Choose style:

Author Topic: Unable to print from HP 2529 Printer(SOLVED)  (Read 529 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline alynur

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1019
  • Karma: 56
  • Habitual Forum Browser
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P 9R (64bit), P 10
Unable to print from HP 2529 Printer(SOLVED)
« on: June 11, 2019, 11:50:17 am »
Hello Peppermint people. This is new, just popped up this morning while trying to print a couple of forms. The scanner works okay. Not sure what's going on.

 
 
« Last Edit: June 14, 2019, 03:52:17 pm by alynur »
What was I thinking?

Offline alynur

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1019
  • Karma: 56
  • Habitual Forum Browser
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P 9R (64bit), P 10
Re: Unable to print from HP 2529 Printer
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2019, 12:08:25 pm »
This is P 9R and I get this when I select print


 
What was I thinking?

Offline alynur

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1019
  • Karma: 56
  • Habitual Forum Browser
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P 9R (64bit), P 10
Re: Unable to print from HP 2529 Printer
« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2019, 01:47:40 pm »
Just a note, printer works fine in P 10 in same computer.
What was I thinking?

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25933
  • Karma: 2835
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Unable to print from HP 2529 Printer
« Reply #3 on: June 11, 2019, 05:37:37 pm »
So can you adjust the margins in the printer settings anywhere ?

and have you tried installing the printer via hplip-gui rather than system-config-printers ?
(you'll need to install hplip-gui first)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline alynur

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1019
  • Karma: 56
  • Habitual Forum Browser
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P 9R (64bit), P 10
Re: Unable to print from HP 2529 Printer
« Reply #4 on: June 12, 2019, 10:41:05 pm »
Hi PCNetSpec, I looked at the page margins and just tried a different file, a jpeg file and the printer messages doesn't even pop up. I have uninstalled the printer a couple of times and reinstalled it using both methods and it stays the same. This is very strange. The next thing I'll do if you can't think of something else, is restore a Timeshift snapshot from a week ago when it was working to see what happens. As I mentioned, it all works fine in P 10. I don't understand it.  :-\
What was I thinking?

Offline alynur

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1019
  • Karma: 56
  • Habitual Forum Browser
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P 9R (64bit), P 10
Re: Unable to print from HP 2529 Printer
« Reply #5 on: June 14, 2019, 03:51:28 pm »
I went ahead and restored a prior Timeshift snapshot, updated everything and rebooted. The printer is printing just like before when it would print. Wish I knew what caused the fault but it's working now and that's what matters.   :)
What was I thinking?

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25933
  • Karma: 2835
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Unable to print from HP 2529 Printer(SOLVED)
« Reply #6 on: June 14, 2019, 07:27:02 pm »
Great news my mate :)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline alynur

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1019
  • Karma: 56
  • Habitual Forum Browser
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P 9R (64bit), P 10
Re: Unable to print from HP 2529 Printer(SOLVED)
« Reply #7 on: July 16, 2019, 03:27:25 pm »
I just completed the manual upgrade of this installation of P 9 to P 10 and I still couldn't print until I uninstalled the printer and reinstalled it again. It's working good so far. Still no idea why I lost printing ability though.  :-\
What was I thinking?