Author Topic: Where are my apps  (Read 5098 times)

Offline sai

• Newly Subscribed
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 5
Where are my apps
« on: August 13, 2014, 09:46:07 pm »
Hello,
I have just installed peppermint 5 on my laptop, i have a few questions. I'm a total noob at linux and have used the terminal only in a couple of occasions, so please explain stuff to me like I'm a 5 year old :P :D
Firstly, where are my installed apps. Example, i have just installed kolourpaint, xbacklight etc,. where can i find these apps?

Secondly, in Ubuntu, whenever i pressed 'Alt' button or the 'Windows' button, a search bar used to pop up and i could search for any thing and everything. Is there such a provision on Peppermint?

Thirdly, I'm not finding the menu available on Peppermint very useful... Is there someway i can get a better desktop user interface?

Thanks ^_^

Offline iamesperambient

• Veteran
  • a totally awesome dude
    • View Profile
    • i AM esper (drone ambient music)
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8 64 bit
Re: Where are my apps
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2014, 12:14:31 am »
Hi im also a noob but im catching on quick thanks to everyone on this forum.
Ok for one your APPS (not sure what apps you have never heard of those) should be
in your menu  the paint one sounds like it should be in 'graphics' in the drop down menu.
ALso if you want to search for files you can go to menu accessories file search and it will
open a window like mac or windows where you can search for a file.

Also if you wish to install a dock like mac you can install cairo-dock which is really nice
and load up your main apps, programs, browser etc from the dock and move your panel
up to the top it gives it a more mac like feel and i find it a bit more user friendly.  also
there is something called 'software manager' it should be in your menu at the bottom
this allows you to search for a program and you can click and install apps/programs etc