Choose style:

Author Topic: External display problem  (Read 209 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Ru5en

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 9
External display problem
« on: November 07, 2019, 04:35:31 am »
So, Hi everyone I need Help.

I have a laptop ( 1366*768 60hz) LVSD-1 Nvidia 710m 2gb (I manually added the driver(4xx.xx),because the default driver put me in grub.. (340.xx))

And I have an ACER b226wl screen ( 1680*1050 60hz) VGA-1 And the problem is when I start the operating system De resolution is 1280*720 60hz on the VGA-1

I can to correct it with display setting( to be LVSD "normal") and with commandlines:

sudo xrandr --newmode "1680x1050_60.00" 146.25 1680 1784 1960 2240 1050 1053 1059 1089 -hsync +vsync
sudo xrandr --addmode VGA-1 1680x1050_60.00
It solve my problem untill I restart my laptop... and I need to make it again.

I tried different options, also with "10-monitor.conf" file. in default it don't exist at: /usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d/ but I maked a few one:

number 1 :

Section "Monitor" Identifier "Monitor0" Modeline "1680x1050_60.00" 146.25 1680 1784 1960 2240 1050 1053 1059 1089 -hsync +vsync" EndSection Section "Screen" Identifier "Screen0" Device "VGA-1" Monitor "Monitor1" DefaultDepth 24 SubSection "Display" Depth 24 Modes "1680x1050" EndSubSection EndSection

number 2:

Section "Monitor" Identifier "Monitor0" Modeline "3048x1818_60.00" 472.50 3048 3288 3616 4184 1818 1821 1831 1884 -hsync +vsync EndSection Section "Screen" Identifier "Screen0" Device "LVDS-1" Monitor "Monitor0" DefaultDepth 24 SubSection "Display" Depth 24 Modes "1366x768+0+0" EndSubSection Device "VGA-1" Monitor "Monitor0" DefaultDepth 24 SubSection "Display" Depth 24 Modes "1680x1050+1366+0" EndSubSection EndSection

but it ewery time go to grub to log in and ask my password...

About this video I tried to resolve and it was useful, but not a 100%.

Please help me Im a beginner Linux user. I asked help at askubuntu, but they sad to come here, because : "Peppermint is not an official Ubuntu release. Please use forum.peppermintos.com or unix.stackexchange.com"  .....   

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26082
  • Karma: 2842
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: External display problem
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2019, 03:04:22 pm »
Why not just add the lines
Code: [Select]
#!/bin/sh

xrandr --newmode "1680x1050_60.00" 146.25 1680 1784 1960 2240 1050 1053 1059 1089 -hsync +vsync
xrandr --addmode VGA-1 1680x1050_60.00
to a script, make it executable, then autostart it via a .desktop file in /etc/xdg/autostart
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline Ru5en

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 9
Re: External display problem
« Reply #2 on: November 08, 2019, 09:37:00 am »
Anyway don't works... I tried it but nothings happen..

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26082
  • Karma: 2842
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: External display problem
« Reply #3 on: November 08, 2019, 05:27:04 pm »
I thought you said those commands worked ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline zebedeeboss

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3106
  • Karma: 564
  • Life first... Peppermint a close 2nd :)
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P10 / P9 Respin
Re: External display problem
« Reply #4 on: November 08, 2019, 05:39:35 pm »
Hi

Can you try the following command in a terminal window

Code: [Select]
xrandr --output VGA-1 --mode 1680x1050

It should force the monitor to change

Regards Zeb...
Be Kind Whenever Possible...   It is Always Possible - Dalai Lama

Linux User #565092
P10 x64 Desktop - AMD Threadrippe 2950X - 64Gb RAM - NVIDIA RTX2080Ti 11Gb - 1 x 43" 1 x 27" 4k 3840x2160 - 1 x 34" 5120x2160
P10 x64 Laptop - i7-7700HQ - 8Gb RAM - Nvidia GTX1050 4Gb - 15.6" HD 1920x1080

Offline alynur

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1045
  • Karma: 56
  • Habitual Forum Browser
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P 9R (64bit), P 10
Re: External display problem
« Reply #5 on: November 08, 2019, 11:59:36 pm »
I would suggest setting up the monitors the way you want them in Arandr, click on save and name the setup as you wish. Copy the path to the .sh file you just made and add it to a .desktop file in /etc/xdg/autostart as PCNetSpec suggested.
What was I thinking?

