Choose style:

Author Topic: Adding to Gimp(SOLVED)  (Read 316 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline alynur

  • Trusted User
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 847
  • Karma: 42
  • Habitual Forum Browser
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P 9 (64bit), P 9 R
Adding to Gimp(SOLVED)
« on: February 28, 2019, 01:31:46 pm »
Hello Peppermint People. I need help at installing a zip file into Gimp's script folder. If I chose to extract the file to
/usr/share/gimp/2.0/scripts, I get a message that I don't have necessary permissions to do it. What would be the proper method to do this? It's probably something simple that I just don't know about.  :-\
« Last Edit: February 28, 2019, 02:29:08 pm by alynur »
What was I thinking?

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 23555
  • Karma: 2616
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Adding to Gimp
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2019, 02:00:50 pm »
Open the nemo file manager, and navigate to:-

/usr/share/gimp/2.0

Right-click on the "scripts" folder and select "Open as root"

Copy the zip file into the resulting Nemo window (the one that has elevated privileges) .. then right-click it and select "Extract here".



You can do anything in an nemo window that has root privileges.
(okay you can't make a bacon and egg sandwich, or yourself rich. but you know what I mean)
« Last Edit: February 28, 2019, 02:04:00 pm by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline alynur

  • Trusted User
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 847
  • Karma: 42
  • Habitual Forum Browser
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P 9 (64bit), P 9 R
Re: Adding to Gimp
« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2019, 02:26:32 pm »
Open the nemo file manager, and navigate to:-

/usr/share/gimp/2.0

Right-click on the "scripts" folder and select "Open as root"

Copy the zip file into the resulting Nemo window (the one that has elevated privileges) .. then right-click it and select "Extract here".



You can do anything in an nemo window that has root privileges.
(okay you can't make a bacon and egg sandwich, or yourself rich. but you know what I mean)


 :D  I figured it was easy. I opened the entire Downloads folder as root and directed it to the scrips folder, they went in but in Gimp, after selecting a filter and entering coordinates etc,. it stays a blank page. This is a script to create geometrical figures with all things equal.

I directed the zip file that is.
« Last Edit: February 28, 2019, 02:28:35 pm by alynur »
What was I thinking?

Offline murraymint

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1843
  • Karma: 313
  • soft boiled with a yolk of gold
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7, 8, 9
Re: Adding to Gimp(SOLVED)
« Reply #3 on: February 28, 2019, 02:54:53 pm »
So you didn't extract what was in the .zip?

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 23555
  • Karma: 2616
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Adding to Gimp(SOLVED)
« Reply #4 on: February 28, 2019, 04:33:05 pm »
Which script ?

Can you provide a link to it ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline alynur

  • Trusted User
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 847
  • Karma: 42
  • Habitual Forum Browser
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P 9 (64bit), P 9 R
Re: Adding to Gimp(SOLVED)
« Reply #5 on: February 28, 2019, 08:42:07 pm »
So you didn't extract what was in the .zip?


Yes I did.

Which script ?

Can you provide a link to it ?

I downloaded it from here

The filters show up, are listed in Gimp, they just have no effect or maybe I just don't know what I'm doing?
« Last Edit: February 28, 2019, 09:00:57 pm by alynur »
What was I thinking?

Offline alynur

  • Trusted User
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 847
  • Karma: 42
  • Habitual Forum Browser
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P 9 (64bit), P 9 R
Re: Adding to Gimp(SOLVED)
« Reply #6 on: February 28, 2019, 09:02:22 pm »
Sorry bout that

« Last Edit: February 28, 2019, 09:07:09 pm by alynur »
What was I thinking?

Offline alynur

  • Trusted User
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 847
  • Karma: 42
  • Habitual Forum Browser
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P 9 (64bit), P 9 R
« Last Edit: February 28, 2019, 09:12:22 pm by alynur »
What was I thinking?

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 23555
  • Karma: 2616
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Adding to Gimp(SOLVED)
« Reply #8 on: March 01, 2019, 05:18:58 am »
The filters show up, are listed in Gimp, they just have no effect

Dial in some numbers into the fields (such as position and size .. they might not be called that exactly)  .. and make sure to tick the boxes "Stroke path" and "Fill path" .. then click the "Okay" button.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline alynur

  • Trusted User
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 847
  • Karma: 42
  • Habitual Forum Browser
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P 9 (64bit), P 9 R
Re: Adding to Gimp(SOLVED)
« Reply #9 on: March 01, 2019, 06:41:06 pm »
The filters show up, are listed in Gimp, they just have no effect

Dial in some numbers into the fields (such as position and size .. they might not be called that exactly)  .. and make sure to tick the boxes "Stroke path" and "Fill path" .. then click the "Okay" button.

 Hi PCNetSpec, I was selecting everything correctly but it wasn't doing anything, no shapes developed. I followed my same procedure on my desktop and this time when I extracted the zip file, it gave me a .scm file which I copied into the scrips folder. That worked and I can make figures. It was on my laptop that when I extracted the zip file it gave me a file without an extension. With that file copied into the script folder, gimp would show all the respective filters but like I said they wouldn't work. I'll have to get back into my laptop and try and eigure out what's going on with it. Thanks for the help.  :)
What was I thinking?

Offline Slim.Fatz

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1605
  • Karma: 439
  • Where's the mouse?
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 7, 8.5 & 9 - 64bit
Re: Adding to Gimp(SOLVED)
« Reply #10 on: March 02, 2019, 11:34:36 am »
Hi alynur,

I think you can just copy the file with the .scm extension to the scripts folder on the other computer (the laptop) and it should work.

Regards,

-- Slim
"Life first -- Peppermint a close 2nd!" -- Zeb

Tread lightly: Fluxbox, awesome, Openbox, i3, JWM

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 23555
  • Karma: 2616
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Adding to Gimp(SOLVED)
« Reply #11 on: March 02, 2019, 01:41:49 pm »
Yes, the .scm is the actual script

put it in the
Code: [Select]
~/.gimp-2.8/scripts
folder.
(if that folder doesn't exists, create it)

Then close and reopen GIMP.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline alynur

  • Trusted User
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 847
  • Karma: 42
  • Habitual Forum Browser
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P 9 (64bit), P 9 R
Re: Adding to Gimp(SOLVED)
« Reply #12 on: March 02, 2019, 09:24:38 pm »
Thanks guys, I got it. In my laptop, I didn't extract the file correctly. I performed a local extraction, then copied the .scm file into Gimp's scrips folder using PCNetSpec's method of opening the scrips folder as root. It works good now.  :)
What was I thinking?