Author Topic: How to use my TV's RGB display in Peppermint 10?  (Read 643 times)

Offline BigAnalogONE

  • Newly Subscribed
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 10
How to use my TV's RGB display in Peppermint 10?
« on: February 14, 2020, 06:18:55 am »
I installed Peppermint 10 on my laptop that I use with my Vizio HDTV.    Prior to installing Peppermint 10, the laptop had Win Vista.    When I wanted my laptop to display I would use the RGB setting on my Vizio HDTV.

When I try with Peppermint 10 it doesn't work.   What do I do to get this working?

**added**

On my Vizio TV I can select input choice:  AV1, AV2, COM1, COM2, HDMI1, HDMI2, RGB...

When I want to view my laptop on my tv I would change the input to RGB.    I have a VGA cable coming from my laptop that plugs into my Vizio TV.    When my laptop had Win Vista this worked fine.     How do I get this working with Peppermint 10?



















« Last Edit: February 16, 2020, 08:14:26 am by BigAnalogONE »

Offline Slim.Fatz

  • Global Moderator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 2308
  • Karma: 612
  • Where's the mouse?
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 7, 8.5 & 10 - 64bit
Re: How to use my TV's RGB display in Peppermint 10?
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2020, 12:32:52 pm »
Hi BigAnalogONE,

I would suggest trying an HDMI cable to connect to the TV. Or does your laptop not have an HDMI port?

Regards,

-- Slim
Respect science, respect nature, respect each other.

Tread lightly: Fluxbox, JWM, i3, Openbox, awesome

Offline Brotherred

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 349
  • Karma: 11
  • No0b
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Pep 8 on 386, Pep 10 on AMD 64
Re: How to use my TV's RGB display in Peppermint 10?
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2020, 09:38:59 pm »
Using an anolog connection might work better if you want DVR type capability.

I have thought about that but have not tried it.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Tapatalk
« Last Edit: February 22, 2020, 01:56:12 pm by Brotherred »
"Those that don't know pay for it. My currency is pride"

Offline BigAnalogONE

  • Newly Subscribed
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 10
Re: How to use my TV's RGB display in Peppermint 10?
« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2020, 09:04:48 am »
Using an anolog connection might work better if you want DRV type capability.

I have thought about that but have not tried it.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Tapatalk


I don't even know what that is.   ???


Hi BigAnalogONE,

I would suggest trying an HDMI cable to connect to the TV.   Or does your laptop not have an HDMI port?

Regards,

-- Slim

No it doesn't.  :( 
« Last Edit: February 20, 2020, 09:08:00 am by BigAnalogONE »

Offline alynur

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1232
  • Karma: 133
  • Habitual Forum Browser
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P 9R (64bit), P 10
Re: How to use my TV's RGB display in Peppermint 10?
« Reply #4 on: February 21, 2020, 08:19:38 pm »
Hi BigAnalogONE, welcome to Peppermint. Could we have your
Code: [Select]
inxi -Fz output?
What was I thinking?

Offline BigAnalogONE

  • Newly Subscribed
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 10
Re: How to use my TV's RGB display in Peppermint 10?
« Reply #5 on: February 22, 2020, 04:56:32 am »
Hi BigAnalogONE, welcome to Peppermint. Could we have your
Code: [Select]
inxi -Fz output?

How do I go about doing that?    I only know .000000000000001% about using Linux.      Also I'm posting this on my Win10 PC.    How would I get the requested information from my laptop to here?

Offline murraymint

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 2164
  • Karma: 415
  • soft boiled with a yolk of gold
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7, 8, 9
Re: How to use my TV's RGB display in Peppermint 10?
« Reply #6 on: February 22, 2020, 05:13:13 am »
It's not important really. Have you tried switching the display output in Settings > Display or Arandr?

Offline stevesveryown

  • Trusted User
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 397
  • Karma: 148
  • Peppermint Fan
    • View Profile
    • stevesveryown
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: How to use my TV's RGB display in Peppermint 10?
« Reply #7 on: February 22, 2020, 06:22:08 am »

On my Vizio TV I can select input choice:  AV1, AV2, COM1, COM2, HDMI1, HDMI2, RGB...

When I want to view my laptop on my tv I would change the input to RGB.    I have a VGA cable coming from my laptop that plugs into my Vizio TV.    When my laptop had Win Vista this worked fine.     How do I get this working with Peppermint 10?

Hello BigAnalogOne,

What brand laptop do you have?  I have a few HP's and they don't have HDMI ports but do have Displayports.  I purchased a Displayport to HDMI cable from Amazon for $11.  I had also purchased a VGA to HDMI adapter for $12, you just need to have an HDMI cable.  Both worked for me on my Samsung HDTV.

