Choose style:

Author Topic: I might have spoken a bit to soon when it comes to my AMD desktop...[SOLVED]  (Read 700 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline drakken

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: 3
  • I have found my new #!. And this is better.
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 9_x64
 Welp, I have some issues gents,

 I tried to get pep-9 installed on the AMD desktop in my signature. It has been chugging along nicely running PopOs for over a year now with no issues aside from the bloat that come with running Gnome3. Which I know should not be something to worry about with 32gb installed.
 I have however, fallen head over geek heels for the speed and responsiveness of Pep! This distro is seriously the new geekness for oldschool cats like me. So here is what I have done so far:

 1. I have downloaded the pep-9 iso and checked it via GPG keys, from there? I burned it to 3 different USB sticks.
 2. From there I have booted from all the sticks to the desktop. Installed Pep without any issue (both legacy and UEFI). Every install with or wtihout LVM seemed to work without issue. However, once I reboot I get an error asking for an OS.
  = Each time, after a failed install I would boot the live instance, open gparted, blow out all formating to start with a clean slate.

 3. I built this kit with an AMD FX-6300 cpu paired with a Gigabyte 970A-DS3P mobo. (Firmware is up to date, I have made the changes in BIOS regarding Legacy/UEFI boot). :(
   = I am kinda of at a loss here. I can install Lubuntu, Ubuntu, Xbuntu etc to include as I stated PopOS which is also based on Ubuntu.  As I cannot get Pep9 to install I can boot from the live USB to give anything from lspci/inxi etc that might be needed. :-\

 I really do appreciate any help as I would love to play with Pep on this computer. I can only think of how fast and fun it would be! :D

V/R
drakken
« Last Edit: March 26, 2019, 11:38:27 pm by drakken »
Thinkpad T430 (Pep 9), Thinkpad x220 (Pep9)
Home built AMD FX-6300-32GB ram- Nvidia GTX 750. Tri-monitor- Pep-9-64bit

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26316
  • Karma: 2855
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: I might have spoken a bit to soon when it comes to my AMD desktop...
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2019, 04:42:16 am »
Is this a legacy BIOS or UEFI system ?

And is Peppermint currently installed (but not booting), or not ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline drakken

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: 3
  • I have found my new #!. And this is better.
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 9_x64
Re: I might have spoken a bit to soon when it comes to my AMD desktop...
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2019, 11:33:43 pm »
I am sorry. I guess I was not able to clarify my thoughts. It was rather late and I was tired after trying to sort this install out.

 1. The mobo supports UEFI and legacy. I went into BIOS and changed between Legacy and UEFI to see it that would fix the issue. ( I also chose between legacy and UEFI from the boot menu for the usb-sticks I have pep-9 currently on.)
 2. Pep-9 will boot and install on the computer, but after reboot; I get a message asking for an OS or reboot. I don't even get a grub menu.
 3. If boot from a USB stick running say Xubuntu? I can see the pep-9 partions on the hard drive. Everything is there. But no matter what I do? I cannot get the hard drive install to boot.
 4. Currently said desktop is running PopOS fine with LVM encryption with no worries after many updates and reboots.

 ~Thanks for any help gents.
drakken
Thinkpad T430 (Pep 9), Thinkpad x220 (Pep9)
Home built AMD FX-6300-32GB ram- Nvidia GTX 750. Tri-monitor- Pep-9-64bit

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26316
  • Karma: 2855
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: I might have spoken a bit to soon when it comes to my AMD desktop...
« Reply #3 on: March 20, 2019, 05:41:58 pm »
Okay from what I've heard, Pop_OS! does some weird bootloader / partitoning thing that makes it really not want to live alongside any other OS.

