Author Topic: (Solved) Setting up buttons for Dell XT2  (Read 491 times)

Offline esquire

• Newly Subscribed
  • Some weird guy
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10 respin
(Solved) Setting up buttons for Dell XT2
« on: December 30, 2019, 05:46:59 am »
Hello!

I'm relatively new to Linux, and I've decided to give Peppermint OS a try. Before installing this distro, I've tried a couple others, including Manjaro/XFCE, and Linux Mint/Cinnamon.

I'm running Peppermint OS 10 Respin on a Dell XT2 (dual-booting with Windows), and I have one big issue that I can't figure out:

There are two sets of left click/right click buttons on the laptop: 1 set above the touchpad and one below. The one above the keyboard works exactly as you'd expect. However, the set below the keyboard (which I am unfortunately more comfortable with) does not.

If you press either of the buttons below the touchpad a bunch of times, they seem to click. (I.E. Press the left button a bunch, and it eventually left-clicks). 

As a side note, the buttons work correctly in Windows, and they also worked in Linux Mint out-of-the-box. In addition, it seems like the number of times you need to press the button before it works is usually 5, and they don't need to be in quick succession. This is only a guess though, so take it with a grain of salt.

I'm looking forward to being a member of this community, and thank you!
« Last Edit: January 02, 2020, 07:28:18 am by esquire »
How do signatures work again?

Offline PCNetSpec

• Administrator
  • Hero
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Setting up buttons for Dell XT2
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2019, 05:50:47 am »
Which version of Mint did they work with ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline esquire

• Newly Subscribed
  • Some weird guy
    • View Profile