Choose style:

Author Topic: Do you use NetBuddy for your ISP  (Read 343 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline arky217

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 170
  • Karma: 10
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 9
Do you use NetBuddy for your ISP
« on: January 14, 2019, 05:14:00 pm »
(Please delete this post if it is not an appropriate topic for the forum)

Just wondering if anyone here uses NetBuddy for their ISP.
NetBuddy uses AT&T towers and if you're in AT&T 4G LTE coverage area,
you are supposed to get truly unlimited (no data caps, no throttling)
internet at 4G LTE speed for $60/month with no contract.
It also requires that you buy one of their 4G routers (they start at $99).

I'm in their 4G LTE coverage area, but I'm a little skeptical about
the speed, especially during the evening hours when the towers
may be congested.

I currently have CenturyLink DSL @ $45/month (includes taxes).
But I'm about 3 miles on copper from their nearest fiber termination
and I can only get 6mb/sec speed. (But it is very reliable and doesn't
slow too badly during peak hours)
So, $15/month more would be worth it to me if I could get consistent
speed of around 40mb/sec.

Does anyone have any experience with NetBuddy ?

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25266
  • Karma: 2793
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Do you use NetBuddy for your ISP
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2019, 05:31:12 pm »
Not me my friend .. I fear I'd be a little further than you on copper ;)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Online VinDSL

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5168
  • Karma: 939
  • Peppermint Mod
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Developmental Builds
Re: Do you use NetBuddy for your ISP
« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2019, 05:56:52 pm »
Never heard of NetBuddy.

CenturyLink is my ISP and I get a 60/5 pair-bonded VDSL2+ connection for $45/mo, over the same shotty buried copper telephone wiring you're talking about.

I don't know the particulars, obviously, but if you have light swords in your hood, and CL is only offering you a 6.0 connection, it's probably because all the slots in the DSLAM are being used, e.g. by your lucky neighbors.

You could wait until one of them dies, or moves away and opens up a slot, but I wouldn't hold my breath.

I'll ask around, and see if anyone in this area is using NetBuddy.