What is the goal here ? .. dual booting, or replacing Pop_OS! with Peppermint ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline drakken

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: 3
  • I have found my new #!. And this is better.
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 9_x64
Re: I might have spoken a bit to soon when it comes to my AMD desktop...
« Reply #4 on: March 20, 2019, 11:37:14 pm »
Well I guess that would be obvious. :D I want to get this last computer on Pep. Tis the best linux Distro since #! I have ever used. I am loving it on my other 3 computers. I would really love to have my main desktop running it as well.  :-\

 I am simply at a loss here >:( I have tried everything I can think of to get this sorted. Like I said. I can boot Pep-9 with no worries on the desktop. I can go through the install with no worries. Everything seems to be keen. But when I reboot I am left with a black screen asking for an OS or boot media. I can reboot with a USB stick of any other linux distro and see that everything installed just fine. But it will not boot.  ::)
 Everything looks fine when it comes to GRUB.
 I have checked everything I can think of.. Tried everything I could think to check.. :( Even did some reading from the Ubuntu and Mint forums.. so far? Pep-9 will install, but when I try to reboot into it? I get nothing.
Thinkpad T430 (Pep 9), Thinkpad x220 (Pep9)
Home built AMD FX-6300-32GB ram- Nvidia GTX 750. Tri-monitor- Pep-9-64bit

Offline alynur

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1058
  • Karma: 56
  • Habitual Forum Browser
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P 9R (64bit), P 10
Re: I might have spoken a bit to soon when it comes to my AMD desktop...
« Reply #5 on: March 21, 2019, 10:15:06 am »
Hi drakken, if you only want Peppermint installed on the computer, then selecting to install alone, rewrite the hard disc, should do the trick and don't forget to install the boot loader on the device, not a partition.
What was I thinking?

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26316
  • Karma: 2855
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: I might have spoken a bit to soon when it comes to my AMD desktop...
« Reply #6 on: March 21, 2019, 01:34:55 pm »
Set the BIOS to UEFI (with Secureboot disabled)

Boot to the LiveUSB

Open Gparted

In Gparted select the hard drive in the top/right

Select:-

Device > Create Partition Table

set a GPT partition table.

exit Gparted.

Now run the installer from the desktop icon, and accept the defaults (ie. let it do the partitioning for you .. DO NOT select "Something Else").
« Last Edit: March 21, 2019, 01:36:28 pm by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline drakken

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: 3
  • I have found my new #!. And this is better.
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 9_x64
Re: I might have spoken a bit to soon when it comes to my AMD desktop...
« Reply #7 on: March 22, 2019, 12:58:27 am »
Thank y'all I will give it a go in the morning.  :-\ But with this current mobo/proc? I have had a lot of issues. I have pep8 and 9 on usb sticks to give it a try. I hope that all goes well.

 V/R
drakken
Thinkpad T430 (Pep 9), Thinkpad x220 (Pep9)
Home built AMD FX-6300-32GB ram- Nvidia GTX 750. Tri-monitor- Pep-9-64bit

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26316
  • Karma: 2855
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: I might have spoken a bit to soon when it comes to my AMD desktop...
« Reply #8 on: March 22, 2019, 09:17:16 am »
Good luck, and happy Pepperminting :)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline drakken

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: 3
  • I have found my new #!. And this is better.
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 9_x64
Re: I might have spoken a bit to soon when it comes to my AMD desktop...
« Reply #9 on: March 26, 2019, 12:17:30 am »
Well thank y'all for your help on this one!  ;D I have pep on all of my gear now! 8) I will post a configuration question that I am trying to sort out now in the appropriate place!
 I am trying to find where to mark this as solved.
Thinkpad T430 (Pep 9), Thinkpad x220 (Pep9)
Home built AMD FX-6300-32GB ram- Nvidia GTX 750. Tri-monitor- Pep-9-64bit

Offline VinDSL

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5454
  • Karma: 957
  • Peppermint Mod
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Developmental Builds
Re: I might have spoken a bit to soon when it comes to my AMD desktop...
« Reply #10 on: March 26, 2019, 12:20:05 am »
Edit the title, in the first post, and save it. For instance...  ;)

Quote
I might have spoken a bit to soon when it comes to my AMD desktop... [SOLVED]