Choose style:

Author Topic: Peppermint 10  (Read 444 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline 151tom

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: 5
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
Peppermint 10
« on: June 02, 2019, 09:33:55 am »
Hello forums,

Just installed Peppermint 10 have a couple of questions.

Does the Minimal Install option work as that is what I chose however seems to have installed as a full although uncertain.

What happened to the Peppermint Start Page that was used in previous Peppermint versions as I noticed the standard default Firefox page.

The install and updates went without problems and then a few bits of additional software installed using Synaptic Package Manager.

Everything seems to be working.  :)

Peppermint 10 installed on a 2007 HP Pavilion I put together from spare parts.

Spoiler (click here to view / hide)

xxxxxx@hp-pavilion ~ $ inxi -Fxz
System:    Host: hp-pavilion Kernel: 4.18.0-20-generic x86_64 bits: 64 gcc: 7.3.0 Desktop: N/A
           Distro: Peppermint Ten
Machine:   Device: desktop System: HP-Pavilion product: GN556AA-ABA a6200n serial: N/A
           Mobo: ECS model: Nettle2 v: 1.0 serial: N/A BIOS: Phoenix v: 5.12 date: 06/11/2007
CPU:       Dual core AMD Athlon 64 X2 5600+ (-MCP-) arch: K8 rev.F+ cache: 2048 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 svm) bmips: 11251
           clock speeds: max: 2800 MHz 1: 2800 MHz 2: 2800 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Park [Mobility Radeon HD 5430] bus-ID: 02:00.0
           Display Server: x11 (X.Org 1.20.1 ) drivers: ati,radeon (unloaded: modesetting,fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1152x720@59.97hz
           OpenGL: renderer: AMD CEDAR (DRM 2.50.0 / 4.18.0-20-generic, LLVM 7.0.0)
           version: 3.3 Mesa 18.2.8 Direct Render: Yes
Audio:     Card-1 Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Cedar HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 5400/6300/7300 Series]
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 02:00.1
           Card-2 NVIDIA MCP61 High Definition Audio driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:05.0
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.18.0-20-generic
Network:   Card: NVIDIA MCP61 Ethernet driver: forcedeth port: ec00 bus-ID: 00:07.0
           IF: enp0s7 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 82.3GB (10.1% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: Hitachi_HDS72168 size: 82.3GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 75G used: 7.8G (11%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda1
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 44.0C mobo: 18.0C gpu: 53.5
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: 866 fan-1: 1658
Info:      Processes: 173 Uptime: 53 min Memory: 708.0/5960.5MB Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 7.4.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.4.191) inxi: 2.3.56
xxxxxx@hp-pavilion ~ $

[close]


Thanks
« Last Edit: June 02, 2019, 11:44:02 am by VinDSL, Reason: Fixed spoiler tag »

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25459
  • Karma: 2800
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Peppermint 10
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2019, 10:43:56 am »
The minimal install option currently does nothing .. we're already "user application" bare .. it's our ethos not to choose user apps (that's your job) :)

The Peppermint Start Page should still be the default homepage when you open Firefox (or Chrome/Chromium) .. did you keep a home folder from a previous installation ?
https://start.peppermintos.com
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline 151tom

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: 5
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
Re: Peppermint 10
« Reply #2 on: June 02, 2019, 11:06:35 am »
The Peppermint Start Page should still be the default homepage when you open Firefox (or Chrome/Chromium) .. did you keep a home folder from a previous installation ?
https://start.peppermintos.com
Nope clean raw fresh install.

Oh well just was curious that's all.

it's working good so will leave it as is.

Thanks. :)

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25459
  • Karma: 2800
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Peppermint 10
« Reply #3 on: June 02, 2019, 05:06:24 pm »
Can you post the output from:
Code: [Select]
ls ~/.mozilla/firefox
and
Code: [Select]
cat ~/.mozilla/firefox/profiles.ini
and
Code: [Select]
ls /etc/skel/.mozilla/firefox



And is anyone else missing the Peppermint Start Page ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline 151tom

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: 5
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
Re: Peppermint 10
« Reply #4 on: June 12, 2019, 06:41:12 am »
Sorry for the delay in posting what you asked for.

thomas@hp-pavilion-500-054 ~ $ ls ~/.mozilla/firefox
'Crash Reports'   installs.ini  'Pending Pings'   peppermint.default   profiles.ini   xrdc0rxp.default-release
thomas@hp-pavilion-500-054 ~ $


thomas@hp-pavilion-500-054 ~ $ cat ~/.mozilla/firefox/profiles.ini
[Install4F96D1932A9F858E]
Default=xrdc0rxp.default-release
Locked=1

[Profile1]
Name=default-release
IsRelative=1
Path=xrdc0rxp.default-release

[Profile0]
Name=default
IsRelative=1
Path=peppermint.default
Default=1

[General]
StartWithLastProfile=1
Version=2

thomas@hp-pavilion-500-054 ~ $


thomas@hp-pavilion-500-054 ~ $ ls /etc/skel/.mozilla/firefox
peppermint.default  profiles.ini
thomas@hp-pavilion-500-054 ~ $



Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25459
  • Karma: 2800
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Peppermint 10
« Reply #5 on: June 12, 2019, 05:26:17 pm »
You're not using the default Peppermint Firefox profile .. which explains why your defaults are different.

If you want the defaults, WITH FIREFOX CLOSED run:
Code: [Select]
xed ~/.mozilla/firefox/profiles.ini
and make it read:-
Code: [Select]
[Install4F96D1932A9F858E]
Default=peppermint.default

[Profile0]
Name=default
IsRelative=1
Path=peppermint.default
Default=1

[General]
StartWithLastProfile=1
Version=2
SAVE the file .. and now launch Firefox.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline 151tom

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: 5
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
Re: Peppermint 10
« Reply #6 on: June 12, 2019, 06:33:17 pm »
Hello PCNetSpec,

I wonder what caused it to change.

The first install I did choose the minimal install choice which you said is inactive.

I did a normal install on the second desktop without any changes.

Both times the standard default Firefox page.

Everything works good on both desktop computers.


Thanks
« Last Edit: June 12, 2019, 06:36:00 pm by 151tom »

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25459
  • Karma: 2800
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Peppermint 10
« Reply #7 on: June 15, 2019, 11:13:11 am »
Can't help you with what changed it I'm afraid.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline 151tom

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: 5
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
Re: Peppermint 10
« Reply #8 on: June 16, 2019, 04:33:53 pm »
Can't help you with what changed it I'm afraid.
Oh well.
That's Cool.

It's all working good.
I don't mind DuckDuckGo for my search page.

 :)