Choose style:

Author Topic: Medion xxxx with N5000 and Peppermint six (or newwer) [solved]  (Read 310 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline LordKaan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 6
Re: Medion xxxx with N5000 and Peppermint six (or newwer)
« Reply #15 on: October 04, 2019, 03:11:51 pm »
Nope, sry, misanderstandig

U wrote in your tutorial: ...gksudo xed (and a lot internal stuff), and than you wrot, that i should mark it as "Read"

but i duno how/where i make it - i sear inside this "Editor"-Program; and the terminal is blocked meanwhile

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25661
  • Karma: 2819
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Medion xxxx with N5000 and Peppermint six (or newwer)
« Reply #16 on: October 04, 2019, 03:20:59 pm »
What I meant by:-

Quote
and make the file read

was .. "below is what the file should contain when you're finished" (nothing more, nothing less).
« Last Edit: October 04, 2019, 03:26:09 pm by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline LordKaan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 6
Re: Medion xxxx with N5000 and Peppermint six (or newwer)
« Reply #17 on: October 04, 2019, 03:43:45 pm »
Means: I open the file in this editor

replace (copy&paste) the text (Code), and save it - that's it

Okay, this step i made;
----
My next step will be, to follow the full path of instructions; cause at the moment, i duno have the "Shut down" Button
I will report of succsess.
Thx 4 the moment

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25661
  • Karma: 2819
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Medion xxxx with N5000 and Peppermint six (or newwer)
« Reply #18 on: October 05, 2019, 10:08:59 am »
What's the contents of
Code: [Select]
xed /usr/share/applications/peppermint-logout.desktop
?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline LordKaan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 6
Re: Medion xxxx with N5000 and Peppermint six (or newwer)
« Reply #19 on: October 05, 2019, 02:26:08 pm »
What's written in XRED
Code: [Select]
[Desktop Entry]
Type=Application
Name=Log Out
Name[zh_TW]=關機
Comment=Shutdown or Reboot
Icon=system-shutdown-panel
Exec=peppermint-logout
Categories=System;
NoDisplay=false

The output of terminal (Meanwhile XRED is open)

Code: [Select]
(xed:3815): Gdk-CRITICAL **: 20:25:43.327: gdk_window_get_window_type: assertion 'GDK_IS_WINDOW (window)' failed

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25661
  • Karma: 2819
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Medion xxxx with N5000 and Peppermint six (or newwer)
« Reply #20 on: October 05, 2019, 02:46:29 pm »
You can safely ignore those Gdk-CRITICAL errors in the terminal.

Are you saying you don't have a "Log Out" button at the bottom of the menu, like this


Post the complete contents of
Code: [Select]
xed /etc/xdg/menus/peppermint-hierarchical.menu
« Last Edit: October 05, 2019, 02:54:03 pm by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline LordKaan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 6
Re: Medion xxxx with N5000 and Peppermint six (or newwer)
« Reply #21 on: October 05, 2019, 03:10:19 pm »
Nope-

Sry.; can't made screenshot, cause Prg. opens immidently; so there is no time to open "menü" (and the Windows-key open the Whiskas-Menü", which i still have on the right side /as backup

https://www.directupload.net/file/d/5596/8bkw4wiz_png.htm



-----------------
Code: [Select]
<!DOCTYPE Menu PUBLIC "-//freedesktop//DTD Menu 1.0//EN"
 "http://standards.freedesktop.org/menu-spec/1.0/menu.dtd">

<Menu>
    <Name>Xfce</Name>

    <DefaultAppDirs/>
    <DefaultDirectoryDirs/>
    <DefaultMergeDirs/>

    <Include>
        <Category>X-Xfce-Toplevel</Category>
    </Include>

    <Menu>
        <Name>Settings</Name>
        <Directory>xfce-settings.directory</Directory>
        <Include>
            <Category>Settings</Category>
        </Include>

        <Menu>
            <Name>Screensavers</Name>
            <Directory>xfce-screensavers.directory</Directory>
            <Include>
                <Category>Screensaver</Category>
            </Include>
        </Menu>
    </Menu>

