Choose style:

Author Topic: [SOLVED] Problem with resolution  (Read 365 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Saluc

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 9
[SOLVED] Problem with resolution
« on: May 03, 2019, 01:38:08 am »
Hello there!

I'm having a problem to display the correct monitor resolution

The display only shows:  640x380 to 1024x768 resolution screen settings

My  monitor natively supports 1360x768

Before fully installing Peppermint 9, I was testing with the live cd version, and  the same happened

I'm looking for a solution to this, regards!



« Last Edit: May 05, 2019, 07:07:45 pm by Saluc »

Offline zebedeeboss

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 2994
  • Karma: 560
  • Life first... Peppermint a close 2nd :)
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P10 / P9 Respin
Re: Problem with resolution
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2019, 03:53:29 am »
Hi Saluc,

Welcome to the forums.  So we can better understand your system and try to resolve your problem can we please have the output from the following terminal command

Code: [Select]
sudo inxi -Fz

Kind Regards Zeb...
Be Kind Whenever Possible...   It is Always Possible - Dalai Lama

Linux User #565092
P10 x64 Desktop - AMD Threadripper 2950X - 64Gb RAM - NVIDIA RTX2080Ti 11Gb - 2 x 27" 4k 3840x2160 - 1 x 34" 5120x2160
P9/10 @ P9 x64 Laptop - i7-7700HQ @ 2.80GHz - 8Gb RAM - Nvidia GTX1050 4Gb - 15.6" HD 1920x1080

Offline Saluc

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 9
Re: Problem with resolution
« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2019, 06:05:59 pm »
Hello Zebedeeboss
Here is the output:

click here to view / hide)

System:    Host: darude Kernel: 4.15.0-48-generic i686 bits: 32
           Console: tty 0 Distro: Peppermint Nine
Machine:   Device: desktop System: POSITIVO product: POS-ECIG41BS v: 0916_POS serial: <filter>
           Mobo: ECS Elitegroup model: ECS G41T-R3 v: POSITIVO serial: <filter>
           BIOS: Desenvolvida para Positivo Informatica SA v: 110916 date: 09/16/2011
CPU:       Dual core Intel Celeron E3300 (-MCP-) cache: 1024 KB
           clock speeds: max: 1312 MHz 1: 1215 MHz 2: 1312 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Intel 4 Series Integrated Graphics Controller
           Display Server: X.Org 1.19.6 drivers: modesetting (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1024x768@60.00hz
           OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel G41 x86/MMX/SSE2
           version: 2.1 Mesa 18.2.8
Audio:     Card Intel NM10/ICH7 Family High Def. Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.15.0-48-generic
Network:   Card: JMicron JMC260 PCIE Fast Ethernet Controller driver: jme
           IF: ens34 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 504.0GB (2.1% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: ST500DM002 size: 500.1GB
           ID-2: USB /dev/sdf model: DataTraveler_2.0 size: 3.9GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 15G used: 5.3G (40%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda5
           ID-2: /home size: 81G used: 1.2G (2%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda7
           ID-3: swap-1 size: 4.09GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda6
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 30.0C mobo: N/A
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 170 Uptime: 17 min Memory: 984.0/1945.9MB
           Client: Shell (sudo) inxi: 2.3.56
[close]
« Last Edit: May 03, 2019, 06:58:53 pm by Saluc »

Offline zebedeeboss

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 2994
  • Karma: 560
  • Life first... Peppermint a close 2nd :)
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P10 / P9 Respin
Re: Problem with resolution
« Reply #3 on: May 04, 2019, 02:11:09 am »
Hi Sulac,

OK, thanks for that

So my next question is have you looking in the additional drivers utility to see if there is anything there for intel graphics.  They should just work but can be problematic.

Have a look there please and also can you supply the output from the terminal command
Code: [Select]
xrandr

Kind Regards Zeb...
Be Kind Whenever Possible...   It is Always Possible - Dalai Lama

Linux User #565092
P10 x64 Desktop - AMD Threadripper 2950X - 64Gb RAM - NVIDIA RTX2080Ti 11Gb - 2 x 27" 4k 3840x2160 - 1 x 34" 5120x2160
P9/10 @ P9 x64 Laptop - i7-7700HQ @ 2.80GHz - 8Gb RAM - Nvidia GTX1050 4Gb - 15.6" HD 1920x1080

Offline Saluc

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 9
Re: Problem with resolution
« Reply #4 on: May 04, 2019, 02:40:27 am »
Hi Sulac,

OK, thanks for that

So my next question is have you looking in the additional drivers utility to see if there is anything there for intel graphics.  They should just work but can be problematic.

i have tried but nothing shows up   "No additional drivers available"

Have a look there please and also can you supply the output from the terminal command
Code: [Select]
xrandr

Here it goes:

xrandr
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1024 x 768, maximum 8192 x 8192
VGA-1 connected primary 1024x768+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 0mm x 0mm
   1024x768      60.00*
   800x600       60.32    56.25 
   848x480       60.00 
   640x480       59.94 


