Choose style:

Author Topic: Mount with rclone at boot (SOLVED)  (Read 127 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline )nlym3

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 10
Mount with rclone at boot (SOLVED)
« on: May 24, 2019, 09:04:52 am »
Hi all

Using Peppermint 10.
I am trying to mount onedrive at boot using rclone by adding
sh -c "rclone --vfs-cache-mode writes mount One-Drive: ~/OneDrive"
to startup apps.

No good. Onedrive does not mount. By the way any app that I add, simply does not launch at boot.
If I issue the instructions using cli, then everything works just fine.

It works in ubuntu, Linuxmint, Manjaro and any other distro I remember using it.

Any ideas please?
« Last Edit: May 24, 2019, 10:12:02 am by )nlym3 »

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25300
  • Karma: 2793
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Mount with rclone at boot
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2019, 09:31:24 am »
If the command works when run in the CLI, add it to an executable bash script .. say:
Code: [Select]
xed ~/.rclone-startup
make it read
Code: [Select]
#!/bin/bash
sh -c "rclone --vfs-cache-mode writes mount One-Drive: /home/<username>/OneDrive"
make it executable
Code: [Select]
chmod +x ~/.rclone-startup
then run that bash script at login by adding the line
Code: [Select]
/home/<username>/.rclone-startup
to the startup apps.
(Default applications for LXSession > Autostart [tab])

Remember to replace <username> with your actual username in both the script and the autostart command .. "~" means nothing to Default applications for LXSession .. you need to specify the full path.
« Last Edit: May 24, 2019, 09:34:53 am by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline )nlym3

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 10
Re: Mount with rclone at boot
« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2019, 10:09:14 am »
Excellent suggestion. Many thanks.
Marking this as solved.

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25300
  • Karma: 2793
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Mount with rclone at boot (SOLVED)
« Reply #3 on: May 24, 2019, 12:43:57 pm »
You're most welcome, glad I could help :)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec