Choose style:

Author Topic: RAM fills up (SOLVED)  (Read 683 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mefibo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 9
Re: RAM fills up
« Reply #15 on: June 22, 2019, 08:38:42 pm »
Now I really feel like a newbee

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25095
  • Karma: 2778
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: RAM fills up
« Reply #16 on: June 22, 2019, 11:07:14 pm »
Don't feel too bad, you're not the first to ask :)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline alynur

  • Trusted User
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 976
  • Karma: 54
  • Habitual Forum Browser
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P 9R (64bit), P 10
Re: RAM fills up
« Reply #17 on: June 23, 2019, 11:42:30 am »
Hi mefibo, welcome to Peppermint. Have a look at this post, especially starting with reply #5.  I had the same problem but not as severe as yours, just affecting my browser speed and got good help here. Now I install the cronjob with every Peppermint version I upgrade to. Good luck.
What was I thinking?

Offline mefibo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 9
Re: RAM fills uphe co
« Reply #18 on: June 24, 2019, 07:37:31 am »
First of all, thank you everybody for the offered help. In reply of the last post; the command
Code: [Select]
sync && echo 3 | sudo tee /proc/sys/vm/drop_caches
does nothing to either memory, including RES. I have tried it as user mefibo as well as root. So making it a cronjob is no solution. I am beginning to feel a bit desperate.
« Last Edit: June 24, 2019, 07:40:16 am by mefibo »

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25095
  • Karma: 2778
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: RAM fills up
« Reply #19 on: June 24, 2019, 11:36:01 am »
That will only clear caches .. it will not release memory being used (or leaked) by an application.

But you still haven't said what
Code: [Select]
htop -s PERCENT_MEM
discovered was progressively using more memory
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline mefibo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 9
Re: RAM fills up
« Reply #20 on: June 24, 2019, 12:11:23 pm »
The problem is, there does not seem to be a process that progressively occupies RAM. At the top are 3 process PID of python3, and 12 of nordvpn. But the usage does not increase.
I do not like to, cause it has cost me quite some effort to install programs, setup my wireless printer and all, but if I have to - I could perform a clean install and monitor the system after each program I install?

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25095
  • Karma: 2778
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: RAM fills up
« Reply #21 on: June 24, 2019, 12:20:22 pm »
Well EITHER some process (or a bunch of them) are progressively using memory.

OR

Something is caching a lot to memory .. which usually wouldn't be an issue in and of itself because if something requires real memory the caches would be dropped automatically to free enough space.

But currently you seem to be saying:-

a) nothing is progressively using real memory
AND
b) manually flushing the caches has no effect (so it's not caches)

So if there's nothing eating real memory, and nothing being loaded into caches, what makes you think this is a memory problem ?

Let's try this ..

Reboot your PC then post the output from
Code: [Select]
free -m
then run your PC for a while, and when you think memory is filling up, post the output from:
Code: [Select]
free -m
again.

This won't tell us "what" is using the memory, but it should give us an indication of whether it's caches or real memory being used.
« Last Edit: June 24, 2019, 12:24:21 pm by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline spence

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1862
  • Karma: 186
  • peppermint user since 2010
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 9 Respin
Re: RAM fills up
« Reply #22 on: June 24, 2019, 01:38:55 pm »
following along here, for me it's all about Firefox...


 


 >:(
spence
PeppermintOS 10installed  on:
'16 Antec Aria rebuild
 '18 Asus VivoBook


Do not despair, grasshopper...
    with patience all will be revealed...
       Through pain, enlightenment will come.

