Choose style:

Author Topic: Changing Resolution Logs Me Out (SOLVED)  (Read 313 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline clatterfordslim

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 271
  • Karma: 31
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10, Nine Respin 2
Changing Resolution Logs Me Out (SOLVED)
« on: August 21, 2019, 06:30:57 am »
Hello all

I'm currently on a new build I have just finished, it's the same motherboard AsRock b450m Pro 4,  Ryzen 5 2600 CPU running through a 1030 low profile Nvidia card, 16GB GSkills Ram 3200. This computer apart from the graphic card is the same as the one I'm typing this in. I have Peppermint 9 installed and was going to follow the script to upgrade to Pep 10. every time I change resolution to something more readable it logs me out. I cannot get back in, have done the usual sudo service lightdm restart and tried logging back in, but nay it says. I logged in as guest and get this error No session for pid 3724 and as guest I cannot update it, obviously. Never have I had this problem with peppermint before, so what I'm going to do, is reinstall live here on the forum and choose delete disc and install and will report back.  ;D
« Last Edit: August 21, 2019, 07:40:37 am by clatterfordslim »
Not only is Peppermint an addictive OS to use.
But so is this Forum :)

Offline clatterfordslim

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 271
  • Karma: 31
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10, Nine Respin 2
Re: Changing Resolution Logs Me Out
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2019, 06:33:38 am »
Okay so the install has finished and am now waiting for updates to finish.  :)
Not only is Peppermint an addictive OS to use.
But so is this Forum :)

Offline clatterfordslim

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 271
  • Karma: 31
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10, Nine Respin 2
Re: Changing Resolution Logs Me Out
« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2019, 06:39:11 am »
Just rebooting it should not take long and it didn't going to change resolution  :)
Not only is Peppermint an addictive OS to use.
But so is this Forum :)

Offline clatterfordslim

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 271
  • Karma: 31
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10, Nine Respin 2
Re: Changing Resolution Logs Me Out
« Reply #3 on: August 21, 2019, 06:40:39 am »
And it has logged me out again  :( and no way of getting back in. Lightdm is locked down even after rebooting. Will try from full shutdown.
« Last Edit: August 21, 2019, 06:45:32 am by clatterfordslim »
Not only is Peppermint an addictive OS to use.
But so is this Forum :)

Offline clatterfordslim

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 271
  • Karma: 31
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10, Nine Respin 2
Re: Changing Resolution Logs Me Out
« Reply #4 on: August 21, 2019, 06:49:07 am »
No still can't get in the screen blanks then straight back to login screen. Puzzled I be  ::)
Not only is Peppermint an addictive OS to use.
But so is this Forum :)

Offline clatterfordslim

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 271
  • Karma: 31
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10, Nine Respin 2
Re: Changing Resolution Logs Me Out
« Reply #5 on: August 21, 2019, 07:01:34 am »
Sometimes whenever like in Ubuntu Mate it don't like my password as I use symbols but here on this I use symbols too and it never gripes, but just maybe it don't like it this time and I'll try anything to see why? So going to reinstall and change some settings in the bios. Though secure boot is deactivated and I hate it when desktops shutdown and the USB lights are still on, so I always enable deep sleep in the bios. I am installing this onto a 250GB SSD so it ain't like it has not got the room. Will report back.
Not only is Peppermint an addictive OS to use.
But so is this Forum :)

Offline clatterfordslim

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 271
  • Karma: 31
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10, Nine Respin 2
Re: Changing Resolution Logs Me Out
« Reply #6 on: August 21, 2019, 07:05:47 am »
Even changing resolution on the USB installation has completely locked me down.
Not only is Peppermint an addictive OS to use.
But so is this Forum :)

Offline clatterfordslim

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 271
  • Karma: 31
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10, Nine Respin 2
Re: Changing Resolution Logs Me Out
« Reply #7 on: August 21, 2019, 07:09:23 am »
I'm going to experiment as on this board I have two PCIE slots so maybe I have this one in the wrong one? Peppermint ain't liking this one so will try the other one.
Not only is Peppermint an addictive OS to use.
But so is this Forum :)

