Choose style:

Author Topic: Easyest VPN to install on Peppermint linux  (Read 212 times)

Offline DavidJohn

• nOOb
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 10
Easyest VPN to install on Peppermint linux
« on: January 17, 2020, 02:29:24 am »
I'm new to Peppermint and Linux, having trouble getting a VPN installed, is there a VPN company that has a torrent friendly easy to install GUI?..

Offline AndyInMokum

• Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 10 (64-bit)
Re: Easyest VPN to install on Peppermint linux
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2020, 04:07:16 am »
I'm new to Peppermint and Linux, having trouble getting a VPN installed, is there a VPN company that has a torrent friendly easy to install GUI?..

Hi DavidJohn, how's it going  ;)?  Welcome aboard the good ship Peppermint  ;).  I don't know of any VPN providers that have a Linux GUI client. 

I'm using the free ProtonVPN service.  It's excellent too  ;).  This is provided by the encrypted email service, ProtonMail.  They're base at CERN in Switzerland.  They have a command line client that's dead easy to install and configure.  You simply download the version for: On Debian / Ubuntu / Linux Mint and other derivatives.  They provide a full tutorial on how to install it and set it up.  It's all copying and pasting and few edits.  I've had an email account there for years.  I think new ProtonVPN users receive a free encrypted email account too  ;).  Apart from the free account, they've also three levels of subscription ProtonVPNs.   It really is super simple to setup.  You end up with two commands to use in the terminal.  One to start the VPN and one to stop the VPN.  To start it:
Code: [Select]
sudp ipsec up {The Name You Gave To Your Connection}
To stop it:
Code: [Select]
sudp ipsec down {The Name You Gave To Your Connection}