Offline zebedeeboss

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3106
  • Karma: 564
  • Life first... Peppermint a close 2nd :)
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P10 / P9 Respin
Re: External display problem
« Reply #6 on: November 09, 2019, 02:46:11 am »
You need the --output line else the monitor will just sit on it's native resolution.

Unless Arandr will allow you to choose that resolution as it has now been defined and it will form part of the text to put into PcNetSpec's .sh script

Regards Zeb...
Be Kind Whenever Possible...   It is Always Possible - Dalai Lama

Linux User #565092
P10 x64 Desktop - AMD Threadrippe 2950X - 64Gb RAM - NVIDIA RTX2080Ti 11Gb - 1 x 43" 1 x 27" 4k 3840x2160 - 1 x 34" 5120x2160
P10 x64 Laptop - i7-7700HQ - 8Gb RAM - Nvidia GTX1050 4Gb - 15.6" HD 1920x1080

Offline Ru5en

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 9
Re: External display problem
« Reply #7 on: November 11, 2019, 07:42:46 am »
I tried to make, and I think I made correct, but after a restart just not working...  "cannot find mode 1680x1050_60.00" when i try to use zebedeeboss's command;  and I also tried arandr, but don't use the saved mode when i try to import that .sh file what he made'd .

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26082
  • Karma: 2842
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: External display problem
« Reply #8 on: November 11, 2019, 11:56:32 am »
With the external monitor attached, what's the output from
Code: [Select]
xrandr
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline Ru5en

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 9
Re: External display problem
« Reply #9 on: November 12, 2019, 02:35:42 pm »
~ $ xrandr
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 3046 x 1050, maximum 8192 x 8192
LVDS-1 connected 1366x768+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 344mm x 193mm
   1366x768      60.01*+
   1360x768      59.80    59.96 
   1280x720      60.00    59.99    59.86    59.74 
   1024x768      60.04    60.00 
   960x720       60.00 
   928x696       60.05 
   896x672       60.01 
   1024x576      59.95    59.96    59.90    59.82 
   960x600       59.93    60.00 
   960x540       59.96    59.99    59.63    59.82 
   800x600       60.00    60.32    56.25 
   840x525       60.01    59.88 
   864x486       59.92    59.57 
   800x512       60.17 
   700x525       59.98 
   800x450       59.95    59.82 
   640x512       60.02 
   720x450       59.89 
   700x450       59.96    59.88 
   640x480       60.00    59.94 
   720x405       59.51    58.99 
   684x384       59.88    59.85 
   680x384       59.80    59.96 
   640x400       59.88    59.98 
   576x432       60.06 
   640x360       59.86    59.83    59.84    59.32 
   512x384       60.00 
   512x288       60.00    59.92 
   480x270       59.63    59.82 
   400x300       60.32    56.34 
   432x243       59.92    59.57 
   320x240       60.05 
   360x202       59.51    59.13 
   320x180       59.84    59.32 
VGA-1 connected primary 1680x1050+1366+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 0mm x 0mm
   1024x768      60.00 
   800x600       60.32    56.25 
   848x480       60.00 
   640x480       59.94 
   1680x1050_60.00  59.95*        --- - "this is what i maded with codes...  but after a restart dis option is not exist"
HDMI-1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DP-1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26082
  • Karma: 2842
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: External display problem
« Reply #10 on: November 12, 2019, 02:56:13 pm »
Can you test this....

run:
Code: [Select]
xed ~/test-script.sh
and when a blank file opens, make it read
Code: [Select]
#!/bin/sh

xrandr --newmode "1680x1050_60.00" 146.25 1680 1784 1960 2240 1050 1053 1059 1089 -hsync +vsync
xrandr --addmode VGA-1 1680x1050_60.00
xrandr --output VGA-1 --mode 1680x1050
SAVE the file and exit the text editor.