    <Menu>
        <Name>Accessories</Name>
        <Directory>xfce-accessories.directory</Directory>
        <Include>
            <Or>
                <Category>Accessibility</Category>
                <Category>Core</Category>
                <Category>Legacy</Category>
                <Category>Utility</Category>
            </Or>
        </Include>
        <Exclude>
            <Or>
                <Filename>exo-file-manager.desktop</Filename>
                <Filename>exo-terminal-emulator.desktop</Filename>
                <Filename>xfce4-about.desktop</Filename>
                <Filename>xfce4-run.desktop</Filename>
            </Or>
        </Exclude>
    </Menu>

    <Menu>
        <Name>Development</Name>
        <Directory>xfce-development.directory</Directory>
        <Include>
            <Category>Development</Category>
        </Include>
    </Menu>

    <Menu>
        <Name>Education</Name>
        <Directory>xfce-education.directory</Directory>
        <Include>
            <Category>Education</Category>
        </Include>
    </Menu>

    <Menu>
        <Name>Games</Name>
        <Directory>xfce-games.directory</Directory>
        <Include>
            <Category>Game</Category>
        </Include>
    </Menu>

    <Menu>
        <Name>Graphics</Name>
        <Directory>xfce-graphics.directory</Directory>
        <Include>
            <Category>Graphics</Category>
        </Include>
    </Menu>

    <Menu>
        <Name>Multimedia</Name>
        <Directory>xfce-multimedia.directory</Directory>
        <Include>
            <Category>Audio</Category>
            <Category>Video</Category>
            <Category>AudioVideo</Category>
        </Include>
    </Menu>

    <Menu>
        <Name>Network</Name>
        <Directory>xfce-network.directory</Directory>
        <Include>
            <Category>Network</Category>
        </Include>
        <Exclude>
            <Or>
                <Filename>exo-mail-reader.desktop</Filename>
                <Filename>exo-web-browser.desktop</Filename>
            </Or>
        </Exclude>
    </Menu>

    <Menu>
        <Name>Office</Name>
        <Directory>xfce-office.directory</Directory>
        <Include>
            <Category>Office</Category>
        </Include>
    </Menu>

    <Menu>
        <Name>System</Name>
        <Directory>xfce-system.directory</Directory>
        <Include>
            <Or>
                <Category>Emulator</Category>
                <Category>System</Category>
            </Or>
        </Include>
        <Exclude>
            <Or>
                <Filename>xfce4-session-logout.desktop</Filename>
            </Or>
        </Exclude>
    </Menu>

    <Menu>
        <Name>Other</Name>
        <Directory>xfce-other.directory</Directory>
        <OnlyUnallocated/>
        <Include>
            <All/>
        </Include>
    </Menu>

<!-- General layout of the whole menu -->
    <Layout>
        <Merge type="all"/>
        <Separator/>
        <Menuname>Settings</Menuname>
        <Menuname>System</Menuname>
        <Separator/>
            <Filename>firefox.desktop</Filename>
            <Filename>mintinstall.desktop</Filename>
            <Filename>sakura.desktop</Filename>
            <Filename>gnome-search-tool.desktop</Filename>
            <Filename>nemo.desktop</Filename>
            <Filename>xfce4-run.desktop</Filename>
        <Separator/>
            <Filename>peppermint-logout.desktop</Filename>

    </Layout>

        <Include>
            <Filename>firefox.desktop</Filename>
            <Filename>mintinstall.desktop</Filename>
            <Filename>sakura.desktop</Filename>
            <Filename>gnome-search-tool.desktop</Filename>
            <Filename>nemo.desktop</Filename>
            <Filename>xfce4-run.desktop</Filename>
            <Filename>peppermint-logout.desktop</Filename>
        </Include>

</Menu>
« Last Edit: October 05, 2019, 04:37:27 pm by PCNetSpec »

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25661
  • Karma: 2819
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Medion xxxx with N5000 and Peppermint six (or newwer)
« Reply #22 on: October 05, 2019, 04:21:37 pm »
It looks like you didn't point the menu at the correct menu config file...

Right-click on the "Menu" button (bottom/left of screen) and select "Properties"

Under the "Menu File" heading select "Use custom menu file:".

Click the arrow next to "Menu File:"

In the left hand pane select "File System"

In the right-hand pane navigate to:-

/etc/xdg/menus/peppermint-hierarchical.menu

and then click the "Open" button.

It should now look like this:-


Then click the "Close" button.

Now test the menu.