Offline clatterfordslim

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 271
  • Karma: 31
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10, Nine Respin 2
Re: Changing Resolution Logs Me Out
« Reply #8 on: August 21, 2019, 07:22:15 am »
What I am doing is swapping graphic card to a low profile AMD one going into same slottage. No such word but it sounds good.
Not only is Peppermint an addictive OS to use.
But so is this Forum :)

Offline clatterfordslim

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 271
  • Karma: 31
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10, Nine Respin 2
Re: Changing Resolution Logs Me Out
« Reply #9 on: August 21, 2019, 07:34:54 am »
It's sorted, changed graphic card to a low profile AMD one and it is ticketty boo boo. Changed resolution no problem at all. How to solve your own problems live on Peppermint Forums. :))
Not only is Peppermint an addictive OS to use.
But so is this Forum :)

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25933
  • Karma: 2835
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Changing Resolution Logs Me Out (SOLVED)
« Reply #10 on: August 21, 2019, 09:41:08 am »
Which graphics card did you have at first ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline clatterfordslim

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 271
  • Karma: 31
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10, Nine Respin 2
Re: Changing Resolution Logs Me Out (SOLVED)
« Reply #11 on: August 21, 2019, 12:46:58 pm »
Which graphics card did you have at first ?

I had a gigabyte 1030 Nvidia card before, which I reckon was not in it's slottage properly, but I don't need it now I have a very old AMD graphic card. The reason behind this build is to capture it via my capture card to my main Ryzen build and do live installs, where you'll see it installed on real hardware, without me having to stop the live stream to restart. Yes I could use VirtualBox but it ain't the same as real hardware. With all of my builds I have a Icy Dock saves on cluttering up the case, so have plenty of hard drives to put into it, some are SSD others are 2.5 normal hard drives, so people will be able to see the best of both worlds.

My Capture card came today, been waiting for two weeks for it. It works fine in OBS-Studio, so will be doing some live streaming next week. I still have part two and three of Batman Arkham Asylum to do, already recorded both parts, all played and recorded in Peppermint, just need to live stream them and join everyone in the chat. I don't fancy uploading either of them, as Part Two is 17GB and Part Three is 23GB. You see everyone who live stream their games are always chatting over the game, along with their image on screen. I intend to be different to everyone else and have more fun in the chat, rather than being ogled at.

 My intention for this year was to have fun with Linux, no matter what the operating is and try to build my YouTube channel up a bit, just showing how different Operating systems behave on different Drives and the differences between all of them. Will be starting with Linux Mint 19.2 and hopefully someone can point me in the right direction to altering the size of the pulse audio plugin on it, because it's way too small and people were complaining it was too big, now it's gone to the next extreme, no matter what resolution you're in. I'm used to everything being just so on my desktop, the pulse audio here in Peppermint is fine and dandy. I don't get why they had to change it's size? Still sorry for answering more than you asked.  :D I must ask if they'd consider adding the word Slottage to the dictionary.  ;D
Not only is Peppermint an addictive OS to use.
But so is this Forum :)

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25933
  • Karma: 2835
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Changing Resolution Logs Me Out (SOLVED)
« Reply #12 on: August 21, 2019, 01:58:43 pm »
What model of icydock, and have you had any problems with it such as drives getting stuck in it ?

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk

WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline clatterfordslim

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 271
  • Karma: 31
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10, Nine Respin 2
Re: Changing Resolution Logs Me Out (SOLVED)
« Reply #13 on: August 21, 2019, 05:44:02 pm »
What model of icydock, and have you had any problems with it such as drives getting stuck in it ?

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk

Here is the link
https://www.amazon.co.uk/Icy-Dock-Sata-Mobile-Rack/dp/B00V5JHOXQ?ref_=bl_dp_s_web_2173843031

And no, no problems with drives getting stuck or anything else.

Here is link to Graphic card I had in new build earlier
https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B0719CR59P/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o04_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
« Last Edit: August 21, 2019, 05:46:10 pm by clatterfordslim »
Not only is Peppermint an addictive OS to use.
But so is this Forum :)