Author Topic: CUPS  (Read 823 times)

Offline arky217

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 172
  • Karma: 11
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 9
CUPS
« on: January 27, 2019, 01:50:06 pm »
In CUPS, I click the 'Add Printer' button and a screen comes up that says

Unauthorized
Enter your username and password or the root username and password to access this page. If you are using Kerberos authentication, make sure you have a valid Kerberos ticket.

But there is no place to enter my username and password.
When I do this in other distros, a username/password window pops up.
No such window in Peppermint ?

Offline alynur

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1275
  • Karma: 136
  • Habitual Forum Browser
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P 9R (64bit), P 10
Re: CUPS
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2019, 02:10:28 pm »
Hi arky217, just a question out of curiosity, why are you trying to install a printer in CUPS? Won't adding it in Printers take care of it for you?
What was I thinking?

Offline arky217

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 172
  • Karma: 11
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 9
Re: CUPS
« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2019, 02:28:14 pm »
Hi arky217, just a question out of curiosity, why are you trying to install a printer in CUPS? Won't adding it in Printers take care of it for you?

No, apparently not; It's a Samsung all-in-one laser that's connected directly to the router via ethernet cable.
I've been through this already on several distros and adding it in Printers somehow does not let it
see the scanner, though the printer part works ok.
Seems that only adding it via CUPS will let the computer 'see' the scanner.
But on other distros, I'm able to enter my username/password in CUPS and add the printer.
When I try in Peppermint, no window pops  up to enter username/password.

Offline VinDSL

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5876
  • Karma: 1150
  • Team Peppermint
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Developmental Builds
Re: CUPS
« Reply #3 on: January 27, 2019, 02:54:55 pm »
Can we assume you're using a Chrome(ium) based browser to access the CUPS administrator web interface, e.g. http://localhost:631/admin/   :)

If so, there's a Chrome(ium) based browser bug that prevents the Username/Password dialog box from popping up.

Firefox seems to have no such problem.

If you're using Fx, and it doesn't present you with a Username/Password dialog box, then...  :-\

Offline arky217

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 172
  • Karma: 11
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 9
Re: CUPS
« Reply #4 on: January 27, 2019, 03:15:45 pm »
Can we assume you're using a Chrome(ium) based browser to access the CUPS administrator web interface, e.g. http://localhost:631/admin/   :)

If so, there's a Chrome(ium) based browser bug that prevents the Username/Password dialog box from popping up.

Firefox seems to have no such problem.

If you're using Fx, and it doesn't present you with a Username/Password dialog box, then...  :-\

Well, I was using Slimjet but I checked the version and it was Version 21.0.5.0,
so I upgraded to Version 21.0.8.0, which is what I use on other distros where the CUPS
username/password window works, but still I do not get the username/password window ??

Offline VinDSL

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5876
  • Karma: 1150
  • Team Peppermint
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Developmental Builds
Re: CUPS
« Reply #5 on: January 27, 2019, 03:18:51 pm »
I'm haxoring the code in the 'cupsd.conf' file right now. I'll see if that works.  ;)

BBL

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26452
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: CUPS
« Reply #6 on: January 27, 2019, 03:58:32 pm »
Why not just install Firefox and use that ?
(you can always remove it after setting up your printer)

Seems a better idea than hacking CUPS security just to sidestep a Chrome/Chromium/any other Chromium based browser bug, just for the initial printer setup.
« Last Edit: January 27, 2019, 04:03:06 pm by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline VinDSL

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5876
  • Karma: 1150
  • Team Peppermint
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Developmental Builds
Re: CUPS
« Reply #7 on: January 27, 2019, 04:09:17 pm »
Why not just install Firefox and use that ?

Seems a better idea than hacking CUPS security just to sidestep a Chrome/Chromium/any other Chromium based browser bug, just for the initial printer setup.

Agreed.

I started dancing on the keyboard, but really, I couldn't recommend the haxor, with a clear conscience, so... what's the point?

CUPS works fine OOTB in Fx, so yeah...  ::)