If you're still having problems, post the contents of
Code: [Select]
xed ~/.config/xfce4/xfconf/xfce-perchannel-xml/xfce4-panel.xml
« Last Edit: October 05, 2019, 04:29:37 pm by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline LordKaan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 6
Re: Medion xxxx with N5000 and Peppermint six (or newwer)
« Reply #23 on: October 05, 2019, 05:18:24 pm »
EUREKA !!!!!!
U r again the god of the weekend!!!!,
and i a'm the big "L" - shame on me.


I knew, i had this in the first part of try, and it seems, i forget this point later on (cause i got an error msg. at the first try)

Shame on me; coffee (or adult drink) 4 u. Thx u very much !!!!

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25661
  • Karma: 2819
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Medion xxxx with N5000 and Peppermint six (or newwer)
« Reply #24 on: October 05, 2019, 05:23:31 pm »
You're most welcome :)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline LordKaan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 6
Re: Medion xxxx with N5000 and Peppermint six (or newwer)
« Reply #25 on: October 05, 2019, 06:21:26 pm »
One last pls. in this topic;
Everything is fine; but how could i remove this entries?
I don't need them, cause i have them on a other place

Basicly, the menü(entries) as before incl. the switch-ooff button; i cross the things i duno need, and the one (with the long arrow) should be at top

https://www.directupload.net/file/d/5597/cema86ls_jpg.htm
---
I "delete" the "Whisker-Menu" now, cause the log-off button is working.

When i pressed before the "Windows"-Button (the one, with the windows-symbol on it"), than "Whisker" opend;
how can i connect the NEW menu wit hthis Quick-Button?


 

This confuse me
« Last Edit: October 05, 2019, 06:50:34 pm by LordKaan »

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25661
  • Karma: 2819
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Medion xxxx with N5000 and Peppermint six (or newwer)
« Reply #26 on: October 05, 2019, 07:14:54 pm »
Run
Code: [Select]
xed ~/.config/peppermint-control-center/xbindkeys.conf
find these 3 entries
Code: [Select]
"xfce4-popup-whiskermenu"
    Alt+F1

"xfce4-popup-whiskermenu"
    Control+Escape

"xfce4-popup-whiskermenu"
    Super_L
and change them to
Code: [Select]
"xfce4-popup-applicationsmenu"
    Alt+F1

"xfce4-popup-applicationsmenu"
    Control+Escape

"xfce4-popup-applicationsmenu"
    Super_L
SAVE the file .. then log off and on again (or reboot).
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline LordKaan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 6
Re: Medion xxxx with N5000 and Peppermint six (or newwer)
« Reply #27 on: October 07, 2019, 05:58:03 pm »
Perfectly - THX again;
and yes - it works :)


And how do i delete the entries inside the menu - see graphics-link in the post before your answer.
Thx, and sry., i i block again your spare-time

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25661
  • Karma: 2819
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Medion xxxx with N5000 and Peppermint six (or newwer)
« Reply #28 on: October 07, 2019, 08:28:12 pm »
And how do i delete the entries inside the menu - see graphics-link in the post before your answer.

You shouldn't have to .. they should have changed to xfce4-popup-applicationsmenu because they're just reflecting what's in the file you edited.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline LordKaan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 6
Re: Medion xxxx with N5000 and Peppermint six (or newwer)
« Reply #29 on: October 07, 2019, 09:27:25 pm »
And how do i delete the entries inside the menu - see graphics-link in the post before your answer.

You shouldn't have to .. they should have changed to xfce4-popup-applicationsmenu because they're just reflecting what's in the file you edited.

Okay, i delete following lines from  the hirachial-menu
Code: [Select]
<Filename>firefox.desktop</Filename>
            <Filename>mintinstall.desktop</Filename>
            <Filename>sakura.desktop</Filename>
            <Filename>gnome-search-tool.desktop</Filename>
            <Filename>nemo.desktop</Filename>
            <Filename>xfce4-run.desktop</Filename>

and saved it

So they are gone in the menu (as i wished for my self, cause i have them on the bar (Quick-Starter-line) /Sub-Menus)

but there are 2 empty "lines" inside this menu where i duno know, what i should delete, that they are gone too

Okay, found it - it's the
Code: [Select]
        <Separator/>
« Last Edit: October 07, 2019, 09:33:04 pm by LordKaan »