Offline pin

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1823
  • Karma: 250
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with resolution
« Reply #5 on: May 04, 2019, 04:09:04 am »
Have a look here, https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Xrandr

You have to give Arch credit for the wiki  :)

Offline Saluc

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 9
Re: Problem with resolution
« Reply #6 on: May 04, 2019, 05:14:55 pm »
Have a look here, https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Xrandr

You have to give Arch credit for the wiki  :)

Nothing else seems to fix

I tried:

xrandr --addmode VGA1 1360x768_60_new
xrandr: cannot find output "VGA1"


I don't know what to do anymore. I'm really new to Linux and I'm enjoying this Peppermint.
« Last Edit: May 04, 2019, 09:52:49 pm by Saluc »

Offline zebedeeboss

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 2994
  • Karma: 560
  • Life first... Peppermint a close 2nd :)
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P10 / P9 Respin
Re: Problem with resolution
« Reply #7 on: May 04, 2019, 11:03:49 pm »
Hi Saluc,

Hope this helps. Please note the outputs supplied are just examples for you to work with - you will use the output from the terminal commands relevant to your screen size.

I always use xrandr in a terminal when a Distro plays up and or can't quite work out what I have.

start by typing xrandr and seeing what it recognises.

The next thing to do is to get the right tech description of the resolution you require - you do this by typing in a terminal

Code: [Select]
cvt 1920 1200
or
Code: [Select]
cvt 1920 1080
depends on what your monitor can do you will choose 1360x768

you will then get something like - yours should show the 1360x768 you typed in

Code: [Select]
zebedee@ ~ $ cvt 1920 1200
# 1920x1200 59.88 Hz (CVT 2.30MA) hsync: 74.56 kHz; pclk: 193.25 MHz
Modeline "1920x1200_60.00"  193.25  1920 2056 2256 2592  1200 1203 1209 1245 -hsync +vsync

now all you actually need from this is

Code: [Select]
1920x1200_60.00  193.25  1920 2056 2256 2592  1200 1203 1209 1245 -hsync +vsync

please note the removal of the " around the screen size
you next tell yr system that you have this resolution available by typing

Code: [Select]
xrandr --newmode 1920x1200_60.00  193.25  1920 2056 2256 2592  1200 1203 1209 1245 -hsync +vsync

then you tell it what screen it applies to; change VGA-1 to whatever your monitor is called in the original xrandr command

Code: [Select]
xrandr --addmode VGA-1 1920x1200_60.00
then you tell the screen to use the new resolution

Code: [Select]
xrandr --output VGA-1 --mode 1920x1200_60.00

Now I will say this only works with the standard driver install that comes with a Distro if that distro is playing up.

Regards Zeb...
Be Kind Whenever Possible...   It is Always Possible - Dalai Lama

Linux User #565092
P10 x64 Desktop - AMD Threadripper 2950X - 64Gb RAM - NVIDIA RTX2080Ti 11Gb - 2 x 27" 4k 3840x2160 - 1 x 34" 5120x2160
P9/10 @ P9 x64 Laptop - i7-7700HQ @ 2.80GHz - 8Gb RAM - Nvidia GTX1050 4Gb - 15.6" HD 1920x1080

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25266
  • Karma: 2793
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Problem with resolution
« Reply #8 on: May 05, 2019, 06:21:30 pm »
and be careful with command syntax...

it's "VGA-1" not "VGA1" ;)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline Saluc

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 9
Re: Problem with resolution
« Reply #9 on: May 05, 2019, 07:00:35 pm »
I followed step by step and now it works!  Thanks for the support!

Offline Saluc

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 9
Re: Problem with resolution
« Reply #10 on: May 05, 2019, 07:04:20 pm »
and be careful with command syntax...

it's "VGA-1" not "VGA1" ;)

I typed VGA1 before, and "1360x768" instead of  1360x768  thats why it wasnt working

I think I'm really addicted to the linux terminal, it is very intuitive in my opinion.
« Last Edit: May 05, 2019, 07:15:25 pm by Saluc »

Offline zebedeeboss

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 2994
  • Karma: 560
  • Life first... Peppermint a close 2nd :)
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P10 / P9 Respin
Re: [SOLVED] Problem with resolution
« Reply #11 on: May 05, 2019, 10:30:40 pm »
Hi Saluc,

I am glad you have got it working and thank you for marking the Topic [Solved]

Regards Zeb...
Be Kind Whenever Possible...   It is Always Possible - Dalai Lama

Linux User #565092
P10 x64 Desktop - AMD Threadripper 2950X - 64Gb RAM - NVIDIA RTX2080Ti 11Gb - 2 x 27" 4k 3840x2160 - 1 x 34" 5120x2160
P9/10 @ P9 x64 Laptop - i7-7700HQ @ 2.80GHz - 8Gb RAM - Nvidia GTX1050 4Gb - 15.6" HD 1920x1080