Choose style:

Author Topic: assign a static ip address to my computer (SOLVED)  (Read 184 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline arky217

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 170
  • Karma: 10
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 9
assign a static ip address to my computer (SOLVED)
« on: June 25, 2019, 11:37:21 am »
I have two computers on my local area network that I routinely
transfer files between using the app Dukto.

In order for Dukto to work, I have to disable the firewalls on
each computer OR make firewall rules based on the ip addresses
of the computers so that Dukto will work when the firewalls are enabled.

Well, it's a nuisance to disable the firewalls every time I want to
transfer files and the problem with the rules is that the DHCP
assigned ip addresses from the router change every time that
the router is power cycled.
( Due to the frequent thunderstorms in this area, I always unplug
all electronic devices to keep them from being damaged by
lightning surges )

So, I would like to assign static ip address to these two computers;
permanent addresses that will not change when the computers are restarted.

I have read many web pages on how to do this, but I can't seem to grasp
how to do myself.

Can anyone help ?

« Last Edit: June 25, 2019, 04:51:16 pm by arky217 »

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25464
  • Karma: 2801
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: assign a static ip address to my computer
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2019, 01:30:11 pm »
You just need to enter network-mnager, then for your connection change the IPv4 settings similarly to this


Where:

192.168.1.22 == the static IP you want the machine to have
255.255.255.0 == a suitable netmask
192.168.1.1 == your routers IP address (notice it's used here as both the gateway and DNS)



You'll likely also want to make sure the static IP's you choose are excluded from the DHCP pool in the router .. so they never get handed out by your routers DHCP server to some other PC/phone/etc.
« Last Edit: June 25, 2019, 01:33:31 pm by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline arky217

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 170
  • Karma: 10
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 9
Re: assign a static ip address to my computer
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2019, 02:34:22 pm »
Thank you PCNetSpec; It now works.
I think my mistake was not rebooting the computer
after I made the changes.

My router ip is 192.168.2.1 and the assigned ip of
the computer I was trying to change was 192.168.2.5

I followed your instructions and changed it to 192.168.2.112
(My router's pool of ips goes from 192.168.2.2 to 192.168.2.110)

Funny thing is, now when I refresh the DHCP Client List in my router,
it still shows the computer's ip as 192.168.2.5.

However, I know the change took place because when I try to ping
192.168.2.5, it fails and when I ping 192.168.2.112, it pings ok.

Another thing I don't understand is when I looked again at the
computers settings, the Netmask has changed from 255.255.255.0
to 24

But it seems to work now with the new static ip.
Again, thanks.

Offline Howling Wolf

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 10
Re: assign a static ip address to my computer
« Reply #3 on: June 25, 2019, 02:50:40 pm »
The netmask 255 means that all the 8 bytes are set. 24 means that three of them are set, i.e. 255.255.255.0 = 8byte x 8byte x 8byte x 0byte = 24 It is the same thing simply another style of info.
If you switch off your router for a few seconds and then restart, IMHO the obsolete 192.168.2.5. will vanish.

Offline arky217

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 170
  • Karma: 10
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 9
Re: assign a static ip address to my computer
« Reply #4 on: June 25, 2019, 04:50:31 pm »
The netmask 255 means that all the 8 bytes are set. 24 means that three of them are set, i.e. 255.255.255.0 = 8byte x 8byte x 8byte x 0byte = 24 It is the same thing simply another style of info.
If you switch off your router for a few seconds and then restart, IMHO the obsolete 192.168.2.5. will vanish.

Thanks for the explanation.
Yes, the 192.168.2.5 did go away after rebooting the router.

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25464
  • Karma: 2801
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: assign a static ip address to my computer (SOLVED)
« Reply #5 on: June 25, 2019, 08:57:14 pm »
192.168.2.5 would have disappeared naturally as the DHCP lease expired, but yeah rebooting the router would terminate all leases and force a refresh.

Glad to hear you've got it all working now :)
« Last Edit: June 25, 2019, 08:59:07 pm by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec