Choose style:

Author Topic: Logitech setpoint  (Read 230 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline rseke

  • Newly Subscribed
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 3
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
Logitech setpoint
« on: January 12, 2020, 05:42:19 am »
Hello,

Who know did we have any software alternative for LOGITECH setpoint for Peppermint?

Offline zebedeeboss

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3234
  • Karma: 625
  • Life first... Peppermint a close 2nd :)
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P10 / P9 Respin
Re: Logitech setpoint
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2020, 03:11:08 pm »
Hi

Not that I am aware of.   What do you need to do that requires setpoint ?

Regards Zeb...
Be Kind Whenever Possible...   It is Always Possible - Dalai Lama

P10r x64 Desktop - AMD Threadripper 2950X - 64Gb RAM - NVIDIA RTX2080Ti 11Gb - 2 x 27" 4k

Offline rseke

  • Newly Subscribed
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 3
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
Re: Logitech setpoint
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2020, 11:57:07 am »
i want reconfigure buttons on my mouse

Offline alynur

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1200
  • Karma: 126
  • Habitual Forum Browser
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P 9R (64bit), P 10
Re: Logitech setpoint
« Reply #3 on: January 15, 2020, 09:44:23 pm »
You can change to left hand layout in Peppermint Control Center.
What was I thinking?

Offline rseke

  • Newly Subscribed
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 3
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
Re: Logitech setpoint
« Reply #4 on: January 17, 2020, 02:39:49 pm »
I have ZOOM button on my MX performance and i want assign to something like SOUND MUTE or something like that.

Offline kendall

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 656
  • Karma: 133
  • Co-Founder
    • View Profile
Re: Logitech setpoint
« Reply #5 on: January 17, 2020, 03:13:40 pm »
This exists, but it hasn't been updated in an extraordinarily long time:

https://www.hidpoint.com/hidpoint

Beyond that and it takes a little reverse engineering, a little configuration, and a little know-how. You can use an event monitor like xev to isolate which events are actually being read by the operating system when you actuate those buttons. Then you can use something like xbindkeys to map those events to other actions.

If you really want to get into the nitty gritty, there are libraries for "user friendly" programming languages like Python and Go that make customizing input events relatively simple. I've found that documentation on those libraries is often lacking in clarity which results in quite a bit of trial and error.
Peppermint is powered by VPS.NET Cloud Servers.

Offline kendall

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 656
  • Karma: 133
  • Co-Founder
    • View Profile
Re: Logitech setpoint
« Reply #6 on: January 17, 2020, 03:19:17 pm »
This link includes instructions that should work for the zoom button:

https://www.ralf-oechsner.de/opensource/page/logitech_performance_mx
Peppermint is powered by VPS.NET Cloud Servers.