Choose style:

Author Topic: Change monitor resolution on Asus ET2400E  (Read 9259 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline dorianhyde

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 5
Re: Change monitor resolution on Asus ET2400E
« Reply #30 on: September 12, 2014, 01:45:41 pm »
Hi karma,
I tried but something goes wrong... the system replied that can't open /home/dorian/Desktop/logs.tar.gz since the file doesn't exist:

tar czvf ~/Desktop/logs.tar.gz /var/log/dmesg /var/log/boot.log /var/log/kern.log /var/log/syslog /var/log/Xorg.0.log
tar: tar (child): /home/dorian/Desktop/logs.tar.gz: funzione "open" non riuscita. Rimozione di "/" iniziale dai nomi dei membri
: File o directory non esistente
tar (child): Error is not recoverable: exiting now
/var/log/dmesg

Thanks,

Juri

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25693
  • Karma: 2820
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Change monitor resolution on Asus ET2400E
« Reply #31 on: September 12, 2014, 02:58:47 pm »
OK, I guess being a non English system the "Desktop" directory is called something else .. try:
Code: [Select]
tar czvf ~/logs.tar.gz /var/log/dmesg /var/log/boot.log /var/log/kern.log /var/log/syslog /var/log/Xorg.0.log
then look in your home directory for the "logs.tar.gz" file
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline dorianhyde

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 5
Re: Change monitor resolution on Asus ET2400E
« Reply #32 on: September 14, 2014, 06:12:46 pm »
Hi karma,

this time it will go.
I stored the file at this address:
http://dfiles.eu/files/m0hvkz31d

Thanks,

Juri

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25693
  • Karma: 2820
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Change monitor resolution on Asus ET2400E
« Reply #33 on: September 14, 2014, 07:45:42 pm »
Can you remove the nomodeset kernel boot parameter .. then attempt to boot without it

when the screen stays black, I want to to shine a flashlight/torch on it and try to work out if there *IS* a picture but the backlight is just not coming on .. or if there's no picture at all ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline dorianhyde

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 5
Re: Change monitor resolution on Asus ET2400E
« Reply #34 on: September 15, 2014, 02:09:22 pm »
Hi karma,
without nomodeset the monitor became totally black after a very tiny sound like as you turn off a tv so I think that isn't a backlight proble,.

Thanks,

Juri

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25693
  • Karma: 2820
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Change monitor resolution on Asus ET2400E
« Reply #35 on: September 15, 2014, 05:50:15 pm »
OK, let's try the xorg edgers PPA .. boot with nomodeset, open a terminal and run these commands in sequence:
Code: [Select]
sudo apt install ppa-purge
then
Code: [Select]
sudo add-apt-repository ppa:xorg-edgers/ppa
then
Code: [Select]
sudo apt update
then
Code: [Select]
sudo apt upgrade
then
Code: [Select]
sudo apt dist-upgrade
now REBOOT ..  then post the output from:
Code: [Select]
sudo lshw -C display
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline dorianhyde

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 5
Re: Change monitor resolution on Asus ET2400E
« Reply #36 on: September 16, 2014, 01:45:42 pm »
Hi,
I had done all command and reboot.
This is the report:
*-display:0 UNCLAIMED   
       description: VGA compatible controller
       product: 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller
       vendor: Intel Corporation
       physical id: 2
       bus info: pci@0000:00:02.0
       version: 03
       width: 64 bits
       clock: 33MHz
       capabilities: msi pm vga_controller bus_master cap_list
       configuration: latency=0
       resources: memory:fe400000-fe7fffff memory:e0000000-efffffff ioport:dc00(size=8)
  *-display:1 UNCLAIMED
       description: Display controller
       product: 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller
       vendor: Intel Corporation
       physical id: 2.1
       bus info: pci@0000:00:02.1
       version: 03
       width: 64 bits
       clock: 33MHz
       capabilities: pm bus_master cap_list
       configuration: latency=0
       resources: memory:fe900000-fe9fffff


Thanks,

Juri

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25693
  • Karma: 2820
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Change monitor resolution on Asus ET2400E
« Reply #37 on: September 19, 2014, 06:47:17 am »
OK, I have no idea why i915 isn't being used .. it's being loaded and contains your graphics cards IDvendor:IDproduct string .. so I'm a little baffled here.

Anyway, let's see if the intel graphics installer can sort it out.

What's the output from:
Code: [Select]
uname -a
now ?



Links for my reference
https://01.org/linuxgraphics/downloads
and
http://forum.peppermintos.com/index.php/topic,731.msg6232.html#msg6232
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline dorianhyde

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 5
Re: Change monitor resolution on Asus ET2400E
« Reply #38 on: September 19, 2014, 01:30:45 pm »
Hi,

I tried to install the intel driver i915 by Intel Graphic Installer after change the system identification from Peppermint to Ubuntu and, apparently, all gone right.
But when I restart the system show that "i915 has bad taint".
Now this is the actual configuration:

1) Linux dorian-ET2400E 3.13.0-35-generic #62-Ubuntu SMP Fri Aug 15 01:58:01 UTC 2014 i686 i686 i686 GNU/Linux

2)*-display:0 UNCLAIMED   
       description: VGA compatible controller
       product: 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller
       vendor: Intel Corporation
       physical id: 2
       bus info: pci@0000:00:02.0
       version: 03
       width: 64 bits
       clock: 33MHz
       capabilities: msi pm vga_controller bus_master cap_list
       configuration: latency=0
       resources: memory:fe400000-fe7fffff memory:e0000000-efffffff ioport:dc00(size=8)
  *-display:1 UNCLAIMED
       description: Display controller
       product: 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller
       vendor: Intel Corporation
       physical id: 2.1
       bus info: pci@0000:00:02.1
       version: 03
       width: 64 bits
       clock: 33MHz
       capabilities: pm bus_master cap_list
       configuration: latency=0
       resources: memory:fe900000-fe9fffff

Now, regarding the black screen I thindk your previous idea was right. It seem to be caused by no backlight start because when the first time I added the string:
setpci -s 00:02.0 F4.B=30
the system started wihout nomodeset.
Unfortunately, after I had reinstalled the system this string have not newly resolved the problem.
And if I understood right, even if I will have the i915 driver without any bad taint, the nomodeset command will not load it, isn't it?

Thanks,

Juri