Choose style:

Author Topic: shutdown button on desktop  (Read 247 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline opiumpoetry

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: 2
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 5
shutdown button on desktop
« on: February 28, 2019, 12:38:02 am »
Found this little article on how to create a single-click shutdown button situated on the desktop. I tried it and it works. https://community.linuxmint.com/tutorial/view/1113
« Last Edit: March 01, 2019, 04:28:34 am by rossvassilev »

Online pin

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1577
  • Karma: 219
  • Peppermint - Void - NetBSD
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 7 Respin (64bit)
Re: shutdown button on desktop
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2019, 01:57:10 am »
 :-\ Where's the link??

Offline opiumpoetry

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: 2
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 5
Re: shutdown button on desktop
« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2019, 04:29:07 am »
OOPS! :D Just added it.  ;D

Online pin

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1577
  • Karma: 219
  • Peppermint - Void - NetBSD
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 7 Respin (64bit)
Re: shutdown button on desktop
« Reply #3 on: March 01, 2019, 04:53:41 am »
 8)

Offline stevesveryown

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 161
  • Karma: 32
  • Peppermint Fan
    • View Profile
    • stevesveryown
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8 & Peppermint 9
Re: shutdown button on desktop
« Reply #4 on: March 05, 2019, 06:23:51 pm »
I just create a launcher with the peppermint-logout command. I did one before and my wife would always seem to hit it and shut down the system while she was doing something.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

Thanks!

Steve

My main machine:
AMD FX-8320 Piledriver (Vishera) 3.5GHz (4.1GHz turbo) (Eight Core) AM3+ 8MB Cache
AMD Black Edition Copper HeatPipe EXTRA QUIET fan
NVIDIA GeForce GT 730
ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX AM3+, SLI & Cross Fire, SATA3, USB 3.0
16GB (2x8GB) PC17000 DDR3 2133 Dual Channel (high

Online pin

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1577
  • Karma: 219
  • Peppermint - Void - NetBSD
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 7 Respin (64bit)
Re: shutdown button on desktop
« Reply #5 on: March 05, 2019, 11:01:15 pm »
 :D
That's why it isn't there in the first place  ;)

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 23555
  • Karma: 2616
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: shutdown button on desktop
« Reply #6 on: March 06, 2019, 07:44:57 am »
Yep, I've never really understood why people want either a desktop icon or a panel item to shut down .. seems to be an accident waiting to happen to me, and a waste of panel/desktop space (through duplication) .. but each to their own right :)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline rayzer

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: 3
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 9
Re: shutdown button on desktop
« Reply #7 on: March 06, 2019, 06:05:29 pm »
i have the actions buttons added to mine but iconified then set it up so only Log Out.. is selected. give you the choice to cancel or shutdown etc if accidentally hit

Offline opiumpoetry

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: 2
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 5
Re: shutdown button on desktop
« Reply #8 on: March 16, 2019, 10:31:17 pm »
The action buttons on my panel only had logout working, nothing else. And how do you shutdown a pc without a button? Just use the power button on the keyboard? Isn't that bad for the pc?