Choose style:

Author Topic: Installation crashed midway (input/output error) (SOLVED)  (Read 203 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Peppermint

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
  • don't eat me
    • View Profile
Installation crashed midway (input/output error) (SOLVED)
« on: July 06, 2019, 01:52:52 pm »
Hello.
A long time ago i had tried a quad-boot with windows,ubuntu,android and peppermint 8. I had then completely wiped the hard drive and installed windows 10 only.
I've had recently remembered peppermint OS and decided to install it again, this time peppermint 10.
So i used rufus to put it in a usb, and booted. The installation was going smooth, until it crashed in the middle of the partition resizing.
I then booted back to windows, and retried flashing to the same usb, however with etcher this time. Same happened
Does anybody know how to resolve this? Thanks.
« Last Edit: July 07, 2019, 12:25:49 pm by Peppermint »
nobody ever thinked about the namesnipe "Peppermint" lol

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25280
  • Karma: 2793
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Installation not working
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2019, 02:03:26 pm »
Have you tried resizing the Windows partition  from within Windows itself, leaving unpartitioned space.

Then installing Peppermint "along side" Windows .. Peppermint should use the unpartitioned space.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline Peppermint

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
  • don't eat me
    • View Profile
Re: Installation not working
« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2019, 02:06:01 pm »
Have you tried resizing the Windows partition  from within Windows itself, leaving unpartitioned space.

Then installing Peppermint "along side" Windows .. Peppermint should use the unpartitioned space.
i'll try that,i'll reply with results
nobody ever thinked about the namesnipe "Peppermint" lol

Offline Peppermint

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
  • don't eat me
    • View Profile
Re: Installation not working
« Reply #3 on: July 06, 2019, 02:25:32 pm »
Have you tried resizing the Windows partition  from within Windows itself, leaving unpartitioned space.

Then installing Peppermint "along side" Windows .. Peppermint should use the unpartitioned space.
No, I got another error Midway the install.
"The installer encountered an error copying files to the hard disk:
[Errno 5] Input/output error

This is often due to a family cd/DVD disk or drive, or a faulty hard disk. It may help to clean the CD/DVD at a lower speed, to clean the CD/DVD drive lens (cleaning kits are often available from eletronic suppliers), to check whether the hard disk is old and in need of replacement, or to move the system to a cooler environment."

Thankfully, windows is intact
« Last Edit: July 06, 2019, 02:28:24 pm by Peppermint »
nobody ever thinked about the namesnipe "Peppermint" lol

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25280
  • Karma: 2793
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Installation not working
« Reply #4 on: July 06, 2019, 02:32:06 pm »
Input/output errors are nearly always caused by either not being able to read from the source drive or write to the destination drive.

Are you

a) sure the LiveUSB is not corrupt
and/or
b) there's enough room on the destination drive

?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline Peppermint

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
  • don't eat me
    • View Profile
Re: Installation not working
« Reply #5 on: July 06, 2019, 02:36:35 pm »
Input/output errors are nearly always caused by either not being able to read from the source drive or write to the destination drive.

Are you

a) sure the LiveUSB is not corrupt
and/or
b) there's enough room on the destination drive

?
I'm pretty sur the LiveUSB ins't corrupt, as i've flashed it two times and etcher says it's not corrupt
and the free space is 90/102 gigabytes, so it's has enough room i think
nobody ever thinked about the namesnipe "Peppermint" lol

Offline Peppermint

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
  • don't eat me
    • View Profile
Re: Installation crashed midway (input/output error)
« Reply #6 on: July 06, 2019, 05:26:14 pm »
PcNetSpec, any way to fix it?  :-\
nobody ever thinked about the namesnipe "Peppermint" lol

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25280
  • Karma: 2793
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Installation crashed midway (input/output error)
« Reply #7 on: July 06, 2019, 07:34:20 pm »
Have you checked that part of the HDD for bad sectors ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline Peppermint

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
  • don't eat me
    • View Profile
Re: Installation crashed midway (input/output error)
« Reply #8 on: July 06, 2019, 07:46:51 pm »
No, but i'm gonna try doing it.
Should i do the quick or full scan?
nobody ever thinked about the namesnipe "Peppermint" lol

Offline Peppermint

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
  • don't eat me
    • View Profile
Re: Installation crashed midway (input/output error)
« Reply #9 on: July 06, 2019, 07:59:38 pm »
I have done a quick scan and there are no bad sectors
nobody ever thinked about the namesnipe "Peppermint" lol

Offline Peppermint

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
  • don't eat me
    • View Profile
Re: Installation crashed midway (input/output error)
« Reply #10 on: July 07, 2019, 10:34:05 am »
Now i have another problem. The installer just straight crashes.
I'm gonna stop trying before getting a reply, it will only cause more problems     :-[
this is the error


Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/lib/ubiquity/ubiquity/frontend/base.py", line 461, in check_returncode
    stdout=subprocess.PIPE)
  File "/usr/lib/python3.6/subprocess.py", line 709, in __init__
  File "/usr/lib/python3.6/subprocess.py", line 1344, in _execute_child
OSError: [Errno 5] Input/output error: 'wget'


EDIT:now the whole live system is just causing i/o errors, only thing that works is firefox

« Last Edit: July 07, 2019, 10:38:14 am by Peppermint »
nobody ever thinked about the namesnipe "Peppermint" lol

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25280
  • Karma: 2793
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Installation crashed midway (input/output error)
« Reply #11 on: July 07, 2019, 11:50:04 am »
Have you tried using DD mode in Rufus to create the LiveUSB ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline Peppermint

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
  • don't eat me
    • View Profile
Re: Installation crashed midway (input/output error)
« Reply #12 on: July 07, 2019, 11:58:04 am »
Have you tried using DD mode in Rufus to create the LiveUSB ?
While searching for a awnser, i've seen that. I was too lazy to try, but guess i'll try now.
nobody ever thinked about the namesnipe "Peppermint" lol

Offline Peppermint

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
  • don't eat me
    • View Profile
Re: Installation crashed midway (input/output error)
« Reply #13 on: July 07, 2019, 12:25:27 pm »
UPDATE: it's now working, thanks PcNetSpec
nobody ever thinked about the namesnipe "Peppermint" lol

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25280
  • Karma: 2793
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Installation crashed midway (input/output error) (SOLVED)
« Reply #14 on: July 07, 2019, 01:00:10 pm »
Glad to hear that worked :)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec