Author Topic: How to Reconfigure Pulse Audio? (SOLVED - kinda)  (Read 914 times)

Offline completeidiot

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 8
How to Reconfigure Pulse Audio? (SOLVED - kinda)
« on: November 15, 2019, 10:06:06 pm »
In attempt to improve the sound quality, I followed some guide and edited some file, and now the sound is completely gone, and the system gives me

"connection to pulse audio failed automatic retry in 5 s"

Any way to fix this?  :'(
« Last Edit: November 17, 2019, 01:58:38 am by completeidiot »

Offline zebedeeboss

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3233
  • Karma: 625
  • Life first... Peppermint a close 2nd :)
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P10 / P9 Respin
Re: How to Reconfigure Pulse Audio?
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2019, 10:41:07 pm »
Hi

easiest way to do it is to undo what the guide said.

Hopefully it said change this "this" to "That" type thing. So you revert to "this"

Regards Zeb...

ps the sledgehammer way will be to uninstall pulse audio completely with --purge, reboot and then re-install.
Be Kind Whenever Possible...   It is Always Possible - Dalai Lama

P10r x64 Desktop - AMD Threadripper 2950X - 64Gb RAM - NVIDIA RTX2080Ti 11Gb - 2 x 27" 4k

Offline completeidiot

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 8
Re: How to Reconfigure Pulse Audio?
« Reply #2 on: November 15, 2019, 11:13:54 pm »
Thanks, but, unfortunately, removing and re-installing didn't do. Connection to PulseAudio Fails, and the automatic and unsuccessful retry every 5 seconds drives me insane  >:(

Offline Slim.Fatz

  • Global Moderator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 2308
  • Karma: 612
  • Where's the mouse?
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 7, 8.5 & 10 - 64bit
Re: How to Reconfigure Pulse Audio?
« Reply #3 on: November 16, 2019, 01:37:51 am »
Hi completeidiot,

There is quite possibly a file or two left over from your initial changes (purging does not always remove everything that we might have changed that is also related to the program(s)/package(s) being purged). Therefore, as zebedeeboss suggested, you need to go back to the "some guide" that you used and find the "some file" that you changed. If that file is still there, remove it, then do the purging, rebooting and reinstallation to see if the issue has been resolved.  ;)

Regards,

-- Slim
Respect science, respect nature, respect each other.

Tread lightly: Fluxbox, JWM, i3, Openbox, awesome

Offline completeidiot

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 8
Re: How to Reconfigure Pulse Audio?
« Reply #4 on: November 16, 2019, 01:45:40 am »
Hello Slim.Fatz,

the problem is, I edited the daemon.conf file which is no longer on my computer  :'(

All I have left in the etc/Pulse/ directory is client.conf.

Offline VinDSL

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5818
  • Karma: 1121
  • Team Peppermint
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Developmental Builds
Re: How to Reconfigure Pulse Audio?
« Reply #5 on: November 16, 2019, 05:08:14 am »
Might find something useful here: https://is.gd/E30MFL   ;)








Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26452
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: How to Reconfigure Pulse Audio?
« Reply #6 on: November 16, 2019, 06:28:27 am »
Reinstall the pulseaudio package:
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get install --reinstall pulseaudiowhich should replace the missing files in /etc/pulse

then if necessary (which it probably isn't) run:
Code: [Select]
sudo dpkg-reconfigure pulseaudiothen let us know if audio still doesn't work as we may need to reset it in your home folder too.
« Last Edit: November 16, 2019, 06:30:56 am by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline completeidiot

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 8
Re: How to Reconfigure Pulse Audio?
« Reply #7 on: November 16, 2019, 06:31:59 am »
For some reason, the package download fails, and terminal suggests --fix-missing which does not do a thing.

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26452
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: How to Reconfigure Pulse Audio?
« Reply #8 on: November 16, 2019, 06:38:09 am »
Can you provide the exact output (in full) from:
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get install --reinstall pulseaudio
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline completeidiot

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 8
Re: How to Reconfigure Pulse Audio?
« Reply #9 on: November 16, 2019, 07:14:04 am »
Code: [Select]
Err:1 http://cz.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu xenial/main i386 libwebrtc-audio-processing-0 i386 0.1-3ubuntu1~gcc5.1
  404  Not Found [IP: 217.31.202.63 80]
E: Selhalo stažení http://cz.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/pool/main/w/webrtc-audio-processing/libwebrtc-audio-processing-0_0.1-3ubuntu1~gcc5.1_i386.deb  404  Not Found [IP: 217.31.202.63 80]

E: Nelze stáhnout některé archivy. Možná spusťte apt-get update nebo zkuste --fix-missing?

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26452
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: How to Reconfigure Pulse Audio?
« Reply #10 on: November 16, 2019, 07:40:45 am »
Okay the package mirror at http://cz.archive.ubuntu.com appears to currently down.

Do you know how to change your update mirror in

Menu > Settings > Software & Updates
(Peppermint Software (tab) > Download from:)

?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline completeidiot

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 8
Re: How to Reconfigure Pulse Audio?
« Reply #11 on: November 16, 2019, 09:42:10 am »
So I did, and the package seems nowhere to be found anyway.  :-X


Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26452
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: How to Reconfigure Pulse Audio?
« Reply #12 on: November 16, 2019, 10:01:47 am »
Well you can get it here:
http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/pool/main/w/webrtc-audio-processing/libwebrtc-audio-processing-0_0.1-3ubuntu1~gcc5.1_i386.deb

But I have no idea why it doesn't seem to be in the main repo's, unless some PPA you've added is screwing things up
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline completeidiot

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 8
Re: How to Reconfigure Pulse Audio?
« Reply #13 on: November 16, 2019, 10:14:12 am »
I'm pretty sure I screwed up. And btw, I'm still stuck where I started.

Connection to Pulse Audio failed. Automatic retry in 5 seconds.

I'll probably go for a complete reinstall.

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26452
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: How to Reconfigure Pulse Audio?
« Reply #14 on: November 16, 2019, 12:14:17 pm »
so did you get
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get install --reinstall pulseaudioto complete ?

If so, try running:
Code: [Select]
mv ~/.config/pulse ~/.config/pulse-oldthen rebooting
« Last Edit: November 16, 2019, 12:17:53 pm by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec