Choose style:

Author Topic: Triple Monitor support [SOLVED]  (Read 451 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline zebedeeboss

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 2944
  • Karma: 542
  • Life first... Peppermint a close 2nd :)
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P10 / P9 Respin
Triple Monitor support [SOLVED]
« on: January 02, 2019, 03:07:05 am »
Hi

I am looking for a start up solution to the following.

xorg.conf current file
Spoiler (click here to view / hide)
# nvidia-settings: X configuration file generated by nvidia-settings
# nvidia-settings:  version 415.25

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "Layout0"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    Option         "Xinerama" "0"
EndSection

Section "Files"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Mouse0"
    Driver         "mouse"
    Option         "Protocol" "auto"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/psaux"
    Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Keyboard0"
    Driver         "kbd"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "AOC U3477"
    HorizSync       30.0 - 160.0
    VertRefresh     23.0 - 80.0
    Option         "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce GTX 1070 Ti"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Device0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "Coolbits" "12"
    Option         "TripleBuffer" "on"
    Option         "Stereo" "0"
    Option         "nvidiaXineramaInfoOrder" "DFP-6"
    Option         "metamodes" "DP-4: nvidia-auto-select +3840+0 {viewportin=5160x2160, ForceCompositionPipeline=On, ForceFullCompositionPipeline=On}, DP-2: nvidia-auto-select +0+0 {ForceCompositionPipeline=On, ForceFullCompositionPipeline=On}, DP-0: nvidia-auto-select +9000+0 {ForceCompositionPipeline=On, ForceFullCompositionPipeline=On}"
    Option         "SLI" "Off"
    Option         "MultiGPU" "Off"
    Option         "BaseMosaic" "off"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection
[close]

Now everytime I reboot I have to open nvidia-settings and manually move the far right monitor to the right edge of the middle monitor

then I have to run
Code: [Select]
xrandr --output DP-4 --scale 1.5x1.5 

to get the wallpaper / screen to resize correctly.

I will reboot and add pictures as its easier to see.

Now I am pretty sure I can run one command at setup using xrand r to tell the screens where to place and at what size and scale - I just can't work out the correct syntax.

Regards Zeb...

ps pictures to follow after reboot

« Last Edit: January 02, 2019, 04:44:02 am by zebedeeboss »
Be Kind Whenever Possible...   It is Always Possible - Dalai Lama

Linux User #565092
P10 x64 Desktop - AMD Threadripper 2950X - 32Gb RAM - NVIDIA RTX2080Ti 11Gb - 2 x 27" 4k 3840x2160 - 1 x 34" 5120x2160
P9/10 @ P9 x64 Laptop - i7-7700HQ @ 2.80GHz - 8Gb RAM - Nvidia GTX1050 4Gb - 15.6" HD 1920x1080

Online VinDSL

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5039
  • Karma: 907
  • Peppermint Mod
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Developmental Builds
Re: Triple Monitor support
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2019, 03:21:01 am »
I never have had any lucky with nvidia-settings placing my triple monitors in the correct positions at boot.

All I use nvidia-settings for is the initial placement coordinates, then I put those coordinates in LXRandR

Here's my lxrandr autostart desktop file (as an example):

Code: [Select]
[Desktop Entry]
Type=Application
Name=LXRandR autostart
Comment=Start xrandr with settings done in LXRandR
Exec=sh -c 'xrandr --output HDMI-0 --mode 2560x1080 --pos 640x0 --rate 60.00 --output DVI-D-0 --mode 1920x1080 --pos 0x1080 --rate 60.00 --output VGA-0 --mode 1920x1080 --pos 1920x1080 --rate 60.00'
OnlyShowIn=LXDE

Online VinDSL

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5039
  • Karma: 907
  • Peppermint Mod
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Developmental Builds
Re: Triple Monitor support
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2019, 03:26:13 am »
Here's what they look like in nvidia-settings:





Gotta get some shut-eye. BBL o/

Offline zebedeeboss

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 2944
  • Karma: 542
  • Life first... Peppermint a close 2nd :)
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P10 / P9 Respin
Re: Triple Monitor support [SOLVED]
« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2019, 04:45:03 am »
Hi

Finally worked it out - Thanks VinDSL

Code: [Select]
xrandr --output DP-2 --pos 0x0 --output DP-4 --scale 1.5x1.5 --pos 3840x0 --output DP-0 --pos 9000x0

Regards Zeb...
Be Kind Whenever Possible...   It is Always Possible - Dalai Lama

Linux User #565092
P10 x64 Desktop - AMD Threadripper 2950X - 32Gb RAM - NVIDIA RTX2080Ti 11Gb - 2 x 27" 4k 3840x2160 - 1 x 34" 5120x2160
P9/10 @ P9 x64 Laptop - i7-7700HQ @ 2.80GHz - 8Gb RAM - Nvidia GTX1050 4Gb - 15.6" HD 1920x1080

Online VinDSL

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5039
  • Karma: 907
  • Peppermint Mod
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Developmental Builds
Re: Triple Monitor support [SOLVED]
« Reply #4 on: January 02, 2019, 12:31:02 pm »
Great news. It took me a while to figure out how to accomplish what I wanted to do - three big monitors on a small (4' x 2') table.

I have an odd setup - a three monitor tree, that's literally configured like a tree. It was just too much for nvidia-settings to handle.

That said, LXRandR would have been almost impossible to setup if it wasn't for the coordinates that I garnered  from nvidia-settings.

It was a marriage made in heaven - these two programs - and a godsend  ;D