Choose style:

Author Topic: Problem installing VMware  (Read 2234 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jozefmw

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 282
  • Karma: 6
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 8 & 9
Problem installing VMware
« on: August 02, 2014, 09:25:52 am »
I downloaded the 64 bit  package for Linux  from:

https://my.vmware.com/fr/web/vmware/free#desktop_end_user_computing/vmware_player/6_0

I got::
VMware-Player-6.0.3-1895310.x86_64.bundle

During installation, which took a very long time, half way it stopped. I got an error message that some characters couldn't be read in the bundle and was invited to change to another set. There was one available which I tried but then peppermint got frozen.

So I am not very lucky trying to install a virtual machine. ...

Who can help here ?
« Last Edit: August 03, 2014, 01:48:36 am by jozefmw »

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26257
  • Karma: 2855
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Problem installing VMware
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2014, 02:50:28 pm »
Aren't you now supposed to install vmware workstation which includes the player ?

Apparently there was an issue installing  vmware workstation 10.0.1 in 14.04 .. but this was fixed in vmware workstation 10.0.2
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline jozefmw

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 282
  • Karma: 6
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 8 & 9
Re: Problem installing VMware
« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2014, 09:46:50 am »
Thank you very much for your reaction.
I thought I had been trying to install VMware-Player-6.0.3-1895310.x86_64, thinking this would be the virtual machine I needed to run Windows inside.
I had a look at  vmware workstation, but tis cost over 200 dollars and I was looking for a free piece of software as VirtualBox with with I have other problems.
So may be it wasn't the player I needed at all and may be there is no VMware free version of the virtual machine.
Thank you for answering these questions and eventually to give the link to the right program.

If I had the problems solved with the USB HD's and sticks in VirtualBox I wouldn't need VMware at all.
or is
qemu-KVM a better alternative to have my USB HDs running in Windows ?

About VirtualBox
Slim.Fatz wrote: 'However, the proper repository for Peppermint 5 is normally "trusty" and not "raring".'
This was the outcome after I removed Virtualbox and reinstalled Virtualbox.
In the middle of the outcome I saw this:

Setting up virtualbox-4.3 (4.3.14-95030~Ubuntu~raring) ...

So, may be I installed the wrong package? This is another toppic for sure and stiil related.
I would be very happy if you could have another look at my VirtualBox posting.

Nice weekend,
Jozef
« Last Edit: August 10, 2014, 02:23:17 am by jozefmw »

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26257
  • Karma: 2855
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Problem installing VMware
« Reply #3 on: August 09, 2014, 12:47:20 pm »
No virtualbox is the right version (even though it says raring)

I'll get around to your other topic about the USB devices in Virtualbox as soon as I can .. I've been meaning to install it myself and figure it out, but it's been a little crazy around here .. sorry for the wait, but I haven't forgotten it, I've purposefully markedd that topic as "unread" so I don't forget, it's just a matter of getting the time to do it.
« Last Edit: August 09, 2014, 12:49:08 pm by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline jozefmw

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 282
  • Karma: 6
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 8 & 9
Re: Problem installing VMware
« Reply #4 on: August 09, 2014, 04:29:47 pm »
Thank you for your reply.
I've learned to be patient ....
So  just take your time.  :)