Choose style:

Author Topic: Problems with Virtual machine.(SOLVED)  (Read 348 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline alynur

  • Trusted User
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 985
  • Karma: 54
  • Habitual Forum Browser
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P 9R (64bit), P 10
Problems with Virtual machine.(SOLVED)
« on: May 07, 2019, 06:47:06 pm »
Hello Peppermint people. I'm trying to boot up windows 7 in my virtual machine, not a problem on my old computer, but since I got this new one, I'm running into little problems. I don't have HDMI output and there are driver updates for the Radeon 7 video gpu but I need to know what version the thing is. According to AMD, windows can auto detect the equipment and give me a couple of codes that will get me the model number. Anyway, when I try to boot w 7, I get this message and it doesn't boot.
Code: [Select]
		VT-x/AMD-V hardware acceleration is not available on your system. Your 64-bit guest will fail to detect a 64-bit CPU and will not be able to boot.

Anybody have an idea of how I can fix this or where I can find help?
 
This is my system

Code: [Select]
albert@albert-desktop ~ $ inxi -Fz
System:    Host: albert-desktop Kernel: 5.0.0-050000-generic x86_64 bits: 64
           Desktop: N/A Distro: Peppermint Nine
Machine:   Device: desktop Mobo: Micro-Star model: A320M PRO-M2 (MS-7B84) v: 1.0 serial: N/A
           UEFI: American Megatrends v: 1.Q4 date: 12/06/2018
CPU:       Quad core AMD A8-9600 RADEON R7 10 COMPUTE CORES 4C+6G (-MCP-)
           cache: 4096 KB
           clock speeds: max: 3100 MHz 1: 3292 MHz 2: 1754 MHz 3: 1555 MHz
           4: 1517 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Wani [Radeon R5/R6/R7 Graphics]
           Display Server: x11 (X.Org 1.19.6 )
           drivers: ati,amdgpu (unloaded: modesetting,fbdev,vesa,radeon)
           Resolution: 1920x1080@60.00hz
           OpenGL: renderer: AMD CARRIZO (DRM 3.27.0, 5.0.0-050000-generic, LLVM 7.0.0)
           version: 4.5 Mesa 18.2.8
Audio:     Card-1 Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Kabini HDMI/DP Audio
           driver: snd_hda_intel
           Card-2 Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 15h (Models 60h-6fh) Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k5.0.0-050000-generic
Network:   Card: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCIE Gigabit Ethernet Controller
           driver: r8169
           IF: enp27s0 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 500.1GB (27.2% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: Samsung_SSD_860 size: 500.1GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 48G used: 29G (63%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda2
           ID-2: swap-1 size: 8.39GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda5
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 48.9C mobo: N/A gpu: 49.0
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 229 Uptime: 26 min Memory: 1468.9/7482.3MB
           Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.56

 :(
« Last Edit: June 05, 2019, 02:13:04 pm by alynur »
What was I thinking?

Offline pin

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1823
  • Karma: 250
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with Virtual machine.
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2019, 11:34:08 pm »
Have you enabled virtualization in the BIOS?

Offline alynur

  • Trusted User
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 985
  • Karma: 54
  • Habitual Forum Browser
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P 9R (64bit), P 10
Re: Problems with Virtual machine.
« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2019, 07:17:00 pm »
Have you enabled virtualization in the BIOS?

Hi pin, no I haven't, I'll take a look. Thanks. I also need to see if there is a way to use the VGA monitor as default, if I have the TV plugged in, the grub menu goes there and I never see it on my monitor.
What was I thinking?

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25312
  • Karma: 2793
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Problems with Virtual machine.
« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2019, 05:16:19 am »
Maybe try this
https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2191300

Dunno if it'll work, but worth a shot
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline alynur

  • Trusted User
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 985
  • Karma: 54
  • Habitual Forum Browser
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P 9R (64bit), P 10
Re: Problems with Virtual machine.
« Reply #4 on: May 12, 2019, 12:10:29 am »
Have you enabled virtualization in the BIOS?

i looked in bios and I couldn't see anything that resembled virtual settings. 

Maybe try this
https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2191300

Dunno if it'll work, but worth a shot

This is one of the first things I do after a fresh install. I always change the resolution to 800x600, makes reading the grub menu a lot easier.
What was I thinking?

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25312
  • Karma: 2793
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Problems with Virtual machine.
« Reply #5 on: May 12, 2019, 06:07:14 am »
The MSI A320M PRO-M2 does support virtualisation.

You need to enable "SVM Mode" under BIOS --> Overclocking --> CPU Features

Then you'll be able to install 64bit Guest OS's in a VM.



Source
https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/support/A320M-PRO-M2
select FAQ on the left

then look for the question General --> Can this motherboard support VT function
« Last Edit: May 13, 2019, 02:04:41 pm by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline alynur

  • Trusted User
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 985
  • Karma: 54
  • Habitual Forum Browser
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P 9R (64bit), P 10
Re: Problems with Virtual machine.
« Reply #6 on: May 13, 2019, 12:01:09 pm »
Boy o boy do I ever need to practice up on my search skills. Thanks PCNetSpec, they(I) don't call you "oh tremendous one" for nothing. That did the trick, I once again have a virtual machine.   ;D
What was I thinking?

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25312
  • Karma: 2793
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Problems with Virtual machine.
« Reply #7 on: May 13, 2019, 02:07:34 pm »
Second order Goo-fu sensei :)
(at least in my own mind)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec