Choose style:

Author Topic: Used Rufus to put Peppermint 10 on USB, changed boot order, screen is blank  (Read 225 times)

Offline mll6

• nOOb
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 10
Hi everyone,
I'm new to this. I was hoping to install Linux to bring new life to my aging laptop. I followed the guide to downloading and installing peppermint 10 (https://peppermintos.com/guide/downloading/). I used Rufus to create the ISO on a USB and changed the boot order so it goes first but nothing happens. I get a black screen. When I remove the drive, I'm taken to Windows 10 and the computer operates normally. What did I most likely do wrong and how can I try to fix it?

Thank you
« Last Edit: June 27, 2019, 07:41:36 pm by mll6 »

Offline scifidude79

• Global Moderator
  • Hero
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 9
Well, your method for creating the Live USB is solid, Rufus always works for me. So, the problem is likely a boot setting.

With a lot of computers, you can hit a key during the boot splash (usually F11 or  F12) to do a one time boot of something like a flash drive. It will override the UEFI/BIOS settings for that session only, then revert back when you reboot. That's what I do when I want to boot from a flash drive.

Offline mll6

• nOOb
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
Well, your method for creating the Live USB is solid, Rufus always works for me. So, the problem is likely a boot setting.

With a lot of computers, you can hit a key during the boot splash (usually F11 or  F12) to do a one time boot of something like a flash drive. It will override the UEFI/BIOS settings for that session only, then revert back when you reboot. That's what I do when I want to boot from a flash drive.