Choose style:

Author Topic: Adding Eclipse to menu  (Read 196 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Boola

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 9
Adding Eclipse to menu
« on: September 04, 2019, 10:52:54 am »
Hi.

I have installed Eclipse from eclipse.org and got the program installed in folder:

/home/alexander/eclipse/java-2019-06/eclipse

To run the program i must enter this folder and launch the eclipse launcher. If i search it from the menu bar i can't find it. I have added a launcher for it beside the menu button but i would like to have it appear in the menu. How do i do this?

Regards
Boola

Offline clatterfordslim

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 271
  • Karma: 31
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10, Nine Respin 2
Re: Adding Eclipse to menu
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2019, 12:12:52 pm »
Hi.

I have installed Eclipse from eclipse.org and got the program installed in folder:

/home/alexander/eclipse/java-2019-06/eclipse

To run the program i must enter this folder and launch the eclipse launcher. If i search it from the menu bar i can't find it. I have added a launcher for it beside the menu button but i would like to have it appear in the menu. How do i do this?

Regards
Boola

Hello Boola, to add new stuff to menu I think you need to right click Whisker menu icon in panel or task bar, left click edit applications choose which category you want Eclipse to go in then push add the green add button at the top left of the menu you're in. Below is a photiograaphh of mine.



After left clicking the green plus sign a list comes up I chose Add Launcher



Where it Says New Launcher, you can left click it and call it Eclipse a tick will show up in the box don't worry about that. The Icon on the left is the type of Icon to choose for your App, you can left click it and choose from hundreds of Icons.

Next we have the command line, to tell this menu to open the Eclipse app, so you need to find where you installed it or downloaded it and add it to the command line. Don't worry you don't have to be a programmer to get this to work, left click the file icon on the right of Command, as once you've found where the apps exe or sh file is it'll remember after you've hit apply and automatically open your Eclipse app, just like a real app in a real menu and the warm glow you feel for the first time of doing such a thing is second to none. It did me anyway.  ;)



I hope this helped  ;D

« Last Edit: September 04, 2019, 12:48:54 pm by clatterfordslim »
Not only is Peppermint an addictive OS to use.
But so is this Forum :)

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25930
  • Karma: 2835
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Adding Eclipse to menu
« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2019, 03:19:17 pm »
Okay let's manually create a launcher for Eclipse IDE...

Open a terminal and run:
Code: [Select]
xed ~/.local/share/applications/eclipse.desktop
when a blank file opens, make it read
Code: [Select]
[Desktop Entry]
Type=Application
Name=Eclipse IDE
Comment=Eclipse Integrated Development Environment
Exec=/home/alexander/eclipse/java-2019-06/eclipse/eclipse
Icon=/home/alexander/eclipse/java-2019-06/eclipse/icon.xpm
Terminal=false
Categories=Development;
StartupNotify=false
NoDisplay=false
SAVE the file.

Now look in the menu at:-

Menu > Development > Eclipse IDE
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline Boola

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 9
Re: Adding Eclipse to menu
« Reply #3 on: September 05, 2019, 02:01:28 am »
Thank you very much clatterfordslim and PCNetSpec!  8)