Choose style:

Author Topic: Does this OS have su?  (Read 92 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline frazelle09

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
    • Fundación Anisa, A.C.
  • Peppermint version(s): 10 on Toshiba Satellite 32 bit
Does this OS have su?
« on: February 03, 2020, 10:35:14 pm »
i'm sort of used to having to use su in order to access certain functions.  i don't seem to have su.  i've tried in the terminal and it does ask for a password, but who knows what it is since i wasn't asked to set up an admin. password when we installed this.

Have a beautiful evening!  :)
"The earth is one country and mankind its citizens."

Bahá'u'lláh

"La tierra es un sólo país y la humanidad sus ciudadanos."

Offline VinDSL

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5559
  • Karma: 989
  • Peppermint Mod
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Developmental Builds
Re: Does this OS have su?
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2020, 11:37:36 pm »
Appears to be working here...   8)


SU TESTS, ZSH, BASH, PowerShell
╭─vindsl@Boogaloo-6 ~
Password:
root@Boogaloo-6 /home/vindsl # su -
root@Boogaloo-6 ~ #
root@Boogaloo-6 ~ # exit
logout
root@Boogaloo-6 /home/vindsl # exit
exit
╰─$ bash


vindsl@Boogaloo-6 ~ $ su
Password:
root@Boogaloo-6 /home/vindsl # su -
root@Boogaloo-6 ~ #
root@Boogaloo-6 ~ # exit
logout
root@Boogaloo-6 /home/vindsl # exit
exit
vindsl@Boogaloo-6 ~ $ pwsh


PowerShell 6.2.4
Copyright (c) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

https://aka.ms/pscore6-docs
Type 'help' to get help.

PS /home/vindsl> su
Password:
root@Boogaloo-6 /home/vindsl # su -
root@Boogaloo-6 ~ #
root@Boogaloo-6 ~ # exit
logout
root@Boogaloo-6 /home/vindsl # exit
exit
PS /home/vindsl> zsh


╭─vindsl@Boogaloo-6 ~
╰─$
[close]




Offline AndyInMokum

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4887
  • Karma: 1042
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 10 (64-bit)
Re: Does this OS have su?
« Reply #2 on: February 04, 2020, 12:31:20 am »
It works fine here too ;).


Enter:
Code: [Select]
sudo su
Hit enter and enter your user password.  It'll drop you straight to root.  Remember, at the end of your su session to enter:
Code: [Select]
exit
This will exit su

I strongly suggest only dropping to root, if it is absolutely necessary.  The sudo command provides you with a safety net
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.

Offline frazelle09

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
    • Fundación Anisa, A.C.
  • Peppermint version(s): 10 on Toshiba Satellite 32 bit
Re: Does this OS have su?
« Reply #3 on: February 04, 2020, 01:14:33 am »
Ah, o.k.  i hadn't realized i needed sudo to do su.  How strange.  Anyway, thanks, guys and

have a great evening!  :)
"The earth is one country and mankind its citizens."

Bahá'u'lláh

"La tierra es un sólo país y la humanidad sus ciudadanos."