Author Topic: Triple Monitor support [SOLVED]  (Read 896 times)

Offline zebedeeboss

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3233
  • Karma: 625
  • Life first... Peppermint a close 2nd :)
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P10 / P9 Respin
Triple Monitor support [SOLVED]
« on: January 02, 2019, 12:07:05 am »
Hi

I am looking for a start up solution to the following.

xorg.conf current file
Spoiler (click here to view / hide)
[close]

Now everytime I reboot I have to open nvidia-settings and manually move the far right monitor to the right edge of the middle monitor

then I have to run
Code: [Select]
xrandr --output DP-4 --scale 1.5x1.5
to get the wallpaper / screen to resize correctly.

I will reboot and add pictures as its easier to see.

Now I am pretty sure I can run one command at setup using xrand r to tell the screens where to place and at what size and scale - I just can't work out the correct syntax.

Regards Zeb...

ps pictures to follow after reboot

« Last Edit: January 02, 2019, 01:44:02 am by zebedeeboss »
Be Kind Whenever Possible...   It is Always Possible - Dalai Lama

P10r x64 Desktop - AMD Threadripper 2950X - 64Gb RAM - NVIDIA RTX2080Ti 11Gb - 2 x 27" 4k

Online VinDSL

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5843
  • Karma: 1132
  • Team Peppermint
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Developmental Builds
Re: Triple Monitor support
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2019, 12:21:01 am »
I never have had any lucky with nvidia-settings placing my triple monitors in the correct positions at boot.

All I use nvidia-settings for is the initial placement coordinates, then I put those coordinates in LXRandR

Here's my lxrandr autostart desktop file (as an example):

Code: [Select]
[Desktop Entry]
Type=Application
Name=LXRandR autostart
Comment=Start xrandr with settings done in LXRandR
Exec=sh -c 'xrandr --output HDMI-0 --mode 2560x1080 --pos 640x0 --rate 60.00 --output DVI-D-0 --mode 1920x1080 --pos 0x1080 --rate 60.00 --output VGA-0 --mode 1920x1080 --pos 1920x1080 --rate 60.00'
OnlyShowIn=LXDE

Online VinDSL

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5843
  • Karma: 1132
  • Team Peppermint
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Developmental Builds
Re: Triple Monitor support
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2019, 12:26:13 am »
Here's what they look like in nvidia-settings:





Gotta get some shut-eye. BBL o/

Offline zebedeeboss

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3233
  • Karma: 625
  • Life first... Peppermint a close 2nd :)
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P10 / P9 Respin
Re: Triple Monitor support [SOLVED]
« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2019, 01:45:03 am »
Hi

Finally worked it out - Thanks VinDSL

Code: [Select]
xrandr --output DP-2 --pos 0x0 --output DP-4 --scale 1.5x1.5 --pos 3840x0 --output DP-0 --pos 9000x0
Regards Zeb...
Be Kind Whenever Possible...   It is Always Possible - Dalai Lama

P10r x64 Desktop - AMD Threadripper 2950X - 64Gb RAM - NVIDIA RTX2080Ti 11Gb - 2 x 27" 4k

Online VinDSL

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5843
  • Karma: 1132
  • Team Peppermint
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Developmental Builds
Re: Triple Monitor support [SOLVED]
« Reply #4 on: January 02, 2019, 09:31:02 am »
Great news. It took me a while to figure out how to accomplish what I wanted to do - three big monitors on a small (4' x 2') table.

I have an odd setup - a three monitor tree, that's literally configured like a tree. It was just too much for nvidia-settings to handle.

That said, LXRandR would have been almost impossible to setup if it wasn't for the coordinates that I garnered  from nvidia-settings.

It was a marriage made in heaven - these two programs - and a godsend  ;D