Offline mefibo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 9
Re: RAM fills up
« Reply #23 on: June 24, 2019, 02:40:50 pm »
As I posted before, starting directly after boot and with intervals of 1 hour:

Code: [Select]
mefibo@mefibo-HP-Stream-Notebook-PC-11 ~ $ free -m
              total        used        free      shared  buff/cache   available
Mem:           1884         429         455          36         999        1265
Swap:          1359           0        1359
mefibo@mefibo-HP-Stream-Notebook-PC-11 ~ $ free -m
              total        used        free      shared  buff/cache   available
Mem:           1884         773          69          40        1042         930
Swap:          1359           0        1359
mefibo@mefibo-HP-Stream-Notebook-PC-11 ~ $ free -m
              total        used        free      shared  buff/cache   available
Mem:           1884        1087          76          40         720         628
Swap:          1359           0        1359
mefibo@mefibo-HP-Stream-Notebook-PC-11 ~ $ free -m
              total        used        free      shared  buff/cache   available
Mem:           1884        1404          77          41         402         308
Swap:          1359           5        1354

Will screenshots of Htop help? How do I include an image; png jpg or gif in a post?

Firefox consumes lots of memory but that is freed after closing the app.

Offline mefibo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 9
Re: RAM fills up
« Reply #24 on: June 24, 2019, 02:49:26 pm »
Do not despair, grasshopper...
    with patience all will be revealed...
       Through pain, enlightenment will come.

I am running out of  patience and I am definitely in pain. Waiting for enlightenment but leaning to a fresh install. Should I try an older version?
And when I install programs, should I get the most recent from the developers website or install an - older - version in the Program-manager coming with Peppermint? The first option I chose for my current installation.
« Last Edit: June 24, 2019, 03:02:37 pm by mefibo »

Offline mefibo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 9
Re: RAM fills up
« Reply #25 on: June 24, 2019, 03:12:20 pm »
I am gonna perform a clean install. See you after completion.

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25095
  • Karma: 2778
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: RAM fills up
« Reply #26 on: June 24, 2019, 03:14:32 pm »
Well SOMETHING is taking up 'actual' memory (not just caches) because it steadily climbs from 429 --> 773 --> 1087 --> 1404
(with the caches actually shrinking to make room as they should)

You need to use htop to figure out what it is.
Code: [Select]
htop -s PERCENT_MEM
should help.

[EDIT]

Your call about the reinstall ;)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline mefibo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 9
Re: RAM fills up
« Reply #27 on: June 24, 2019, 03:18:52 pm »
I have watched about everything in Htop; NOTHING IS INCREASING. I donīt know what else to do but a clean install

The Htop command you are suggesting MEM% etc. I have used; shows Python3 at 3 PIDs, nordvpn at 12 PIDs, NOT INCREASING
« Last Edit: June 24, 2019, 03:21:50 pm by mefibo »

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25095
  • Karma: 2778
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: RAM fills up
« Reply #28 on: June 24, 2019, 04:22:58 pm »
You understand how top and htop work right ?

htop (when started with that command) dynamically displays the processes CURRENTLY using the most memory. whatever is eating the RAM may not have moved up the list to the top yet .. but the ONLY way to figure out what's using the memory is by process monitoring.

You can always use the down arrow key to look at processes that haven't risen into the top ten or so yet .. but only you can monitor those processes in real time and keep an eye out for errant processes.
« Last Edit: June 24, 2019, 04:24:52 pm by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline spence

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1862
  • Karma: 186
  • peppermint user since 2010
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 9 Respin
Re: RAM fills up
« Reply #29 on: June 25, 2019, 09:19:16 pm »
Do not despair, grasshopper...
    with patience all will be revealed...
       Through pain, enlightenment will come.

I am running out of  patience and I am definitely in pain. Waiting for enlightenment but leaning to a fresh install. Should I try an older version?
And when I install programs, should I get the most recent from the developers website or install an - older - version in the Program-manager coming with Peppermint? The first option I chose for my current installation.

 :-\ you quoted my tagline @mefibo... which is appended on ALL of my posts just as PCNetSpec's is... neither of which are directed towards any individual user. Taglines are merely phrases or sayings we find pertinent or amusing, a lingering artifact of the days when support was provided via newsgroups and everyone collected taglines... 

Complete reinstalls are not always the answer, but please do let us know how you get on.
   ;)
« Last Edit: June 25, 2019, 09:36:15 pm by spence »
spence
PeppermintOS 10installed  on:
'16 Antec Aria rebuild
 '18 Asus VivoBook


Do not despair, grasshopper...
    with patience all will be revealed...
       Through pain, enlightenment will come.