Choose style:

Author Topic: RDP from Win 10 toP9 (Solved for my needs)  (Read 1027 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 24787
  • Karma: 2732
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: RDP from Win 10 toP9
« Reply #15 on: January 10, 2019, 05:22:01 pm »
Not sure yet .. I'll have a play tomorrow(ish) and see if I can figure it out.

When I tested it earlier, it connected okay... then immediately crashed out (like what was suggested in the red writing at my earlier link), but I wasn't logged on locally, in fact I'd set up a new account (though I hadn't checked if that account needed to be in any particular groups).
« Last Edit: January 10, 2019, 05:25:16 pm by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline freak99

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
Re: RDP from Win 10 toP9
« Reply #16 on: March 01, 2019, 02:51:18 pm »
Anyone figure this out? I'm having the same issue. Trying to rdp from windows 10 into peppermint machine and get a black screen after the initial login prompt.

Offline MNFrozenfish

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 96
  • Karma: 16
  • Smile! - It makes people wonder what you're up to.
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 9 Respin-64 bit / P10
Re: RDP from Win 10 toP9
« Reply #17 on: March 18, 2019, 11:41:15 am »
I have kinda put this on the back burner and am using Teamviewer for now since I don't need to access the machine often.

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 24787
  • Karma: 2732
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: RDP from Win 10 toP9
« Reply #18 on: March 18, 2019, 02:31:40 pm »
That's pretty much what I do .. though one of these days I want to try AnyDesk (and also NoMachine NX again, haven't tried NX in ages so I really should look again .. it used to be teriffic).

https://anydesk.com/

https://www.nomachine.com/
« Last Edit: March 18, 2019, 02:34:57 pm by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline MNFrozenfish

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 96
  • Karma: 16
  • Smile! - It makes people wonder what you're up to.
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 9 Respin-64 bit / P10
Re: RDP from Win 10 toP9
« Reply #19 on: March 19, 2019, 11:48:35 am »
That's pretty much what I do .. though one of these days I want to try AnyDesk (and also NoMachine NX again, haven't tried NX in ages so I really should look again .. it used to be teriffic).

https://anydesk.com/

https://www.nomachine.com/

NoMachine works well from my limited testing. Seems like a no frills TeamViewer but it doesn't leave the "Thanks for playing fair" splash on the target machine. I'll play a bit more, but for my needs, I think I have found a winner. I like that it automagically finds machines on your network so you don't have to remember PC names or IP's, they're just there.  ;) :D
I didn't do any testing with anydesk

Offline emegra

  • Global Moderator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1856
  • Karma: 402
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 9 64bit
Re: RDP from Win 10 toP9 (Solved for my needs)
« Reply #20 on: March 19, 2019, 12:17:41 pm »
I use Anydesk since Teamviewer shut me down for commercial use which I wasn't,

I would wholeheartedly recommend Anydesk maybe not quite as polished as Teamviewer but does what it says on the tin, the big problem is the interface/theming is seriously wonky and  almost unreadable since 18.04



Graeme
If you can keep your head while all around are losing theirs then you're not quite grasping the situation

Offline murraymint

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1913
  • Karma: 329
  • soft boiled with a yolk of gold
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7, 8, 9
Re: RDP from Win 10 toP9
« Reply #21 on: March 19, 2019, 12:31:11 pm »

NoMachine works well from my limited testing. Seems like a no frills TeamViewer but it doesn't leave the "Thanks for playing fair" splash on the target machine. I'll play a bit more, but for my needs, I think I have found a winner. I like that it automagically finds machines on your network so you don't have to remember PC names or IP's, they're just there.  ;) :D
I didn't do any testing with anydesk

I use NoMachine all the time and it's pretty good. The only thing that doesn't really work is if you remote into a PC with dual displays from one with only one display, you won't be able to see anything that should be on the second screen.

Offline MNFrozenfish

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 96
  • Karma: 16
  • Smile! - It makes people wonder what you're up to.
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 9 Respin-64 bit / P10
Re: RDP from Win 10 toP9 (Solved for my needs)
« Reply #22 on: March 19, 2019, 12:50:32 pm »
@murraymint
If you go into the settings when connected to a dual display system and click on the change monitor button, you can select either monitor or all. It kinda smashes things together if you switch to all, but you can see both at the same time and then select the one that you need.

Offline murraymint

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1913
  • Karma: 329
  • soft boiled with a yolk of gold
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7, 8, 9
Re: RDP from Win 10 toP9 (Solved for my needs)
« Reply #23 on: March 19, 2019, 01:31:25 pm »
Oh, that's interesting, thanks. I'll give it a try  :)