Choose style:

Author Topic: Broken Software Update when had to prompt for root password [SOLVED]  (Read 204 times)

Offline Sentinel

• nOOb
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 8 Respin 2, 9 Live
First of all HAPPY NEW YEAR!! :D

I have been using PM8 smoothly for several years and I tried to update to PM9, looks like it is still working as before but something weird happen to Software Updater.

It is still finding updates to install and showing the shield information icon correctly. however when I check and push the updates to commit, it closes silently back to the tray and after a minute with an empty shield brings the information shield back again without installing anything.

When I push to install I expect to see "gksudo" prompt but does not appears. I made some research and looks like some pipe is broken with PAM/POLKIT. But my linux skills are too newbie to go further.

Can anyone enlighten me!

Cheers!

« Last Edit: January 02, 2019, 04:29:56 pm by Sentinel »

Offline PCNetSpec

• Administrator
  • Hero
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Broken Software Update when had to prompt for root password
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2019, 01:01:11 pm »
Do you get any errors from:
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get update
?

And is any clue given if you run mintupdate from the command line
mintupdate
then attempt to install the updates.

Then if it crashes, is any clue left in the terminal as to why ?

When you say "update to Peppermint 9" .. did you keep a partition/home folder from Peppermint 8 ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline Sentinel

• nOOb
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2019, 07:10:10 am »
Thank you PcNetSpec for quick reply.