family High Def. Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k5.3.0-40-generic
Network:   Card: Intel NM10/ICH7 Family LAN Controller driver: e100
           IF: enp2s8 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 1400.3GB (0.7% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: WDC_WD4000AAJS size: 400.1GB
           ID-2: /dev/sdb model: WDC_WD10EACS size: 1000.2GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 366G used: 8.6G (3%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda1
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 47.0C mobo: N/A gpu: 44.0
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 172 Uptime: 1:23 Memory: 444.6/1985.0MB
           Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.56

Again, thanks!


Offline Slim.Fatz

  • Global Moderator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 2020
  • Karma: 532
  • Where's the mouse?
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 7, 8.5 & 10 - 64bit
Re: Auto Bypass Boot Menu
« Reply #4 on: March 02, 2020, 02:33:53 am »
Hi radiobob,

Is the "boot menu" that you are initially getting a GRUB menu or the computer's BIOS menu ??  :-\

 Regards,

-- Slim
"Life first -- Peppermint a close 2nd!" -- Zeb

Tread lightly: Fluxbox, JWM, i3, Openbox, awesome

Offline radiobob

  • Newly Subscribed
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 3
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint Ten
Re: Auto Bypass Boot Menu
« Reply #5 on: March 02, 2020, 10:16:32 am »
I am, in fact, an "idjit"!

When I did the reinstall of Peppermint, I did so from a USB drive, but I inadvertently left an earlier DVD image in the drive.  PC was rebooting, going to the DVD drive, which presented the menu.  Disc pulled, problem solved!  Sheesh!

Um...thanks anyway?

Offline Slim.Fatz

  • Global Moderator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 2020
  • Karma: 532
  • Where's the mouse?
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 7, 8.5 & 10 - 64bit
Re: Auto Bypass Boot Menu
« Reply #6 on: March 02, 2020, 11:40:10 am »
Hi radiobob,

Great that you resolved your issue!  :) When the issue has been solved to your satisfaction, please go back to your initial message about the issue, click on the button Modify and then add (SOLVED) to the end of the line Subject: Finally, save the result.  ;)

Regards,

-- Slim
"Life first -- Peppermint a close 2nd!" -- Zeb

Tread lightly: Fluxbox, JWM, i3, Openbox, awesome

Offline stevesveryown

  • Trusted User
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 321
  • Karma: 91
  • Peppermint Fan
    • View Profile
    • stevesveryown
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Auto Bypass Boot Menu
« Reply #7 on: March 04, 2020, 09:53:58 am »
I am, in fact, an "idjit"!

When I did the reinstall of Peppermint, I did so from a USB drive, but I inadvertently left an earlier DVD image in the drive.  PC was rebooting, going to the DVD drive, which presented the menu.  Disc pulled, problem solved!  Sheesh!

Um...thanks anyway?

Been there, done that....  :P