Displayport to HDMI:  https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B015OW3M1W/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o02_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
VGA to HDMI adapter:  https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07121Y1Z3/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o05_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I hope this helps.

Offline alynur

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1232
  • Karma: 133
  • Habitual Forum Browser
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P 9R (64bit), P 10
Re: How to use my TV's RGB display in Peppermint 10?
« Reply #8 on: February 22, 2020, 02:15:36 pm »
Hi BigAnalogONE, welcome to Peppermint. Could we have your
Code: [Select]
inxi -Fz output?

How do I go about doing that?    I only know .000000000000001% about using Linux.      Also I'm posting this on my Win10 PC.    How would I get the requested information from my laptop to here?

This post was under Frequently asked  questions and describes the procedure how to post the inxi -Fz output here. How To
What was I thinking?

Offline BigAnalogONE

  • Newly Subscribed
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 10
Re: How to use my TV's RGB display in Peppermint 10?
« Reply #9 on: February 23, 2020, 06:55:58 am »
It's not important really. Have you tried switching the display output in Settings > Display or Arandr?

I think I may have already.   But it's been a while since I tried.     I will try it again when I can get to my  laptop.
I'm just used to the plug n play setup I had before.   

Hello BigAnalogOne,

What brand laptop do you have?  I have a few HP's and they don't have HDMI ports but do have Displayports.  I purchased a Displayport to HDMI cable from Amazon for $11.  I had also purchased a VGA to HDMI adapter for $12, you just need to have an HDMI cable.  Both worked for me on my Samsung HDTV.

Displayport to HDMI:  https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B015OW3M1W/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o02_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
VGA to HDMI adapter:  https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07121Y1Z3/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o05_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I hope this helps.

The laptop I have is a Toshiba Satellite L305-55915.    It's an older model, but is fine for the minimal time I use it.       

Those cables look like a possibility.   Is there one that does straight  VGA to HDMI without the extra power needed?   I currently have two cables connected (small audio & VGA).


This post was under Frequently asked  questions and describes the procedure how to post the inxi -Fz output here. How To

Ok, I will check that out when I get a chance.



Offline stevesveryown

  • Trusted User
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 397
  • Karma: 148
  • Peppermint Fan
    • View Profile
    • stevesveryown
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: How to use my TV's RGB display in Peppermint 10?
« Reply #10 on: February 24, 2020, 10:38:37 am »
Quote
The laptop I have is a Toshiba Satellite L305-55915.    It's an older model, but is fine for the minimal time I use it.       

Those cables look like a possibility.   Is there one that does straight  VGA to HDMI without the extra power needed?   I currently have two cables connected (small audio & VGA).

I do not know.  Do a search on Amazon.

Offline alynur

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1232
  • Karma: 133
  • Habitual Forum Browser
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P 9R (64bit), P 10
Re: How to use my TV's RGB display in Peppermint 10?
« Reply #11 on: February 24, 2020, 07:34:23 pm »
You can get a VGA to HDMI adapter and an HDMI cable from Amazon. Amazing what a search on the internet will provide.
What was I thinking?

Offline Brotherred

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 349
  • Karma: 11
  • No0b
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Pep 8 on 386, Pep 10 on AMD 64
Re: How to use my TV's RGB display in Peppermint 10?
« Reply #12 on: February 24, 2020, 08:03:06 pm »
You can get a VGA to HDMI adapter and an HDMI cable from Amazon. Amazing what a search on the internet will provide.
Thats true. I have an HDMI to VGA. It works well. But I doubt that it has the native anolog ability that way though...

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Tapatalk

"Those that don't know pay for it. My currency is pride"

Offline alynur

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1232
  • Karma: 133
  • Habitual Forum Browser
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P 9R (64bit), P 10
Re: How to use my TV's RGB display in Peppermint 10?
« Reply #13 on: February 25, 2020, 06:41:07 am »
You can get a VGA to HDMI adapter and an HDMI cable from Amazon. Amazing what a search on the internet will provide.
Thats true. I have an HDMI to VGA. It works well. But I doubt that it has the native anolog ability that way though...

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Tapatalk



If it works...
What was I thinking?

Offline Brotherred

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 349
  • Karma: 11
  • No0b
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Pep 8 on 386, Pep 10 on AMD 64
Re: How to use my TV's RGB display in Peppermint 10?
« Reply #14 on: February 25, 2020, 09:00:07 pm »
Sorry? I supported your claim.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Tapatalk

"Those that don't know pay for it. My currency is pride"