Choose style:

Author Topic: Eclipse installation (solved)  (Read 178 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline dsherman26

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 3
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 10
Eclipse installation (solved)
« on: September 11, 2019, 10:19:03 am »
I seem to be running into something that seems like there should be a simple way around it.  I tried installing Eclipse through Synaptic, but it wouldn't launch.  I downloaded the installer from eclipse.org, and I can run the installer using sudo.  However, once it has installed and launched, I can only run it using sudo.  Is there a nice way of getting around that?  I tried installing it in /usr/bin/eclipse, but it looks like it put some things in /root and only gave them root access.
« Last Edit: September 11, 2019, 06:53:06 pm by dsherman26 »

Offline Howling Wolf

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 2
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 10
Re: Eclipse installation
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2019, 02:25:13 pm »
Hi, I use NetBeans but IMHO there's no major difference.  Try to take the ownership of the related stuff using chown.

Offline murraymint

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1997
  • Karma: 344
  • soft boiled with a yolk of gold
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7, 8, 9
Re: Eclipse installation
« Reply #2 on: September 11, 2019, 03:00:46 pm »
I can run the installer using sudo.  However, once it has installed and launched, I can only run it using sudo.

Install it without sudo in your home folder which you already have permissions for:
https://askubuntu.com/questions/695382/how-to-install-eclipse-using-its-installer

Offline dsherman26

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 3
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 10
Re: Eclipse installation
« Reply #3 on: September 11, 2019, 06:32:01 pm »
OK, I swear I had previously tried running the installer without sudo and it didn't get very far before it coughed up an error.  Like it didn't even get to the point where I specify where it goes.  This time I ran it myself, used my own directory, and it worked.   False alarm, it's working now.

Incidentally, this was for C++ not Java.