Back in the terminal run:
Code: [Select]
chmod +x ~/test-script.sh
Now REBOOT.

Once rebooted, run:
Code: [Select]
sudo ~/test-script.sh
did that change the resolution of the external monitor to 1680x1050 ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline Ru5en

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 9
Re: External display problem
« Reply #11 on: November 13, 2019, 03:00:24 am »
I maked how you sad,after the restart   :
sudo ~/test-script.sh
xrandr: cannot find mode 1680x1050             

Offline Ru5en

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 9
Re: External display problem
« Reply #12 on: November 13, 2019, 03:02:23 am »
this can be a bug on the os? Try to upgrade Peppermint 10? or the problem can be the same at P10?

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26082
  • Karma: 2842
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: External display problem
« Reply #13 on: November 13, 2019, 10:09:38 am »
well we could always make xrandr not prompt for a password (when sudo is used) .. if you think that would help ?

Or maybe we can add the new mode to an xorg.conf .. though I don't know how well that would work with an external monitor/TV that isn't always connected.

what's the output from:
Code: [Select]
inxi -Fz
« Last Edit: November 13, 2019, 10:11:33 am by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline Ru5en

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 9
Re: External display problem
« Reply #14 on: November 13, 2019, 02:59:11 pm »
~ $ inxi -Fz
System:    Host: ru5en-Aspire-E1-571G Kernel: 4.15.0-43-generic x86_64 bits: 64
           Desktop: N/A Distro: Peppermint Nine
Machine:   Device: laptop System: Acer product: Aspire E1-571G v: V2.21 serial: N/A
           Mobo: Acer model: EA50_HC_CR v: Type2 - Board Version serial: N/A
           UEFI [Legacy]: Insyde v: V2.21 date: 12/16/2013
CPU:       Quad core Intel Core i7-3632QM (-MT-MCP-) cache: 6144 KB
           clock speeds: max: 3200 MHz 1: 1197 MHz 2: 1199 MHz 3: 1199 MHz
           4: 1198 MHz 5: 1257 MHz 6: 1205 MHz 7: 1211 MHz 8: 1203 MHz
Graphics:  Card-1: Intel 3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller
           Card-2: NVIDIA GF117M [GeForce 610M/710M/810M/820M / GT 620M/625M/630M/720M]
           Display Server: x11 (X.Org 1.19.6 )
           drivers: modesetting,nouveau (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1366x768@60.01hz, 1680x1050@59.95hz
           OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Ivybridge Mobile
           version: 4.2 Mesa 18.0.5
Audio:     Card Intel 7 Series/C216 Family High Def. Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.15.0-43-generic
Network:   Card-1: Broadcom Limited NetLink BCM57785 Gigabit Ethernet PCIe
           driver: tg3
           IF: enp2s0f0 state: down mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Broadcom Limited BCM4313 802.11bgn Wireless Network Adapter
           driver: wl
           IF: wlp3s0 state: up mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 120.0GB (5.8% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: Patriot_Burst size: 120.0GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 109G used: 5.6G (6%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/dm-0
           ID-2: swap-1 size: 1.02GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/dm-1
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 45.0C mobo: N/A
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 296 Uptime: 11:54 Memory: 894.2/7869.1MB
           Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.56


Yes i konw i don't installed the nvidia driver yet... it's because a few days ago i reinstalled the os ,because after a try to use the .sh file how PcNetSpec's sad, the os don't booted.... and the recomended driver put in black screen (P9,P10 also) and i need to remove with bumblebee codes... so that's it...